We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Our main cottage, the Ashley Cottage, as seen from outside. It can sleep 12 comfortably.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our main cottage, the Ashley Cottage, as seen from outside. It can sleep 12 comfortably.
The dining room within Ashley Cottage, able to seat 16 comfortably. Ashley Cottage's living room, with comfortable leather sofas and media centre.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Our main cottage, the Ashley Cottage, as seen from outside. It can sleep 12 comfortably.
The dining room within Ashley Cottage, able to seat 16 comfortably.
Ashley Cottage's living room, with comfortable leather sofas and media centre.
One of the two family bedrooms within Ashley Cottage's, both with ensuite.
We have all the home comforts you would expect.
The kitchen within Ashley Cottage is able to cater to large parties with ease.
Another shot of the kitchen within Ashley Cottage, which looks onto your secluded garden.
Our smaller cottage, Beechtree cottage, as shown from outside. It is able to house an additional 4.
The open plan living, dining and kitchen area with media centre and equipped kitchen.
We are a dog friendly establishment, with lush countryside on your doorstep.
We are set in two acres of stunning green land, with a secluded, private 3/4 acre garden for guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Newbiggin-on-Lune, Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy S
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Booked for husband's surprise 50th, catered for 16 of us plenty of room lovely house couldn't fault it , nice big play area for the children , very clean and like home from home. We had an absolute amazing time nobody wanted to go home the area is so pretty and peaceful , will 100% be happy to go back and stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Hi Tracy, thank you so much for your review, so pleased you all enjoyed the weekend. You would all be most welcome again anytime in the future.
Thanks again Debbie & Max.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
1 review
“Fantastic cottages in a stunning location”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed at Ashley Bank for a family get together and it was ideal. There were 14 of us. 10 adults and 4 children. The cottages were spotless, well equipped and homely and the kids loved the enormous garden and all the toys that were there. The location is stunning with some fabulous walks nearby. Debbie was very helpful, warm and accommodating. Both my husband and I have already recommended Ashley Bank to friends and all the family would be very happy to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Hi Jackie, many thanks for your fantastic review of Ashley Bank. We are so pleased you all had a great time and that the children enjoyed the garden, I think you found a new location for the table tennis table! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Debbie & Max.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
269AmyD22
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely house and people”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Stayed at Ashley Bank in a large group for a friend’s wedding nearby. Debbie was helpful in the run up to our visit and met me to show me round and hand over the keys. The rooms were all a good size and comfy and plenty of amenities. Debbie and Max were also helpful when we had an emergency and have been in touch since.

The surrounding area is beautiful and there are plenty of information leaflets/maps etc for those wanting to explore.

I will definitely be returning and am particularly excited about the plans for a hot tub installation!! Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Hi Amy, many thanks for your review, it was a pleasure having you and seeing you all dressed up for the wedding. I’ll certainly be in touch when the hot tub and spa is installed
Look forward to welcoming you back. Debbie & Max.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for a family get together.”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Location was ideal as we all came from different corners of the country. Beautiful views from the cottage and excellent short and long distance walks straight from the doorstep. Debbie was very welcoming and made sure we were comfortable throughout our stay. The cottage was just as we expected and didn't want for anything. We all felt relaxed and recharged after our stay. Many thanks and would certainly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you Rachel, we are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Ashley Bank, you would always be most welcome back anytime.
Best wishes
Debbie & Max.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you Claire, we are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and we couldn’t have ordered better weather for you both, all the very best for your future happiness together as Mr & Mrs Hartley.

Max & Debbie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Silverwee...
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally perfect!”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Ashley bank was a perfect location for my best friends hen do. From the outset, organising & booking the accommodation with Debbie (our host) was straight forward & she responded quickly to questions I sent her via email. The cottages were ideal for the 13 of us - plenty of parking, large dining space for evening dinners & games, a good size & fully equipped kitchen, plenty of bedroom space & lots of bathrooms so no fighting over showers! The cottage is a 45 min drive from Keswick - we travelled here on the Saturday morning to do a rafting building activity with Lee from Keswick Adventures - a brilliant way to spend our day! On the Saturday night we hired a butler in the buff using Hunky Butler Service UK. Our butler was a great sport, serving us drinks & instigating hilarious games. All in all we had a fabulous weekend. Ashley Bank is definitely somewhere I’d recommend & I can’t wait to visit again one day! Thanks Debbie - you were so lovely & welcoming xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thank you so much ch for your review and kind comments. Delighted you all had such a good time, you would all be most welcome back anytime in the future.
Thanks again.
Debbie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeborahJH...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous spacious large cottage-Pet friendly-perfect hosts”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect Ashley Bank cottages are within the Yorkshire Dales National Park. So peaceful and relaxing, enjoyed walks with the family and dogs across the Howgill fells and a couple of visits to the nearby Lake District. The location is stunning the cottages held all of us and a delightful country pub close by. Debbie could not have made our stay any better, she ensured that we had a warm welcome and a few extras we did not expect. The cottage had a huge cooker for when we ate in and plenty of room for us to socialise. We are planning to visit again this year and would contact Ashley Bank direct before booking to check they have any special offers and availability. All pets and children were welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Thank you Deborah, we are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Debbie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing