We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranna Hill
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorns Hall(Sedbergh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
54
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake districtlocal pubset us up for the dayexcellent breakfastsingle beda lovely place to staystayed here for one nightguest housebiscuitsyorkshire dalesbrendahowgillshostbathroutewalkersaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Jeff Dave Steve.
What a great find this hotel was. Sure to stay here again when walking in the area. Having rooms that have large baths so that you can soak away aches and pains from a days walking in the spectacular Pennines.
The lady of the house Brenda made us feel very welcome and gave us local knowledge as to where we could eat our evening meal. Packed lunches were also provided at a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhandy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Brenda is a great host - friendly, interesting to chat to, and nothing is too much trouble. Our bicycles were securely stored, and we had the option of a lift to and from the pub for dinner. Our room was clean, comfortable and well furnished. There was a bath as well as a shower and free wifi. Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day. Highly recommended and in a great area too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a nice place! Brenda picked us up at the C2C path, since this is a bit off the path. The house is beautiful with very stylishly decorated rooms. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, wifi, and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bj0rnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

stayed here when walking the dales highway and it was the best accomodation we stayed in on the whole route. Brenda the proprietor ran us to the local pub for an evening meal, and the breakfast was magnificent. Rooms are stylish and very comfortable. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 165andrewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I almost feel guilty not marking this as excellent as the host was fantastic, both taking us to and fetching us back from the pub for dinner (which she had also booked for us), but there were a couple of things that were not quite excellent. The overall accommodation is great, and a fantastic location for the Dales Highway walk and our last stop before a 12 mile plod to Appleby. My issues, albeit fairly minor, were that the room, whilst nicely furnished was restricted in size as a third bed was in there, and there was no wardrobe to hang things, or even a chair to sit on, and the shower in the bathroom was barely average. The one thing that you do need having walked 18 miles over the Howgills is a decent shower, and this was fiddly, lacking power, and not really the best. Overall though, a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertiembingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendaCumbria, Owner at Tranna Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thankyou for your useful comments but feel I must respond.
I have a single and a double bed in the room as on numerous occasions it is let as a twin room.
I have removed the wardrobe and there are coat hangers in the drawers and seven hooks on the doors which can be used. I checked all this with the AA who grade tranna hill each year.
The vast majority of my guests are walkers like your selves and don,t usually hang clothes in the wardrobe.
The shower has never been an issue but I agree electric showers don't have as much pressure as a power shower.
But what you failed to mention was that there was a bath in the room which the majority of walkers welcome with shouts of glee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews