We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic and adequate place for a honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of KonoKono Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KonoKono Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Linz, Oberosterreich, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very romantic and adequate place for a honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have spent four wonderful days in this gorgeous and quiet place. Our aim was just to relax after our wedding and the Kilimanjaro trip and what shall I say...it was just beautiful. The villas have just been renovated and are very luxurious. The staff is very polite and the food is just delicious. The restaurant is only few meters away from the beach and you can enjoy a wonderful view while having dinner. It is the appropriate place to relax and enjoy holidays without too many people. The journey to stone town takes more than one hour and the streets are quite bad, so it is not recommendable to make a lot of trips to the capital, but it is really not necessary because you get everything you need in the resort...thanks a lot...we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Christoph, thank you very much for your nice review. You and your wife were our first guests the day of our re-opening: we will never forget you! We really hope to see you again in the future. Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    54
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
265
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

If you need a holiday, like no music,no people, no mobile, but if 5 star service by the sea is a must, then here is the right place with a perfect service, lovely helpfull staff all around, very comfortable villas by the ocean are gorgeous. White sand beach and the blue sky and sea take you away from the rest of the world. And the hotel is very close to a fisherman village, which you can walk by the beach but no food there.
Konokono is very far to the center Stone Town it takes around 1,5 hours..and the hotel's private road is terrible, you waste 20 mins when coming ang going.
Instead of the road we had a great time great food, all 5 star in good quality service.
Thanks a lot to the manager Peter and his lovely italian assistant.
You must go there and taste the nature!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asante2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Alper, it's been a pleasure to have you and your fiancee' among our guests. Great news: the new road to get to Konokono is almost finished, you must come back in the future and try it! We wish you all the best, thank you for your kind review. Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our stay at Kono Kono surpassed all expectations! We were hoping for a luxurious and isolated experience, a gorgeous swimming beach, and other extras like massage and great food, and on all front, this small resort delivered... and more!

The beach: we would take 90 min walks daily, in either direction, and not cross a soul! This is the only resort for kilometers, and the sands and shore all around it are smooth white sandy beach. At low tide, its difficult to swim because it becomes so shallow (ankle deep for 100 meters) but at high tide, the water is waist to shoulder deep - also for 100 meters in, the water is quiet clear and warm, and the bottom sand is the softest i've even felt!

The service: staff is super friendly, polite, genuinely caring, and super responsive. We were impressed and taken with them all!! Our massages were the best we've had at any resort, and the food was also delicious! We chose the half-board option but ended up eating all our meals there (resort is difficult to get to, so it would have been a challenge to leave it daily to get lunch elsewhere) and although there isn't a large variety to choose from, the 3 options/ meal changed daily and were always delicious and delicately made. Their octopus salad was killer!!

Rooms are best described as simple luxury, and are very private. The entire grounds are kept immaculately clean and facilities and furniture are all brand new.

The resort has just undergone (and is apparently putting the finishing touches, although we couldn't tell there was construction going on) serious renovations, re-staffing and revamping of the pool, bar and eating area, and my guess that the older complaining TripAdvisor feedback has all been addressed!

We were thoroughly impressed and charmed with this place and while, in a way, we wanted to keep this place as our own best kept secret, we're also hoping the resort becomes most successful!! Our only regret was having booked only 4 nights...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear David, we are really pleased with your nice and exhaustive review; thank you very much indeed! We are waiting for you and your wife again in the future, for at least one week next time! Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Nice secluded resort with pristine white sand private beach...blue sky, white sand, clear water what an ideal place to relax. The rooms are well made incorporating traditional style and modern amenities. The resort itself is quite and green, the only sound you can hear are of birds, insects, water and the breeze...wow what a breakaway from city life. The menu is limited but quality is good. Th service is pleasant and prompt...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epicureansilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at Kono Kono for three nights. The Bungalows are absolutely gorgeous. They are spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff is very friendly but takes it time, as usual in Tanzania (pole pole). That is probably one of the only negative point - something I would not expect from such an expensive place.
The beach is very nice - there was just a lot of sea weed during our stay. But this is depending highly on the season.
Dinner at night is served at the beach and is very lovely.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wordtraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Kono Kono was our last stop in Tanzania because we wanted to relax at a beach resort after our safari tour. It was definitely relaxing and fit the bill exactly. The resort is situated on an absolutely stunning beach. My wife likened the sand to talcum powder. We had an ocean front villa with a beautiful view. You could walk the virtually deserted beach for hours if you wished and the swimming was marvelous. Our villa was well appointed. We really enjoyed having our breakfast delivered and we enjoyed eating on the beach by firelight. We also had no problem with the service finding it quite friendly, if somewhat laid back.

Now the improvement part. FIRST, the road in from the highway is awful. The trip from the airport is about 90 minutes and about a third of the time is taken navigating the terrible dirt road for the last 4 kilometres. It was worse that roads in the Serengeti. We had planned to explore Zanzibar during our stay but changed our minds at the thought of driving that road. We enjoyed eating dinner on the beach but were surprised when we learned that we had no other choices. I read a comment about the manager's dog and let me say that we are both dog lovers but did not enjoy being jumped on by her friendly but untrained dog. We really enjoyed the plunge pool as well as the beach, but there was a leak and by the third day the water level was too low for it to be usable.

In closing let me say that if a wonderful, isolated beach where you can just relax is what you want then you will probably enjoy the resort. Many of the guests when we were there were honeymooners and we thought it would be perfect for them. If you want to explore the island, if you are a stickler for service, or if you want fine dining with many choices this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Razzle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Kono Kono has one of the best beaches we have ever seen, really amazing!
The villas are really large and the plunge pools are a nice touch though with a beach like that you hardly spend any time in your villa!
Breakfast is served in your garden and dinner is under the stars on the beach, a really nice touch that makes it even more romantic. every evening they have a bonfire on the beach before dinner for the guests to meet and have conversations about their trips and experiences.
The food is not the best food I had on the island and the quality could improve given the fact that this is a fairly expensive hotel.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and would help you with any request.
We were told the hotel will close in October for a year,as they will build more villas, this makes sense as the grounds are immense and while we were there we only ever met 2 other couples, so there is definately space for more people without losing the magical feeling of relax this place has.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiara_cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
15.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
20.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
31.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
5.2 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
16.9 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KonoKono Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KonoKono Beach Resort

Property: KonoKono Beach Resort
Address: Michamvi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — KonoKono Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kono Kono Beach Resort is located on the south eastern coast of Zanzibar; these 24 luxurious villas are only an hour's drive away from the Zanzibar International Airport. The breathtaking beauty of this side of the Island offers arguably the best beaches in Zanzibar. The property covers 48000m² and more than 40% is under the resort’s conservation program and has the rarest fauna and flora including wildlife such as monkeys, local deer, endemic bird species and supposedly the discreet Zanzibar leopard, which is believed to be extinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your KonoKono Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kono Kono Beach Villas Hotel Michamvi
KonoKono Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Michamvi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing