We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Happy End location for a tanzania trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KonoKono Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We choose Kono Kono because of the location and of course what we imagine how it could be there. Both in reality was awesome, the only one west side beach on the east side of sansibar, no crowd of tourists on the beach, we were the only guests at the beach - a dream. Our bungalow was a ocean view one - gorgeous. Breakfast and Dinner were really good and of course the wine, which we had on the "sundowner terrace". After climbing Mt.Meru, doing a Safari and travelling by bus across the country to reach the ferry to stonetown it was the best last destination we could get - most definitely. We didn`t took any offer like snorkeling or any daytrip, because we went there just for relaxing and let the impressions we had of the country pass through our minds again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This resort is located far from any civilization. It's the perfect place to escape reality and enjoy a little peace and quiet.
Positives: Great welcome by senior management, beautiful room, inside and out with beach and sunset views. Beach is incredibly quiet and relaxing and stretches quite far with no one in sight. Bar service on the beach. Clean pool. Standard plunge pool with every room.
Negatives: Not to repeat what others have said about the lack of spread on the food, we were also told that lunch cannot be ordered after 3pm. So until 7 (if you haven't eaten) there is absolutely nothing you can do about it! And no room service. Hotel food is something I always really look forward to but was extremely disappointed with this.
A major let down for me was the lack of personal privacy. They have "Masaii" people spotted around the resort who are apparently in charge of security. More like peeping Toms. They were almost always watching us while we were in the plunge pool (in our private veranda) even after being told to stay away. The whole concept of these Masaii is pointless, although it adds to the ethnicity of the place, it's counter productive and really let down my vision of what this vacation would have been for me.
The road to the resort... Oh the road! As others have mentioned, it is terrible. Don't go there or leave from there with food in your belly, if that's the way you want to keep it. Tarring a road isn't a difficult thing to do or even having it simply graded. I hope this will change with time. If you do go, tell the driver to take the "old road". Although still bad, its a bit better than the new one.

Hope the management take heed of the criticism and make the necessary changes to make this good place GREAT.

Room Tip: Unless you mind being watched, don't take Villa No.1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessNtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, General Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Fatima and Amina,
Thank you for your review; it has been a pleasure to meet you and have you among our guests.
Since you left our Resort in January, having read carefully your comments and suggestions, we have of course immediately taken action for the unpleasant behavior of our Masai.
Our Kitchen is open now from 7:00 am until 10:00 pm non stop.
We would like to inform you that we have started to smooth the new road leading to our Resort.
We can assure you that we take heed of every advice given by our guests.
We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the very near future, kind regards.
Peter Flueckiger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our stay at the Kono Kono resort was overall disappointing, but they managed to salvage our experience with the wonderful Zanzibari night they host on Thursdays. They cover all the tables with Zanzibari fabrics to feel festive, and offer local dishes for dinner, that in our opinion, were the best food options we had had during our entire stay! We wished they had served us that delicious food the whole week, it was excellent! And they host a live band that is amazing and so entertaining! We were all singing and dancing along with the band, making for a very fun evening!

We came for 5 days at the end of an otherwise perfect honeymoon in Kenya on safari. We looked forward to Kono Kono so much, and thought this would be the perfect way to end the honeymoon and relax and feel pampered, but we felt the exact opposite.

First, it is a very far drive from the airport and stone town. It took over 90 minutes, with the last 30 min spent on this terrible, unfinished road that leads directly and solely to the hotel. After the first 10 minutes on the road, again, the road that ONLY services this hotel, we kept asking ourselves, 'are they serious?' Is this how you're meant to arrive at your expensive, luxury hotel? Is that part of the luxury experience that you're paying so much for?

We felt so sick by the time we arrived, and hoped that something amazing would happen at arrival, to make up for the terrible journey. Sadly, not the case. At the reception we were given cold towels to wipe our hands- that were dirty. They looked like they were just used by other people.

The grounds are beautiful, the villas are nice, the restaurant area is gorgeous at night, and the food is delicious. The beach, while beautiful, is essentially unusable for the sunlight hours of the day because of the tide, but when it is available, it offers super warm waters, powder white sand, and little to no waves. The pool is also nice and warm.

As honeymooners, we were given a fruit plate, a bottle of brut, a free couples massage- which was excellent, and a private dinner. The private dinner was neither private, nor exciting though, it was just a table in the restaurant, covered with a tablecloth, spaced a little further apart from all the other tables. You still serve yourself like all the other dinners, you still sit with all the other guests. You are not on the beach. We actually laughed about how lazy and NOT special it was!

We originally booked with a half board option and wanted to upgrade to full board on arrival, so that we wouldn't have to worry about food or drinks for our entire stay. The hotel manager actually discouraged us from upgrading to full board because neither option was worth it. Apparently, the only drink included in any of their meal options is JUST a 1.5L bottle of water with dinner (or lunch if you go full board). That is it. All other waters, sodas, drinks, or juices are extra. Incredibly disappointing and extremely cheap. At $500/night, this is completely unacceptable. Can you justify spending that amount of money and all you get out of it is 1 bottle of water a day???

At dinner, the buffet is small, and the servings do not get replaced, so once a bowl of salad is finished, it's finished, not refilled. On our first night, when we went for seconds on the delicious salads, we were given looks by the management, making us feel uncomfortable. Maybe that's also because all the guests are middle aged Europeans who don't typically eat a lot, and we were the hungry American-Egyptian couple. But either way, we did not feel like we were getting any value out of our stay.

For all meals, bugs have first dibs on the food. Dead bugs were always found in the butter dish, soup, and live ones were crawling in the salads and desserts. No one seems to be embarrassed by this. So we kept asking ourselves how dare they charge $500/night for this? The standards were low, the service was terrible, so what were we getting for the price?

The staff is pathetic and terrible- so bad that we eventually started to laugh about it. But what's worse is that it is managed by Europeans who should obviously have a sense of standards of service, AND the sense that they are completely ripping their guests off. The European managers dismissed the bad service, claiming that this is just how Zanzibaris are, essentially saying they are a lazy culture. We found this comment to be extremely lazy in itself. The management should be able to train their people just like they are able to charge their guests high prices.

None of the staff speak English, so they never get what you're asking for. When they would finally get their lazy behinds to bring out our food, they would mix up orders all the time, and once sent me a dish that I tasted and confirmed wasn't mine... they took that same dish and sent it straight to the proper owner of that dish. I ate from it! The waitress saw me! We would ask for the same thing repeatedly and they were either too lazy to care, or just didn't understand.

We put on the do not disturb sign on the door to our villa, and while being romantic in bed while watching the sunset (with the curtains open), a staff person walked right through our garden! Seriously!?

But the worst of all service is experienced after dinner, when we would get back to our villa. While dining, the staff comes in to turn down the bed and spray the room for bugs. But the idiots come in, leave the door wide open during this process with the lights on, and THAT brings in plenty of bugs-- more than were there when we left it. And although they spray and kill the majority of the bugs that THEY themselves let in, they don't get all of them. AND they leave the dead bugs all over the floor! Every single day and night, we called housekeeping to come and clean up the mess that they left. It was so unromantic to be on our honeymoon, killing bugs in our "luxury" villa through the night.

We stayed in a luxury tent in the Masai Mara, on a river, in the middle of the Savannah, where never once did we have a bug issue. We get better service in Cairo, where we live, which is notorious for bad service! But we were most unhappy because we thought this would be luxurious, we'd feel pampered and relaxed. Instead, we felt completely ripped off for paying $500/night at this hotel with the worst service we ever received! We have traveled all over the world, and stayed in so many hotels. I think we would have been happier if we paid $200/night. We felt that we received 2 star service.

I could never recommend anyone to travel on a terrible road, to pay for every juice, soda and fruit, and have to kill bugs in a luxury villa, while paying $500/night for a room. You can get the same service at a hostel for 1/10 the price. It is hard to find any justification to stay at this expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snadiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, General Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Sabeel and Marwan,
Thank you very much for your review; we are always willing to improve and we consider precious your critics and suggestions.
We would like to inform you that we have started to smooth one of the 2 roads leading to our Resort; as advertized everywhere, Michamvi is located about 90 minutes from Stone Town.
As part of the Honeymoon package, we offer a romantic dinner on the beach, according to the weather conditions; during some months of the year, that is not possible because is very windy on the sea and we organize a nice table for the couple more privately respect to the restaurant.
Konokono doesn’t provide All Inclusive option; all our villas are on Half Board or Full Board basis and the drinks are not included.
We are sorry about the portions served; you should have asked for another serving and we would have been pleased to satisfy your appetite.
We assure you that we are improving the speed of our service but we are very sorry about the language used to describe them (idiots!). All of them – especially at the bar, restaurant and reception -speak English.
Once again, thank you for helping us to improve the standards of the Resort.
Peter Flueckiger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very good match between advertising on internet and reality - in other words just wonderful!
Attentive staff without being pushy, fantastic fruits, salads and seafood and a superb winelist and knoledge how to combine food and drink. Meat and some fishdishes still have to improve.
They also offer very good bodytreatments for a good price, and excursions in cooperation with the locals for example an exellent spice and fruit tour. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danspsykologen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Gudrun and Ulf, thank you for your kindness. Being the sommelier of this place, having guests enjoying our wine list is always a very good thing. Your are welcome back at anytime! Kind regards, Romina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It's a special place. There's everything you need to relax. The people/the staff makes it so special. Clean, big rooms, outside a nice canopy terrace if there's a little bit of rain. Delicious food, reasonable prices for drinks. It's quite an effort to get such a quality of service and food in such a remote place. Try the Zanzibarian dishes and the wines from South Africa. Even if it's not sunny, swimming in the pool with this beautiful view is a pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RubyThursday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location and the hotel are stunning, gorgeous.
There is a lovely pool and the beach is awesome - really beautiful powder white sand.
The staff at KonoKono are very professional and very kindness.
It's a fabulous place to relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 54Antonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Antonio and Manuela, many thanks for your nice review. We are grateful to have guests always smiling like you during your stay at Konokono. Obrigado! Kind regards, Romina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had our wedding at KonoKono and it was beautiful! Everything was perfect. The location and the hotel are stunning, gorgeous beach with the privacy you would expect for your day. The staff at KonoKono are very professional and they have assisted us throughout the process of preparing our day. We had most of our guest staying at KonoKono, in the beautiful villas and they were all very happy. The food for the wedding dinner was amazing…a buffet of seafood barbecue and other delicacies. Everything was perfect and the service is beyond expectations! We will definitely go back to KonoKono and we highly recommend to anyone looking to get married in Zanzibar, Honeymoon or just a relaxing vacation.
H&M

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Hawi and Magda, first of all everyone here at Konokono would like to thank you once again for your kindness: it has been a pleasure to organize the first wedding at the Resort after our new opening! We are also glad that this place will remain in your memories not just as a holiday site. We hope to having you once again here very soon. Kind regards. Romina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
15.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,630 reviews
20.6 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
503 reviews
31.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,680 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
972 reviews
10.8 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KonoKono Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KonoKono Beach Resort

Address: Michamvi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Price Range: £203 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — KonoKono Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kono Kono Beach Resort is located on the south eastern coast of Zanzibar; these 24 luxurious villas are only an hour's drive away from the Zanzibar International Airport. The breathtaking beauty of this side of the Island offers arguably the best beaches in Zanzibar. The property covers 48000m² and more than 40% is under the resort’s conservation program and has the rarest fauna and flora including wildlife such as monkeys, local deer, endemic bird species and supposedly the discreet Zanzibar leopard, which is believed to be extinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your KonoKono Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kono Kono Beach Villas Hotel Michamvi
KonoKono Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Michamvi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing