We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday like in Paradies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KonoKono Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday like in Paradies”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I spend 8 days and nights in Kono Kono and had an excellent time.

Not only the Villa`s, the location and Restaurant but expecially the Kono Kono Team made our stay oustanding. Long walks and sunbathing at the white beach, garden and Restaurant were so special that we could recharge the batteries of lifes.

The cleaness of the rooms and facilities as well the choice of good food for Dinner tasteful wine topped the Kono Kono off.

We felt like a big family with the Kono Kono team and some of the guests and not only due to the reason that almost all service team and Massai were cheering for the German Football team during the world cup, but mainly related to their kindness and helpfullness in all aspects.

We had a lot of fun and relaxation and can strongly recommend the Kono Kono Beach Resort and their team if you are chasing a relaxing holiday with possibilities of day or half day trips which we did as well.

For sure we will be back one day.

Thanks again to you all.

Guido and Sylvia

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Guido R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Front Office Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guido and Sylwia, thank you very much for your nice review: it's good to read that you felt like being part of a family in Konokono. We really hope to having you among our guests once again in the future. Kind regards, Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    61
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
68
284
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were there in Low Season and it was quite empty. So there was no spa or any other activity available. The breakfast was ridiculous, the salad we had for lunch absolutely overpriced, but the dinner menu (half board) was very good.
We had Bungalow 2 next to the Restaurant - forget privacy on this terrace and its plunsh Pool.
The hotel has no atmosphere Not in the rooms, nor Restaurant nor Pool

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Dive_ZNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, General Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Doris, thank you for your review. We would have more appreciated if you could have given your feedback directly to us instead of putting it online and harming our reviews. It is really disappointing to read these kind of comments from someone being part of the Hotel Management and - moreover - from someone who stayed here on a complimentary basis!
Best regards from all Konokono Beach Resort.
Maurizio Balistreri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldmohr, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What can be said about Konokono other than, perfection. My wife and I spent 8 days in Zanzibar, all at the Konokono resort. We were picked up on time at the airport and made it to the resort in just over an hour. A lot has been said about the private road leading up to the resort and all I can say is that considering the location on a nature preserve, the bumpy coral road was not a total shock. We were greeted by Muskat and Romena upon our arrival with a cold towel and a chilled fruit cocktail. We were escorted to our suite which was setup up beautifully for our wedding anniversary with additional flowers and champagne. Overall a very nice welcome! The rooms were well laid out with everything we needed and were located within quick walking distance of the spa, restaurant and beach. There was the occasional gecko and spider that made it inside the room, however, we were prepared given where we where in the world. The restaurant and bar provided a wonderful selection of food and beverages. The daily menus and partial buffet were very well thought out and the food was very fresh with outstanding creativity and flavor. The ambiance and decor were modern and the facilities were in very good repair, and we cannot say enough about the infinity pool :). Konokono, from what we saw and from what the locals told us has by far one of the nicest beaches on the island. Kelp that washes ashore is picked up every morning leaving a pristine, powered-sugar sandy beach that is memorable. There are plenty of cabanas in which to enjoy scenery and the gorgeous water. Making all of this even better was the team that runs Konokono on a daily basis. Peter, Romena and Muskat made sure the staff met our every need and they did it with a smile. The entire staff made this our most enjoyable vacation...Thank you for the memories, Fred, Ali, Elizabeth, Klain, Mike, Aziza, Lulu, Donard, Mshenga and Hafidh (who called us back to the hotel after leaving for the airport because my wife forgot her iPad in the lobby!)

Rich & Jenn

Room Tip: Suite #5 is a hidden gem. It is within a one minute walk from the restaurant, bar and beach and is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We visited the newly renovated resort this month. It was lovely and clean. The pool has been upgraded to an infinity pool overlooking the beach below. The new restaurant and pool area are very nice, and the food was excellent. The villas are as always nice. We were sad to see that the outside bathtubs were gone, and there is still no facility for room service. Our villa, Number 2, is one of the better ones, in our view. There was some leakage issues during a heavy rainfall in the new restaurant, but they were being worked on. Overall, if you want a VERY quiet, VERY relaxing stay, this is a great place. The road in is still dreadful, but it is also being worked on. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: The sea view villas near the restaurant are all lovely. These are numbered 1 - 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirit2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you are looking for a piece of Paradise, relaxation, beach and sea, there is no better place in Zanzibar. Gain peace of mind you only get on a desert island, but who wants to go there already. We spent 2 glorious weeks. From the first minute on each request was read from the eyes of us. The staff is always friendly and courteous. The cleanliness of the resort is exemplary. The beach might count the best of Zanzibar. White fine sand invites you to relax and sunbathe. Bath towels sunscreen and comfortable chairs with cushions are inclusive and always plentiful. Drinks and fresh fruits are also served on the beach. The same level of service we got also at the pool from which we had a breathtaking view of the beach and the sea.
The food at the resort is absolutely 5 stars. Whether it is breakfast with fresh homemade toast, Croisons, Pancake, freshly squeezed juices or dinner, here is cooked at a high level. Each night there was different starters, main courses and desserts under which we could choose. Whether fish, lamb, poultry or vegetarian, everything was very tasty and varied. If you enjoy the snorkeling, diving, kite surfing can use appropriate offers of the hotel. Also, city tours, Ocean-going fishing and a variety of other activities can be booked. Everything is well organized. Finally we can only say: KonoKono over and over again with pleasure.

Claudia & Frank

PS: About Implementation over's
The last part of the road to the hotel is bad. But after a Safari may no problem.
We have no problem.
About Bugs in the Room.
We have no Bugs, Moskito or over Insects in our Villa. The Stuff keep them (spray) allways away.

Room Tip: If you need W-LAN Chose the Villas 1 - 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We choose Kono Kono because of the location and of course what we imagine how it could be there. Both in reality was awesome, the only one west side beach on the east side of sansibar, no crowd of tourists on the beach, we were the only guests at the beach - a dream. Our bungalow was a ocean view one - gorgeous. Breakfast and Dinner were really good and of course the wine, which we had on the "sundowner terrace". After climbing Mt.Meru, doing a Safari and travelling by bus across the country to reach the ferry to stonetown it was the best last destination we could get - most definitely. We didn`t took any offer like snorkeling or any daytrip, because we went there just for relaxing and let the impressions we had of the country pass through our minds again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This resort is located far from any civilization. It's the perfect place to escape reality and enjoy a little peace and quiet.
Positives: Great welcome by senior management, beautiful room, inside and out with beach and sunset views. Beach is incredibly quiet and relaxing and stretches quite far with no one in sight. Bar service on the beach. Clean pool. Standard plunge pool with every room.
Negatives: Not to repeat what others have said about the lack of spread on the food, we were also told that lunch cannot be ordered after 3pm. So until 7 (if you haven't eaten) there is absolutely nothing you can do about it! And no room service. Hotel food is something I always really look forward to but was extremely disappointed with this.
A major let down for me was the lack of personal privacy. They have "Masaii" people spotted around the resort who are apparently in charge of security. More like peeping Toms. They were almost always watching us while we were in the plunge pool (in our private veranda) even after being told to stay away. The whole concept of these Masaii is pointless, although it adds to the ethnicity of the place, it's counter productive and really let down my vision of what this vacation would have been for me.
The road to the resort... Oh the road! As others have mentioned, it is terrible. Don't go there or leave from there with food in your belly, if that's the way you want to keep it. Tarring a road isn't a difficult thing to do or even having it simply graded. I hope this will change with time. If you do go, tell the driver to take the "old road". Although still bad, its a bit better than the new one.

Hope the management take heed of the criticism and make the necessary changes to make this good place GREAT.

Room Tip: Unless you mind being watched, don't take Villa No.1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessNtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, General Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Fatima and Amina,
Thank you for your review; it has been a pleasure to meet you and have you among our guests.
Since you left our Resort in January, having read carefully your comments and suggestions, we have of course immediately taken action for the unpleasant behavior of our Masai.
Our Kitchen is open now from 7:00 am until 10:00 pm non stop.
We would like to inform you that we have started to smooth the new road leading to our Resort.
We can assure you that we take heed of every advice given by our guests.
We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the very near future, kind regards.
Peter Flueckiger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
15.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,537 reviews
20.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
478 reviews
31.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,553 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 6 in Kizimkazi
923 reviews
10.8 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KonoKono Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KonoKono Beach Resort

Property: KonoKono Beach Resort
Address: Michamvi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
#1 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — KonoKono Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kono Kono Beach Resort is located on the south eastern coast of Zanzibar; these 24 luxurious villas are only an hour's drive away from the Zanzibar International Airport. The breathtaking beauty of this side of the Island offers arguably the best beaches in Zanzibar. The property covers 48000m² and more than 40% is under the resort’s conservation program and has the rarest fauna and flora including wildlife such as monkeys, local deer, endemic bird species and supposedly the discreet Zanzibar leopard, which is believed to be extinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your KonoKono Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kono Kono Beach Villas Hotel Michamvi
KonoKono Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Michamvi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing