We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location to unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of KonoKono Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KonoKono Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Waldmohr, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location to unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I'm a little late in writing this review....but this was an excellent place to stay and we have no complaints. It's quiet, quaint and not overly crowded. Yes the road was a little bumpy coming into the resort but please keep in mind it's on a nature preserve..away from the hustle. Kono Kono is nothing but a paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Oprah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    54
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
265
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The Kono Kono Beach Resort has a beautiful infinity pool that overlooks the Michamvi Bay. There is plenty of area to sunbathe, with a large white-tiled patio that has several beach chairs. There are no umbrellas at the pool (there are at the beach though), so to get shade you have to sit underneath a thatch-roof covered section of the patio, which also has a bar, television seating area with couches, and the open-air restaurant. The area is quite lovely and relaxing, as is the hotel's unusually long stretch of beach, which is covered in powdery white sand. The waiters and cleaning staff are all friendly, attentive, and eager to please. Don't listen to reviewers complaining about the road on the last stretch - it's bumpy but not that bad.

But overall, our three-day stay at Kono Kono was rather disappointing, especially given the high price tag for a room with half-board (over $450/day). We've both lived and traveled around the world, from developed to developing nations, and $450 should be plenty to have a better than average night's sleep. Kono Kono was, however, decidedly average.

We paid extra for a 'beach-view' villa, which was a distant one-hundred or more meters from the water. On the other side of the peninsula, you can easily find hotels with villas and/or rooms much closer to the water. Inside, the room was nothing special, with basic amenities. The toilet had a terrible stench from poor piping. The shower grout was dirty. And worst of all, the mosquito net in the room didn't encircle the bed - it walled off the section of bedroom with the bed, and rather pointlessly had a slit down the center didn't fully close in three places. Which meant that mosquitos and flies could - and did - easily get in. Also, bring conditioner - the hotel only provides shampoo.

The food selection was hit or miss. The first night we were there, the hotel served a Swahili-themed buffet that had an extensive menu and each item was wonderfully prepared. It was the best meal we ate during our week in Tanzania. The second night, however, I ordered barbecued chicken as a main course - one of the four selections for the night. It took one hour to arrive (there were probably only 12 tables of guests eating) and came out raw. (Full disclosure: the hotel chef tried to make up for this by providing us a free lunch the next day, but the waitress messed up that order too). Breakfast was underwhelming and the buffet lunch left much to be desired.

Finally, be aware that Kono Kono is not technically on the Indian Ocean - it's on a bay. So despite the beautiful water, with its multiple shades of turquoise, you can see land on the horizon. And you don't get any significant wind or hear the crash of waves at night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Avocado1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Banal, perhaps, as a title, but not too far from truth. Konokono is very pretty, charming, cleverly built. Very comfortable, with very big rooms ("villas"), well appointed and well kept. The open air restaurant and the beach bar are both pretty, charming and romantic, the quality of the food is excellent (though, at the price, one would expect that more could be done with such fresh ingredients). Helpful and friendly staff and attentive management. And the beach! Very cleverly located to give a feeling of complete seclusion on a coast that appears to be otherwise a string of cheaper resorts one next to the other. Very quiet and beautiful, the finest and cool sand. Yes, the last stretch of road to get to Konokono is pretty awful, and it could be a bother if one wants to use the place as a basis for exploration (we did our exploration from a base in Stone Town, which is in any event the main attraction outside the beaches), but I've driven worse myself, I am no adventurer, and I've survived. And wifi was a bit of a hassle (only in the common areas and not very good at that, but I suspect that's what you get in Zanzibar altogether). And no, it isn't cheap, but then paradise plus comfort never were.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mauro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2015
Dear Raffaele, thank you very much for your review and for your nice words spent towards Konokono. Looking forward to having you again among our guests, kind regards. Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

With a breathtaking location, Kono Kono is supposed to be one of the best places in all Zanzibar... But:
Arrival by the last 2 Kms it's not a way to arrive into a luxury hotel because of it horrible manteinance.
Staff is veeeery kind but not really professional.
Rooms are very nice and big and it feels you very comfortable.
Food and service in the hall is totally 3 stars although they try to improve every night.
And finally Romina in the front desk is not the kind of nice person to attend clients.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ventura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, General Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr Ventura, thank you for your review. It is sad to read these comments especially after having spoken with you everyday during your stay asking if everything was okay. As for the road, we have explained that we have began to smooth it now. We consider every critic very seriously to improve our services but we can't agree with what you write about Ms Romina: she is very professional and helpful with the guests. Kind regards from Konokono. Maurizio Balistreri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhenen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Kono Kono is really amazing!!

The staff is great
The food is excellent
The villa is clean
The beach is like heaven

Maurizio and his staff are really great and they treat you like a royal!!

Keep on doing this and you see me next time!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karel1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konokono Beach R, Front Office Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Karel and Adriane, thanks a lot for your nice review on behalf of all Konokono's staff. We really hope to see you again here in the very near future. Kind regards, Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We chose Kono Kono as a "wind down" spot after a 2 week safari and we could not have selected a better arrangement. Everything about the experience was OUTSTANDING. The entire staff from the General Manager to the cleaning crews went out of their way to provide excellent and attentive service. The setting is amazing, the food very good, the facilities are top notch, but it is the people that makes this a very exceptional experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are situated in individual villas with lower numbered villas being closer to the beach. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My mantra in life is time is money and doing nothing is worth gold !
A perfect place for this.
So if you expect a lot of animations and kids and activities , don't come in this hotel.
If you look for service, nice view, great villa's, this is a good place to relax. Perfect after a safari.
Romina, Maurizio and Ali are always there to help.
Superb large pool and nice attentions on the beach (cold towels and fruit).
24 villas, so never more than approx. 50 people. So service is personalised.

Room Tip: Wifi in common places. Access to the lagoon, not the sea, so no rif or snorkelling Any outside act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BelgiumBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
15.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
20.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
31.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
5.2 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
16.9 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KonoKono Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KonoKono Beach Resort

Property: KonoKono Beach Resort
Address: Michamvi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
#1 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — KonoKono Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kono Kono Beach Resort is located on the south eastern coast of Zanzibar; these 24 luxurious villas are only an hour's drive away from the Zanzibar International Airport. The breathtaking beauty of this side of the Island offers arguably the best beaches in Zanzibar. The property covers 48000m² and more than 40% is under the resort’s conservation program and has the rarest fauna and flora including wildlife such as monkeys, local deer, endemic bird species and supposedly the discreet Zanzibar leopard, which is believed to be extinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your KonoKono Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kono Kono Beach Villas Hotel Michamvi
KonoKono Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Michamvi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing