We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach but food needs improving” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of KonoKono Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KonoKono Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach but food needs improving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed here as the first stop on our visit to Zanzibar and Tanzania. We arrived at the resort after a 20 min car ride down the bumpy path and were relieved to arrive. The resort itself is very nice with beautiful landscaped grounds and the villas fit very nicely into the environment. Our villa was lovely with a wonderful view of the sea and we loved the big chairs and cushions on our veranda. The outside bath looked wonderful but there was never enough hot water to actually fill it and only managed about 2 inches before the water turned cold - it would have been better not to bother putting those in if you can't really use them. Our private swimming pool also had problems that it seemed to drain and refill all the time so most of the time there was not much water in that either! The main swimming pool wasn't very nice, was overgrown and had no sunbeds/umbrellas by it and was also only 3/4 full the whole time we were there although the beach was so amazing it didn't bother us.

The massage I had at the Jungle Spa was really good and I though relatively well priced compared to UK/Europe prices. The staff were generally very friendly but the level of English spoken wasn't great and there were a few times when confusion happened because they hadn't understood us. We had been warned by our tour operator that the food and service might be inconsistent due to the newness of the resort and we found this to be true.

The evening meals were served by moonlight on the beach which was wonderful with a fire to sit round after dinner - however the quality of the food was mediocre and below the standard I would expect of somewhere like this. We felt lunch in particular was not good quality or good value and after having the stalest cornflakes ever on our first morning we didn't try them again. You can have breakfast at your villa and lunch on the beach which is nice but everything comes covered in clingfilm which makes it a bit soggy and not always warm when you eat it.

In summary the beach was absolutely amazing, pratically deserted, turquoise water, pure white sand so soft we kept sinking into it, the villas were lovely albeit with some design flaws but the food and service could do with some improvement.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omahna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    54
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
265
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We spent four nights with a friend in Kono-Kono beach villa. The place is lovely, the beach is fantastic and the rooms are very nice. While the staff is very kind, the lack of efficiency is irritating considering the price. Everything is out of service (internet, ice machine) or unavailable (cigarettes for instance). We would wait 50 mn to one hour to get our breakfast or lunch in a hotel that has only 12 villas and which was not even half full. The management is not particularly caring for custommers. The food is OK, but nothing amazing. Overall, considering the cost, it's not really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annefalher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

omg, have you ever been on an idyllic, heavenly, ethereal vacation? well, you haven't until you've been to kono kono (which means "snail" in kiswahili). life is relaxed and wonderful from the moment you arrive at the resort. the sand is not a white sand beach, it is a white powder beach! the service was amazing and attentive, the beach villas are enormous- much bigger than most nyc flats (like mine), the shower is hot and strong- the water pressure is amazing. each villa has it's own outdoor soaking tub and wading pool!
dinner is served via candlelight on the beach, and we were lucky enough to be there during a full moon, so we ate and drank by moonlight.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

If it's relaxation and chill-out time that you're craving,be it with a partner or family with children,this is the ideal spot!The hotel is actually hidden ,surrounded by trees which I found contributed to it's serenity.
The quiet there is broken by the chirping of birds,and the air is always filled with the delicious lemongrass fragrance,planted everywhere in the endless gardens.
First thing you notice when you enter the villa is the space and absolute elegance.There's an indoor pool and a patio overlooking the ocean,perfect place for breakfast.
I believe the beach is the most beautiful that I have ever seen.Better than Mauldives,I dare say.It stretches as far as the eye can see,the sand so white and so fine,the water an inviting blue.
Nothing beats having a cocktail while watching the most amazing sunset at the beach,except,of course the dinner....Tables were set at a descreet distance from each other-so privacy's guaranteed-still at the beach,where we had a delicious dinner,listening to the soothing sound of waves and dreamily gazing up at the star-filled sky.
You never really get tired of the nature and beauty there that's why I'd go back there again and again and again....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geo_o2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
15.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
20.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
31.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
5.2 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
16.9 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KonoKono Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KonoKono Beach Resort

Property: KonoKono Beach Resort
Address: Michamvi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
#1 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — KonoKono Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kono Kono Beach Resort is located on the south eastern coast of Zanzibar; these 24 luxurious villas are only an hour's drive away from the Zanzibar International Airport. The breathtaking beauty of this side of the Island offers arguably the best beaches in Zanzibar. The property covers 48000m² and more than 40% is under the resort’s conservation program and has the rarest fauna and flora including wildlife such as monkeys, local deer, endemic bird species and supposedly the discreet Zanzibar leopard, which is believed to be extinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your KonoKono Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kono Kono Beach Villas Hotel Michamvi
KonoKono Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Michamvi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing