We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic way to relax after climbing Kilimanjaro”
Review of Kichanga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kichanga Lodge
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here as a group of 13, travelling with Exodus.

Kichanga Lodge is a low key, comfortable, rustically charming and unpretentious place to stay. Nigel and his staff are incredibly friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The cosy lounge area, easy access to gorgeous beaches, charming beach-hut style lodges, excellent cocktails, good food and warm, welcoming vibe make this seriously one of the loveliest places I have stayed. A great place to chill out, read, sleep, sunbathe and recuperate. Make sure you go to The Rock restaurant (about a mile to the right along the beach) but be careful not to get caught by the tide. Also, ask for a taxi to take you (for about ten dollars the driver'll wait for you) over to Kaefunk bar on the other side of the peninsula for sunset - really cool little place run by hippies.

We only got to stay for 3 days and so wish we could have stayed for longer - without sounding totally cheesy, it's a little piece of paradise and I really hope it remains simple and low-key, unlike some of the other chrome-and-marble resorts along the peninsula.

Thank you so much for providing the perfect antidote to a week's roughing it on Kilimanjaro!

Room Tip: The huts at the front have sea views and bigger verandas but I think they are more expensive. Ours w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

Loved our stay at Kichanga, even though the rooms are basic, they are clean, spacious and comfortable. Great hot showers! The food is very good, especially the pasta and seafood. What we loved best is the beach, which is quite secluded and we were not bombarded by beach boys, offering us great relaxation. The views are quite stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and it was a lovely place, relaxing and peaceful. The rooms were very nice, clean and spacious. The bathroom was very clean and tidy. The food was good and had a good variation and could not fault the service (George is a star). The beach area was lovely and kept clean at all times and I would recommend the massage that was fantastic. The only downfall is your cant swim in the sea unless you walk out avoiding the sea urchins for quite a way and the swimming pool is quite small and once you have 2-3 kids in there you don't really stand much chance of a decent swim. If you want a good value hotel to relax in for a few days/week at the end of a safari then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theboro1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed as a family with our three daughters (young adults) and had a wonderful family holiday. If it is nightlife and entertainment that you are looking for, then Kichanga is not for you. However, it is ideal for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. The staff went out of their way to make one feel at home. The rooms, while not luxurious, are clean, simple and pleasant. The hammock on the verandah is a great place to read and soak in the beautiful surroundings. There is no air conditioning which was no problem for us as the weather was mild. The meals too were simple, pleasant and plentiful. Afternoon tea on the beach is a nice touch. Without doubt the setting is the biggest draw card - it is magnificent!

Room Tip: The sea view chalets are a must. Avoid the furtherest one as there is often noise from a villa adjoi...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank CarolineandGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

After travelling a month through Uganda and Tanzania, this was a great spot to chill and prepare for the flight back. Enjoy the beauty of the beach and the sea with a fabulous trip on a dow to the reef where we snorkelled. Very friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. And not to forget the wonderful food!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Our 10 day stay was a huge success. One feels instantly relaxed and at home. Kichanga is tasteful, low-key and friendly. The central dining and bar area is warm and inviting. Beach is superb with good palm trees providing shade. The cottages are well laid out and accommodation is unfussy and very pleasant. The food is fresh and tasty. This is a place for those who appreciate peace and simple good things. One sees all kinds of guests, and we have small children and felt relaxed and welcomed. We had the best holiday we can remember. Nigel, one of the owners, is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

HI Julian thank you so much for your nice review , in kichanga we all miss your family , hope to see you back very soon. all the best to every one Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Soon as we arrived we felt like home, relax and so in easy. Everyone here include Nigel make our stay perfect!! If you wish to spent time sorounded by endless beaches away from civilisation, but still have all comfort of great food and hospitality including all possible trips get packing and you will not regret it;-))) Asante Sane!!! Ivana & Darren xxx

Make sure you go swimming with dolphins..... And take a trip with local fisherman ..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivikLittleDunmow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Ivana & Darren you are just great. The girls of the school are asking when are you going to play with them in the team . warm regards Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
1.3 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Michamvi
510 reviews
15.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
958 reviews
21.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
541 reviews
17.7 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichanga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichanga Lodge

Address: Michamvi 2424, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Michamvi
Price Range: £113 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kichanga Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little resort with a private beach and beautiful charming cottages, surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden. In perfect harmony with the natural environment, Kichanga Lodge is an unforgettable place for those who love nature and romantic atmospheres......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kichanga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichanga Hotel Michamvi
Kichanga Hotel Zanzibar
Kichanga Resort Zanzibar
Kichanga Lodge Zanzibar Island/Michamvi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing