We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kichanga Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sea View Hotel(Zanzibar City)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Zanzibar Ocean View(Zanzibar Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
305
145
22
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
145
22
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock restaurantsea urchinslow tidepalm treessecluded beachonly bad thinglovely breezestone townmosquito netceiling fansea breezeawesome placeexcellent beachfriendly and professional staffdressing roomspent a weekcolobus monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

From the minute I arrived To the minute i went home i had a truly amazing time at the hotel.
The room was wonderful, the staff were friendly and the facilities were good (not that you need any when the beach is just on your door stop)
I would recommend this hotel...just what the doctor ordered after trekking Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abooz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

we stayed here 6 nights in September 2012,the manager Nigel welcomed us and made regularly a talk.Very helpful with medication when my daughter was ill,and the same with somebody else. Prices of drinks are high (European prices, for example 3 dollars for a cappuccino and 5 dollars for a glass of wine). Staff was really nice,they tried to remember our names and especially George asked every day if we missed something and came with yogurt at breakfast ,because I said I liked that so much. But Amy, Happy, Aneth and everybody else of the staff are very nice. Most people are young couples and there some older couples, there was a group of 11 British people some nights,but the overall atmosphere was nice and quiet,people who read books. The room we had (nr 5?) was on the first floor and very spacious (about 45 sq.meters) with a great balcony overlooking the fantastic blue ocean. The bed made from wood in the middle of the room,simple washstand and bathroom, but the sphere is so good that you don't mind. Breakfast was a bit simple (eggs,pancakes and a lot of white bread (dry) and some fruit,lunch was also not special but diner was oke with meat and grilled fish, not special, but it is Zanzibar and not Europe,so sufficient. There was tea or coffee at 4 on the beach (complimentary). We arranged a taxi through a beach boy back to Stone town for 30 dollars, normally in the hotel and outside they ask 70 dollars!!! we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we loved our room on the first floor, "the room without windows".
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liesbeth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Situated in a beautiful small bay, which is cut off from other resorts at high tide, Kichanga has a nice feeling of privacy. There are 18 charming, rustic bungalows, only steps away from white sand and turquoise sea. Very friendly staff, personalised service, well-prepared food, good second-hand book library. Owner-managed, involved in the upliftment and welfare of the local community. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This was our second visit to Kichanga. So pleased to find everything the same as we had left it but with some new additions. Still the same glorious beach and crystal blue ocean. Same comfortable room with flowers on our bed welcoming us. The menu had been updated with different dishes - great selection that keep children and grown-ups happy. Great mix of people from all over the world - from honeymoon couples just back from Safari to families relaxing on the beach. Can't thank Nigel and his team enough for all the care and attention to make our stay a memorable one. Highlights for us were the boat trip to see the starfish, shopping in stone town, high jump competitions with the Massi, running on the beach at sunrise, tea time at the beach. massage in the hut on the beach listening to the waves.

Room Tip: Go for a sae view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fashnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Hi Julian
thanks for such a nice review hope to see you back very soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Everything was absolutely perfect, specialy the staff working there! The only thing I would change is the fact that you need to order what are go going to have for lunch right after breakfast, and If you are on holidays you would rather prefer to choose, If needed, at lunch time depending on how do you feel...
Apart from that a place you have to consider, as after have a look during the 7 days we spend there to other "more expensive" lodges and resorts, there is no diference with some other much more expensive and you get the same facilities for less money.
And although the beach might seem to be a bit rough, because of the corals... after visiting almost all the well known beaches all over the Island If you like to walk and get lost, only some minutes by feet you find realy secret white sand beaches spots where is you alone and the paradise beach...
Have I try!! Is a good invest on your holydays!!
Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tomefontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews