We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place but could be more eco”
Review of Kichanga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kichanga Lodge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb place but could be more eco”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent overall 7 days here in August, moving around a bit due to last minute booking and hence availability. Location is great, swimming super even at low tide in the lagoon, food excessively good (this was a problem as we overindulged as somewhat depleted after 9 months in Tanzania!) and it is really well managed. The bathrooms are outdated, toilet flush not working, showers very iffy and I really thought that the place and the great management Could make this a great possibility to develop an eco lodge and inspire the neighbours. Living in Tanzania it was pretty disturbing to see how excessive the tourist consumption and impact here in Zanzibar is - and this place is surely one of the better ones. Please please don't touch the marine wildlife on the snorkelling trips, the reef is dead enough already.

Room Tip: Talk to reservations and tell them what you are after. They were really helpful to us both in terms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    131
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
117
217
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beets, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

5 days in paradise! The flower leafs on our bed, the privacy, the silence, the beautifull cottage at sea/ with seaview, excellent food and services, private beach, blue water and white sand made our stay perfect! What a great place to hide, rest and absorb the beautifull nature in silence. And when we were into action the friendly staff in the hotel could recommend or facilitate all kind of activities like walks, biking, snorkeling, good restaurants, transports, daytrips, nice sunset bar/ dancing for in the evening and more... I was suprised by the possibilities as it seemed isolated at first sight. We really could create our perfect holiday in Kitchanga lodge. I wish I had bought a few more fabrics in the lodge as they were beautifull and were for good prices. But the inhouse tailor made a very nice skirt for me.. We can recommend this place!! And want to thank the people from Kitchanga for our beautifull memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Mireille asante sana for such a nice review hope to see you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed for 2 nights/3 days and as soon as I arrived I regretted not being able to stay longer. You are welcomed with smiles and Jambos (hellos) as soon as you get there. It's extremely peaceful and relaxing, much needed after I had travelled through beautiful, but dusty, Tanzania for three weeks and had climbed Mt Kilimanjaro.

I was upgraded to an Ocean Lodge which was stunning. Food and staff were great and very accommodating. I was exhausted from the trek and was just looking for a nice place to relax by the beach and chill, and Kichanga Lodge delivered.

One negative I have to mention is they charge for wi-fi (and it's quite expensive), and they charge PER device (i.e. you are charged twice if you want it on your iPhone AND iPad) and you can only access wi-fi in the lounge by front reception. With all the free wi-fi throughout the country and the world, I was a bit alarmed by how expensive and limited it was.

The other small negative I would say (and I'm being picky here) is that the staff can be a little TOO eager to serve you. Management would ask me multiple times a day if everything was good and it wouldn't be unusual for me to be eating my meal with a staff member standing right beside my table staring at me as I ate. I'm all for great service but it was a little intense and off-putting at times. That said, I had a super relaxing time and would highly recommend the hotel. Very professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jc8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Wow, what an experience. We stayed 6 nights in August and will always remember this place as very very special. Stunning beach and beautiful white sand. Fantastic food at all times, the warmest of African hospitality was extended to us by the staff and management constantly. The rooms are great, try for a beach front bungalow. The staff are beautiful. So helpful and kind and lovely to chat to. A special mention for George in the dining room who was so very kind to our friend who had hurt his back. The common areas are fantastic with big comfy day beds and chairs that once in are very hard to move from. Totally relaxed within hours of getting to kichanga. Great value for money. Thank you Nigel for this beautiful place you have all created. We can't stop talking about zanzibar and kichanga lodge. We will be back. P.S. a meal at The Rock restaurant is essential. Great seafood

Room Tip: Try for beachfront bungalow for the amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi Robyn, thank you so much for such a nice review my staff and i are all very happy that you had such a great and relaxing time. I hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having stayed in similar places in Bonaire (Dutch Antilles) and Samal (the Philippines), we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed. Kichanga is located in an enviable situation with a fascinating beach which stretches out for what must be half a mile at low tide. This gives exciting opportunities to explore the reef looking for starfish, sea urchins and to watch the fishermen catching that night's barbecued octopus or kingfish and creates a natural sea pool for daytime swimming. The service is excellent and carefully overseen, the difference between here and some other local hotels is palpable and all the better for it. There's a charming lady (Loveness) offering beauty treatments in a hut on the beach and you can walk for miles along the shoreline - a must is a visit to the Rock restaurant for lunch. We had a very pleasing few days and were sad to leave, I rarely feel so relaxed!

Room Tip: A beach front villa gives the sound of the ocean as the tide ebbs and flows, a garden villa the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hello, thank you for your review and it was great to meet you and see that you enjoyed your holiday in Kichanga . asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I spent four days here after a safari. I can say it is the perfect place for resting yourself. This lodge is placed in a beautiful area just in front of a paradisiac beach. The installations are very good and the food is excellent. But what really makes the difference is the friendly staff you can find there, very helpful at every moment. We highly recommend this place if you are looking for some days of disconnection and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Patge

thank you very much for your nice review and we are very happy htat you enjoyed your holiday at Kichanga Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here after a safari. It was absolutely brilliant. The setting is fantastic with a beach you can only dream about, good food and great staff. The staff were a real joy - attentive without being over the top, and willing to do anything to help. We really loved it and were only surprised that there were not more people there: perhaps it really is one of those best kept secrets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hello Steve, thanks for your write up . if you want to send us some friends please do not hesitate.
asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
0.3 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
421 reviews
15.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
31.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
10.5 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichanga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichanga Lodge

Property: Kichanga Lodge
Address: Michamvi 2424, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kichanga Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little resort with a private beach and beautiful charming cottages, surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden. In perfect harmony with the natural environment, Kichanga Lodge is an unforgettable place for those who love nature and romantic atmospheres......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kichanga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichanga Hotel Michamvi
Kichanga Hotel Zanzibar
Kichanga Resort Zanzibar
Kichanga Lodge Zanzibar Island/Michamvi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing