We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine and serene retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pristine and serene retreat”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Perfect place for those who prefer quite places and meditation. Very nice personel, and if some services are different from big international hotels - you will appriciate this homemade slowliness and eccept the natural rhythm of life. Not the place for those looking for animation or discotheques. Other referencies contain enough information, what I would add is about snorkeling. I was disappointed (and it was my error) on the first days as the tides achieve 3.5 m of level difference and during the low tide you have to walk 1.5 km with reef shoes (beware of urchins!) and during the high tides if it's windy you risk while entering or getting out of the sea. So the best way is to find a convenient entrance (there are some) and explore the area benefitting from the low tide (try to get the tides schedule, they are published in some boocklets for tourists). The most interesting zone is rather far from the shore, but there are also some nice reef blocks near the coastline. You have a chance to observe the life of a unoque tide zone and it's different from what you usually see in the Read Sea or elsewhere. Very nice impression and cordial atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolayTbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    78
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We enjoyed Ras Michamvi Hotel.It was a very beautiful place.Everybody was smiling, very helpful and friendly.Every trip we wanted to do was immediately available and well organized.
You can snorkel all the time and see a lts of fish just in front of the hotel.I really congratulate everybody in this hotel- my husband and i were very happy and if we go back to Zanzibar we will go to Ras Michamvi!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GUELA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent 7 nightsin February in beautifully furnished rooms with an awesome view to the ocean. It was very relaxing, the place is not crowded at all, offers great food and fruit juices, and has a very friendly and helpful staff. There were always free sunbeds by the pool, and everything was very clean. On most days we did not even have moskitos.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the ocean in the first row have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisztina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Ras Michamvi feels like the end of the world. Its isolation makes it a little piece of paradise. The visual setting is unmatched. Two beaches are yours and yours alone. The incredibly attentive and helpful staff will set up snorkeling trips, cab rides down the beach 20 km to the beautiful beach at Jambiani, laundry services - whatever you need. The pace is slow and the 18 rooms had only four filled when we were there, adding to our sense of being spoiled with great service. The food was fine, though not a lot of choices.

This is not the place for a lively beach scene. Instead this is where you want to come to get away from it all in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peteeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Nice small hotel ingreat location at end of peninsula. Nice rooms and swimming pool and 2 good beaches. While staff friendly and helpful, the quality of food served at the restaurant was very mixed, and lacked fresh seafood. Service was also slow in the restaurant - few alternatives to eating at the hotel all the time was a bit frustrating after a while. Would go again!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriselane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

While the resort is a bit remote, it's definitely worth the schlepp. The rooms are basic but very clean and spacious with great beds and fresh flowers every day. The pool is lovely, overlooking the Indian Ocean and the service is excellent. And the landscaping at the hotel grounds is really nicely done. The food is also good. If you want to go to Stone Town, make sure to negotiate the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel was exactly what we wanted after trekking up Kilimanjaro. We had 3 wonderful restful days where we were treated like royalty by the very friendly efficient staff. A beautiful setting overlooking the Indian ocean with lovely soft white sand. The food was excellent with Hassain the restaurant manager looking after us well. Our room was clean and comfortable with only one criticism - the huge bed was a little too high for comfort,or maybe it was the effects of Kilimanjaro ! If it is peace and quiet that you are looking for then this is the place to come. We would definitely come back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drylance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
6.2 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
15.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
557 reviews
31.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
446 reviews
15.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
240 reviews
15.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Michamvi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Michamvi Beach Resort

Property: Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Address: P.O. Box 635, Michamvi, Tanzania (Formerly Hotel Ras Michamvi)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Michamvi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ras Michamvi with his new Austrian Management!!!our beach hotel on Zanzibar's beautiful east coast, is a little paradise harmoniously set in a large natural area with access to powder-white tropical beaches, gardens, forests and a stunning ocean-front swimming pool.We do Quality, instead of Quantity. And you can feel it... Our aim is to cater to the modern traveler, from Kite surfer to food critic to businessman in need of a free broadband connection and everyone else who simply enjoys quality. 8 rooms with sea view and 7 are with Garden view. Relax at this quiet location, feel the tropical sun and the gentle ocean breeze on your skin, look for shooting stars amongst the thousands of sparkling dots in the sky at night, enjoy the freshest fish and seafood served at our open restaurant under a large Makutti roof, explore the stunning natural wonders of the nearby Jozani Forest-Chwaka Bay Conservation Area - in short: come to Ras Michamvi and discover the magic of Zanzibar! All of our 8 rooms have sea view and 7 rooms have garden view. They are located in 4 bungalows on a coral rock elevation overlooking the beach and the ocean. Our new and modern bungalows are built of stone and have wooden terraces, makuti-style thatched roofs, air conditioning, ceiling fans, mosquito nets, mini-fridges, en-suite bathrooms with shower, bathtub, cold and hot water. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully furnished in local style. Three bungalows have 4 rooms and one bungalow has 3 rooms only. Our restaurant is located on top of the same coral rock elevation as the bungalows - hence you can overlook the beach and sea from the round panoramic open building under a big makuti thatched roof. It is the place where you will start the day with a tropical breakfast including fresh fruits and juice, eggs and different kinds of bread. For lunch and dinner our restaurant offers local and continental dishes. There is also a selection of vegetarian dishes. You can have a romantic candle-light dinner at night and feel the true magic of this place when the moonlight reflects on the gentle waves of the Indian Ocean. From time to time we also arrange barbecues on the beach.Service is our succsess,welcome to the most peaseful place on earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Jovago.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Ras Michamvi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Michamvi Hotel
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing