We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Returning to Paradise”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for the second time, previous time 2 years ago. Then it was a marvelous place, now it turned even better. The new management has been appointed headed by a French professional Pascal, very competent and amiable person. We have had a pleasant impression that everything is perfectly thought-out to make in the most convenient way for the guests. For ex., in the restaurant you have a choice to pay extra for a seafood plate and the cost of your dinner is reckoned towards the bill.
The restaurant has improved considerably (though it was rather good).
This a very quite and pristine retreat, for those who look not for nightlife and discos, but for relaxation and meditation - that's the place. We liked it much more then much more expensive 5 stars hotels in the neighbourhood (too many people, too much noise).
The situation is marvelous: on the end point of a cape, so they have a sandy beach on one side (to the gulf) and a rocky shore with coral blocks on another, facing the open ocean.
On the sandy beach you are always alone.
You should keep in mind huge tides (get the tide schedule in the Web). There is a marvelous snorkeling during the low tide, the tide zone has a very specific fauna and when the water is shallow, it's easy to observe. Just don't hesitate to go far from the shore, there interesting things to see there (I am an experienced dive master, but even for me there were lots of interesting things). First of all, there are beautiful starfishes of all colors.
But mind the sea urchins. Don't enter the sea without reef shoes.
Beachboys will offer to you snorkeling tours. I doubt it's worth going somewhere: they bring boats with tourists from other hotels for snorkeling exactly in front of the Ras Mchamwi. Here I attach some pictures taken there.

Room Tip: Sea-view is perfect, a panoramic view from above. But garden bugalows are also great and much cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolayTbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    77
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
83
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is amazing! Situated in paradise, quiet and relaxing, with great food in the restaurant and an incredibly friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. There are two private beaches and though it is not possible to swim in the ocean, there is a crystal clean pool overlooking the bay. Plus there is tonnes to discover in the tide pools! You will not be disappointed if you come here.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the slightly higher room price to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltodistantlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with marble reception areas, power showers, hi-tech gym and evening entertainment, Ras Michamvi is not the place for you. However, if you just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and relax in a remote and peaceful location then this is the ideal place.

The rooms are fairly simple with traditional Zanzibar style furniture. They are spacious, well cared for and clean and have air conditioning and a ceiling fan. We had a sea view room which also benefited from an ocean breeze and a lovely terrace where we could watch the occasional dhow sail past and watch the antics of the monkeys early in the morning or late in the afternoon.

Initially we were a little disappointed at the lack of a beach immediately in front of the hotel – although previous reviews have mentioned the rocks and coral in front of the hotel, some photographs that we had seen indicated that there was a sandy strip at low tide. This was not the case while we were there (late January/early February). However, at certain times of the day it is possible to walk 100 yards or so along the coral to a large sandy beach where you can swim in the beautiful warm sea (usually with nobody else in sight). Bao Beach to the other side of the hotel (previously known as Coconut Beach) is very quiet, has sunbeds, sunshades, hammocks and a beach bar and is glorious to relax on, but again not suitable for swimming. The hotel swimming pool compensates for the limited opportunity for swimming in the sea, it is large, kept very clean and the views across the ocean are great. At low tide it is possible to walk in either direction from the hotel and investigate the many rock pools – make sure you pack some water shoes.

The food served in the restaurant is generally of a good quality. A couple of things were not always to our taste but the seafood was always delicious, especially the prawns, lobster and crab. The portions were very large – you will not go hungry! In our opinion the restaurant lacked a bit of character and atmosphere but some small changes were being introduced while we were there and these were definitely starting to contribute to a less stark atmosphere. The restaurant, bar and kitchen staff are a fabulous group of people who are friendly, good fun, eager to please and keen to teach some basic Swahili words and phrases.

Ras Michamvi offers complete relaxation in a tranquil location in simple, clean, good value for money accommodation with down to earth friendly service. We thoroughly enjoyed our 12 night stay and wish that we could have stayed for another 12 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peanut0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I couldn't have said it better. Met Katharina from Austria as we stayed there at exactly the same time. Great place, awesome food and very friendly staff. Katharina we should definitely consider a reunion in the future with all the others we've met during our stay there....... ;-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights and was an absolute pleasure room was comfortable and had air con the best part of the resort though was the friendly and very attentive staff always prepared to go the extra mile! Pool was great as there is not many swimming spots at the beach but good for looking in the many rock pools! Food was delicious and reasonably priced! The only negative thing I would have to say about this place was the laundry was quite expensive so save that for somewhere else otherwise we have an amazing experience!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

After two hectic nights in Stone Town taking in the Spice Tour, Prison Island and Forodhani Gardens, Patrick (Safari Lodge Hotel Manager) booked us three nights at this resort for a quiet relaxed stay by the beach.
We had one of the two best Ocean View rooms. This resort is at the end of the road past a number of other hotels and is over an hours drive from Stone Town. The place is isolated and not for Party People.
The room had air con and a fan, minimal toiletries, but no complimentary water, room safe , phone or TV. The King size bed was comfortable and the rooms kept clean. The included breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Lunch and dinner were available at reasonable prices. The Chef was superb and food was delicious, service was good. Share taxis with other guests to keep costs down.

Room Tip: Share taxis, excursions, etc with other guests to minimise costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DilluManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

It was best holidays since Longin time.
Stuff was crazy and very helpful;)
Food was great.
I met there noce people from many countries. Everyone was happy.
Two beaches for one hotel? It's possible in this hotel;)
Rooms was clean with AC, free internet in restaurant. Free lizard's in taras;)))
I want visit this hotel again
Greetings from Poland for Pascal, Noras, Henry, Chriphord, Kasim, Husein, Sifu (cheef), and Elizabeth, Zakia, Dina, Teresa and rest----- I'll be back!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
1.3 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
15.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
31.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
15.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Michamvi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Michamvi Beach Resort

Property: Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Address: P.O. Box 635, Michamvi, Tanzania (Formerly Hotel Ras Michamvi)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Michamvi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ras Michamvi with his new Austrian Management!!!our beach hotel on Zanzibar's beautiful east coast, is a little paradise harmoniously set in a large natural area with access to powder-white tropical beaches, gardens, forests and a stunning ocean-front swimming pool.We do Quality, instead of Quantity. And you can feel it... Our aim is to cater to the modern traveler, from Kite surfer to food critic to businessman in need of a free broadband connection and everyone else who simply enjoys quality. 8 rooms with sea view and 7 are with Garden view. Relax at this quiet location, feel the tropical sun and the gentle ocean breeze on your skin, look for shooting stars amongst the thousands of sparkling dots in the sky at night, enjoy the freshest fish and seafood served at our open restaurant under a large Makutti roof, explore the stunning natural wonders of the nearby Jozani Forest-Chwaka Bay Conservation Area - in short: come to Ras Michamvi and discover the magic of Zanzibar! All of our 8 rooms have sea view and 7 rooms have garden view. They are located in 4 bungalows on a coral rock elevation overlooking the beach and the ocean. Our new and modern bungalows are built of stone and have wooden terraces, makuti-style thatched roofs, air conditioning, ceiling fans, mosquito nets, mini-fridges, en-suite bathrooms with shower, bathtub, cold and hot water. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully furnished in local style. Three bungalows have 4 rooms and one bungalow has 3 rooms only. Our restaurant is located on top of the same coral rock elevation as the bungalows - hence you can overlook the beach and sea from the round panoramic open building under a big makuti thatched roof. It is the place where you will start the day with a tropical breakfast including fresh fruits and juice, eggs and different kinds of bread. For lunch and dinner our restaurant offers local and continental dishes. There is also a selection of vegetarian dishes. You can have a romantic candle-light dinner at night and feel the true magic of this place when the moonlight reflects on the gentle waves of the Indian Ocean. From time to time we also arrange barbecues on the beach.Service is our succsess,welcome to the most peaseful place on earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ras Michamvi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Michamvi Hotel
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing