We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs some work.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I am slightly hesitant to write this review because the Ras Michamvi has been under new management for only 8 days and therefore has the potential to improve. However, the manager has his work cut out for him. If all you need is a bed and a good pool, Ras Michamvi is the right place. However, if you are going on holiday to treat yourself, choose another place. I am honestly, shocked by the other reviews that lead us to book at the Ras Michamvi.

On the plus side, It is on a beautiful plot with an amazing view and just a short boat ride away from Blue Lagoon, an amazing snorkel spot. The pool itself is large and clean. However, everything else was only tolerable.

The rooms are large, but very sparse. There is a small fridge, but there isn't a kettle with tea and no bottles of water are provided. The shower water becomes so hot that it is necessary to turn down the pressure and turn on the cold as high as possible, which means there is no water pressure. Mostly, the rooms are clean, but one day we had "clean sheets" placed on the bed which smelled so strongly of mildew that we couldn't sleep. Luckily they were changed the next day. They also are in need of new towels

As for the public spaces, while the pool was clean, the pool and beach furniture was in major need of an update, there was not enough of it, it was rickety and fell apart when moved and the pads were old and dirty. The "pool bar" was open only once for a few hours in the four days we were there. The internet works in the restaurant, as listed in amenities, but if there is more than one person trying to access it, it cuts out so much it doesn't work. The hotel should try to address this issue before they try to promise internet in each room.

The staff is friendly and welcoming, however, they speak very little English which is only a problem because instead of saying "I don't understand" and getting help, they just say "No" to simple questions. The food was decent, but overpriced for dinner and repetitive for breakfast. One day we sat in the restaurant for 30 minutes at lunch and none of the staff who were there setting up for a large party ever addressed us.

The services/tours they offer are overpriced and can be obtained for half the cost with private companies at the nearby fishing village. Aside from that, after our experience with the hotel, I didn't trust that booking a massage or other "luxury" items would meet my expectations.

Ras Michamvi is more like a backpackers with a private room and should be priced as such. I hope that the new manager, who was pleasant and enthusiastic, is not defensive and instead works hard to address the issues and to make this review irrelevant in short time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndreaLD527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    77
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
83
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The sea breeze drifting in and around cabana was astounding and restful.
The beach extended out to 1/3 mile as the tide went out allowing walks into the sea.
Full board meals were extravagant with fresh eggs, meats, fruits and brewed coffee.
Special dinner items posted each night on chalk board enticed us to try local grilled seafood, meats (beef) and chef prepared "on the spot" side dishes.
Bar/lounge area comfortable to relax reading while watching the waves, playing games and napping.

The cabana spacious for three people (two separate beds) and room included dressing room and bathroom (shower). A/C not necessary and no problems with bugs. Staff -prepares draws down bed and closes cabana shutters each night.

Definitely a place to visit and relax after safaris.

Room Tip: Sea view a must!! Recommend walking down beach to other resorts to arrange diving, fishing and boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette Camille ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

When you're from Asia and something bearing bears the name Ras Michamvi, it raises expectations. Ras Michamvi Beach Resort in Zanzibar doesn't disappoint.
The beautiful scenery was simply breathtaking, it is how Mother Nature intended.
With impeccable staff, excellent service, delicious food, clean room with neat decor and the hospitality is as warm as the weather.
Needless to say, we felt special.

Ras Michamvi Beach Resort, paradise has an address.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountessHasni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We actualy didn't stay at Ras Michamvi--we were at the neighbouring Kichanga Lodge property. However, on one beachcombing walk we decided to investigate the hotel (mostly in hopes of finding a cold beer and escape from the heat). Wow. The view from the restaurant area is remarkable. You could very easily be fooled into thinking that you were in a plane, taking in an aerial view of the Indian Ocean below. The tide pools and their demarcations are so visible from Ras Michamvi's vantage point.
We found cold beer and better yet--massive blue marlin burgers with a heap of fries for $5 US. We loved our lunch so much that we returned again for another hefty fill--the club sandwich (also with a heap of fries and slaw). I love that African club sandwiches come with chicken-and the egg! With just enough tangy mayo and a golden pan-fry, we were so satisfied. If you arrive at the perfect time, the seats with the best view in Zanzibar would be on our to-do list. Though The Rock has its unique charm and location, Ras Michamvi is well-worth repeat visits.
We spoke with Martina, a lovely Dutch woman who is the sales and marketing manager. After our first visit we returned with an English book as she was desperate for a good read, and, like Kichanga Lodge, many of the books left behind by guests are Italian or French.
The staff are smiley and wonderful--even taking us on a tour of the garden villas and sea view rooms for future planning. The infinity pool here is stunning--and, if you like the luxury of air-conditioning, Ras Michamvi provides this as well as bar fridges in the rooms. There are extra touches to the rooms that give it a boutique feel and, according to Martina there are grand plans for renovations that will really set the hotel apart from nearby accommodations.
Thanks for sharing your view!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtorti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for the second time, previous time 2 years ago. Then it was a marvelous place, now it turned even better. The new management has been appointed headed by a French professional Pascal, very competent and amiable person. We have had a pleasant impression that everything is perfectly thought-out to make in the most convenient way for the guests. For ex., in the restaurant you have a choice to pay extra for a seafood plate and the cost of your dinner is reckoned towards the bill.
The restaurant has improved considerably (though it was rather good).
This a very quite and pristine retreat, for those who look not for nightlife and discos, but for relaxation and meditation - that's the place. We liked it much more then much more expensive 5 stars hotels in the neighbourhood (too many people, too much noise).
The situation is marvelous: on the end point of a cape, so they have a sandy beach on one side (to the gulf) and a rocky shore with coral blocks on another, facing the open ocean.
On the sandy beach you are always alone.
You should keep in mind huge tides (get the tide schedule in the Web). There is a marvelous snorkeling during the low tide, the tide zone has a very specific fauna and when the water is shallow, it's easy to observe. Just don't hesitate to go far from the shore, there interesting things to see there (I am an experienced dive master, but even for me there were lots of interesting things). First of all, there are beautiful starfishes of all colors.
But mind the sea urchins. Don't enter the sea without reef shoes.
Beachboys will offer to you snorkeling tours. I doubt it's worth going somewhere: they bring boats with tourists from other hotels for snorkeling exactly in front of the Ras Mchamwi. Here I attach some pictures taken there.

Room Tip: Sea-view is perfect, a panoramic view from above. But garden bugalows are also great and much cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolayTbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is amazing! Situated in paradise, quiet and relaxing, with great food in the restaurant and an incredibly friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. There are two private beaches and though it is not possible to swim in the ocean, there is a crystal clean pool overlooking the bay. Plus there is tonnes to discover in the tide pools! You will not be disappointed if you come here.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the slightly higher room price to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltodistantlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with marble reception areas, power showers, hi-tech gym and evening entertainment, Ras Michamvi is not the place for you. However, if you just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and relax in a remote and peaceful location then this is the ideal place.

The rooms are fairly simple with traditional Zanzibar style furniture. They are spacious, well cared for and clean and have air conditioning and a ceiling fan. We had a sea view room which also benefited from an ocean breeze and a lovely terrace where we could watch the occasional dhow sail past and watch the antics of the monkeys early in the morning or late in the afternoon.

Initially we were a little disappointed at the lack of a beach immediately in front of the hotel – although previous reviews have mentioned the rocks and coral in front of the hotel, some photographs that we had seen indicated that there was a sandy strip at low tide. This was not the case while we were there (late January/early February). However, at certain times of the day it is possible to walk 100 yards or so along the coral to a large sandy beach where you can swim in the beautiful warm sea (usually with nobody else in sight). Bao Beach to the other side of the hotel (previously known as Coconut Beach) is very quiet, has sunbeds, sunshades, hammocks and a beach bar and is glorious to relax on, but again not suitable for swimming. The hotel swimming pool compensates for the limited opportunity for swimming in the sea, it is large, kept very clean and the views across the ocean are great. At low tide it is possible to walk in either direction from the hotel and investigate the many rock pools – make sure you pack some water shoes.

The food served in the restaurant is generally of a good quality. A couple of things were not always to our taste but the seafood was always delicious, especially the prawns, lobster and crab. The portions were very large – you will not go hungry! In our opinion the restaurant lacked a bit of character and atmosphere but some small changes were being introduced while we were there and these were definitely starting to contribute to a less stark atmosphere. The restaurant, bar and kitchen staff are a fabulous group of people who are friendly, good fun, eager to please and keen to teach some basic Swahili words and phrases.

Ras Michamvi offers complete relaxation in a tranquil location in simple, clean, good value for money accommodation with down to earth friendly service. We thoroughly enjoyed our 12 night stay and wish that we could have stayed for another 12 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peanut0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
31.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
556 reviews
6.2 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
15.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Michamvi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Michamvi Beach Resort

Property: Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Address: P.O. Box 635, Michamvi, Tanzania (Formerly Hotel Ras Michamvi)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
#3 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Michamvi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ras Michamvi with his new Austrian Management!!!our beach hotel on Zanzibar's beautiful east coast, is a little paradise harmoniously set in a large natural area with access to powder-white tropical beaches, gardens, forests and a stunning ocean-front swimming pool.We do Quality, instead of Quantity. And you can feel it... Our aim is to cater to the modern traveler, from Kite surfer to food critic to businessman in need of a free broadband connection and everyone else who simply enjoys quality. 8 rooms with sea view and 7 are with Garden view. Relax at this quiet location, feel the tropical sun and the gentle ocean breeze on your skin, look for shooting stars amongst the thousands of sparkling dots in the sky at night, enjoy the freshest fish and seafood served at our open restaurant under a large Makutti roof, explore the stunning natural wonders of the nearby Jozani Forest-Chwaka Bay Conservation Area - in short: come to Ras Michamvi and discover the magic of Zanzibar! All of our 8 rooms have sea view and 7 rooms have garden view. They are located in 4 bungalows on a coral rock elevation overlooking the beach and the ocean. Our new and modern bungalows are built of stone and have wooden terraces, makuti-style thatched roofs, air conditioning, ceiling fans, mosquito nets, mini-fridges, en-suite bathrooms with shower, bathtub, cold and hot water. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully furnished in local style. Three bungalows have 4 rooms and one bungalow has 3 rooms only. Our restaurant is located on top of the same coral rock elevation as the bungalows - hence you can overlook the beach and sea from the round panoramic open building under a big makuti thatched roof. It is the place where you will start the day with a tropical breakfast including fresh fruits and juice, eggs and different kinds of bread. For lunch and dinner our restaurant offers local and continental dishes. There is also a selection of vegetarian dishes. You can have a romantic candle-light dinner at night and feel the true magic of this place when the moonlight reflects on the gentle waves of the Indian Ocean. From time to time we also arrange barbecues on the beach.Service is our succsess,welcome to the most peaseful place on earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ras Michamvi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Michamvi Hotel
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing