We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach Hotel I have ever visited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat
1 review
“Best Beach Hotel I have ever visited”
Reviewed 19 March 2009

I took a short break from my hectic schedule of building my house at Chukwani and decided to head for Ras Michamvi to unwind especially from the heat of Stone Town. This place came highly recommended by my friend Hamid of Abuso Inn. So I decided to check it out. Upon arrival I was immediately I was awestruck by the beauty of location. The hotel is perched on a corral cliff high above the beautiful east coast. It commanded an impressive view of the corral beach. Although it was hot during this time of the year but the sea breath hits you straight on the face. I immediately plunged in their beautiful pool again perched at the edge of the cliff overlooking the beach. In the evening after a nice dinner of local caught fish (you need to make your order in advance) I joined some Ugandan couple for a nice game of pool. Following morning I wondered through the premises and checked their gym facility and the famous Coconut Beach. I met up with the Octopus fishermen who were very friendly and struck some good conversation about their trade. You can even join them for an Octopus search if you fancy (normally on the low tide). In general the cleanliness of the place the décor of the rooms, the location of the restaurant, the wooden walkway makes this place the best budget hotel I have ever visited. So if you are looking for a place to be close to nature then Ras Michamvi comes highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abu_Qeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    78
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Me and my boyfriend Nathan stayed there 5 nights in Feb 2009 and had most amazing time. Manager and staff are excellent and if you are looking for a place to relax this is your choice!! Pool area is great and hotel has its own lovely (Coconut) beach just little stroll away. No-one apart from us ventured there which is a shame as our best beach photos are from this very location!! There are no beach sellers there so you are left well and truly alone!! You can walk miles when the tide is out and we had beer in other resorts while exploring!! You can do various tours and they are more than accomodating for tailoring your adventures!! They also do mean house made burger and chips and other food is great too!! Various themes each night food wise!! If you are expecting busy resort Ras is not for you but if you are in need of recharging your batteries then go is amazing!! We are still thinking about our time there and would love to go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatBedenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Nearly all the problems we experienced were service-based. They had no drinking water for several hours the first day. The waitstaff were kind, but without training which made meals long and awkward. The food was touted on the website, but was decidedly average. Encouragingly, the new manager was trying mightily to make changes but it may take a couple of months for things to be about right. It's a nice place in other ways (rooms, the view, pool), but since it's quite isolated on this part of the island one should think twice about what you're looking for in a visit.

  • Liked — pool, room veranda
  • Disliked — service, lack of shade at pool, beach
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OtisOtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

A girlfriend and I went to Ras Michamvi after a three-day Safari in Selous, Tanzania. This hotel really deserves a look - it is one of the few locally-owned hotels in Zanzibar.. The hotel is approximately 1 hour's drive from the airport and approximately 1 1/2 hours' drive from Stone Town. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the bathrooms are also a great size. Each room has a verandah and a beautiful view of the Indian Ocean. Most mornings at around 7.30am there was a mini parade of monkeys in front of our balcony and whilst lazing at the pool we were also treated to the occasional visit from the colobus monkeys. The pool is large and spectacularly set into the cliff. Coconut Beach is a five-minute walk and also spectacular at high tide. Staff are very courteous and friendly and could not have been more helpful. Snorkelling/boat trips and any other excursions can be organised just by asking at reception. The food was good, if not a little inconsistent. Don't wait until you're hungry to put your order in - the local service isn't quite as speedy as most of us are used to. All in all this hotel is great value for money.

If you're looking for a vibrant night-life then this probably isn't the right place for you but it was great for a relaxing few days just chilling out and soaking up the sun. We would definitely go back.

  • Liked — The staff, the views and excellent value for money
  • Disliked — Inconsistency of the Food, needs a little bit more ambience in the bar/restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ExpatQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
6.2 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
15.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
557 reviews
31.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
446 reviews
15.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
240 reviews
15.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Michamvi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Michamvi Beach Resort

Property: Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Address: P.O. Box 635, Michamvi, Tanzania (Formerly Hotel Ras Michamvi)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
#3 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Michamvi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ras Michamvi with his new Austrian Management!!!our beach hotel on Zanzibar's beautiful east coast, is a little paradise harmoniously set in a large natural area with access to powder-white tropical beaches, gardens, forests and a stunning ocean-front swimming pool.We do Quality, instead of Quantity. And you can feel it... Our aim is to cater to the modern traveler, from Kite surfer to food critic to businessman in need of a free broadband connection and everyone else who simply enjoys quality. 8 rooms with sea view and 7 are with Garden view. Relax at this quiet location, feel the tropical sun and the gentle ocean breeze on your skin, look for shooting stars amongst the thousands of sparkling dots in the sky at night, enjoy the freshest fish and seafood served at our open restaurant under a large Makutti roof, explore the stunning natural wonders of the nearby Jozani Forest-Chwaka Bay Conservation Area - in short: come to Ras Michamvi and discover the magic of Zanzibar! All of our 8 rooms have sea view and 7 rooms have garden view. They are located in 4 bungalows on a coral rock elevation overlooking the beach and the ocean. Our new and modern bungalows are built of stone and have wooden terraces, makuti-style thatched roofs, air conditioning, ceiling fans, mosquito nets, mini-fridges, en-suite bathrooms with shower, bathtub, cold and hot water. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully furnished in local style. Three bungalows have 4 rooms and one bungalow has 3 rooms only. Our restaurant is located on top of the same coral rock elevation as the bungalows - hence you can overlook the beach and sea from the round panoramic open building under a big makuti thatched roof. It is the place where you will start the day with a tropical breakfast including fresh fruits and juice, eggs and different kinds of bread. For lunch and dinner our restaurant offers local and continental dishes. There is also a selection of vegetarian dishes. You can have a romantic candle-light dinner at night and feel the true magic of this place when the moonlight reflects on the gentle waves of the Indian Ocean. From time to time we also arrange barbecues on the beach.Service is our succsess,welcome to the most peaseful place on earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Ras Michamvi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Michamvi Hotel
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing