We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Sands Country Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Blue(Kuruman)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
36
40
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
40
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightgreat stopoveren routeprivate ablutionlast visitfew kilometersclean facilitiesgreat hostsother guestscaravan parkwingshot showercity lifea jokelovely accommodationcamping facilitiessteak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Red Sands Country Lodge is situated in a private game reserve 20km outside Kuruman town. The self catering units are situated on the slope of a small hill that gives wonderful views of the nature and surroundings. In the evening the game come to graze in the fields close to the units. The on-site restaurant is popular and serves very nice food prepared by the chef. Unfortunately as I stayed there as a stop-over I did not have time to enjoy a self-drive game viewing.
Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Unfortunately the warnings in the rooms about criminal activities / petty theft that may occur is hampering total peace-of-mind but helpful to be aware of own safety.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My third time there as a stopover. Always very good, and everytime we had different chalets in different areas. The camping looks very pleasant and popular, allthough u have never used it. The buffet on the Sunday night in the restaurant was excellent

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jossvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is our preferred stop en route to the Kgalagadi and back home to Joburg again. The accommodation is clean, neat and always very welcoming. The restaurant has some very tasty dishes. One of the few buffets that we enjoy with a really yummy variety. We'll return in 2016!

Room Tip: Chalets 6,7 & 8 are lovely. Away from the main grouping and the wildlife walk around in the morning, feels like you really are in the bush.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamcs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stopped over here on way to and back to Augrabies falls . Units were adequate with all basic essentials. The lighting however was not good in any of the rooms because of the strange lampshades. Food was excellent but portions are for the really hungry.Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here on the way to Namibia and then on the way back from Kgalagadi. Both stays were well worth the costs and although the units are very basic, they serve well as a stopover. We found the staff to be friendly and efficient - they even managed to keep an item that we had left behind on the first stay. Wim and Alan are great hosts and the dinners we had were fantastic, especially the game dishes. They also serve a good breakfast which sees you through on the long road ahead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews