We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful place to stay before reaching the Kalahari”
Review of Cunningham Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cunningham Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Kuruman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“what a wonderful place to stay before reaching the Kalahari”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Such a special place wonderful and very friendly owners.

The rooms were lovely, a cosy veranda to sit outside of your room in the early morning, a beautiful and very special garden and terras. The decorations in- and outside were so attractive, beautiful and tasteful.

Breakfast was delicious, we were so happy to have found such a lovely bed and breakfast after a long drive from Joburg and we felt so much at home

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limburg353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

After a long 12 hour drive, we received a very friendly welcome from the owners Bernice & Gert. We were shown to our room which was uniquely and exquistively decorated. Felt like a little piece of home and not just a place to stay at. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. Each room had its own balcony adding to your privacy. We received a lovely hot breakfast, with also the option of cereals, yogurts, muffins, fresh fruit, teas, fruit juice and coffee. You can see that the owners really have your best interest at heart and are there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. This is definitely a place to stay at if you are passing through Kuruman.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

With about an hour's notice we booked our overnight stay. We were warmly welcomed and showed to our room. The interior decor is definitely far above the general B&B, very tasteful with a lot of attention to detail. The tranquil garden and deck added to a very relaxing rest after a long drive. The hearty and stylish served breakfast set us up for the rest of the trip. This was very good value at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Nicely surprised by the tastefully decorated rooms and added touches.
Very comfy bed, great shower and relaxing large corner bath.
Decanter of port in each room is a very homely.
Bernice & her husband were very helpful.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LdeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We were pleasenty surprised when we found this stunning B&B in Kuruman. We are normally not fans of B&B's because we like our privacy and space, but this place offered this and more! The rooms were stunningly decorated and spotless. The bathroom offered a beautiful corner bath, which was such a treat with the complimentary foam bath, and a big shower. They are also very affordable. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurethe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solwezi, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We needed a place to sleep for the night on the way to the Kgalagadi, and followed the signs to this B&B. We almost turned back as you hav to go through quite a run down, old, dodgy looking area. When we persevered on we found the delightful Cunningham cottages and were very surprised.

-Clean, modernly furnished room
- White linen, fluffy pillows and big soft towels (blown away!)
- Small, personal touches that were awesome: sherry in room, toiletries, earbuds etc, complimentary water in fridge. Basically, a lot of attention to detail
- Very reasonable walk in rates (R1400 for 4 people, bed only)

The only small disadvantages
- I felt the area might have been a bit unsafe and the gate was left open all day (though left locked at night). Perhaps Im just used to the big city...
- The room has a security gate though it doesnt actually lock, just closes. So it may be a deterrent but is not very secure. I would not leave anything valuble in the room.

I can highly recommend this place as well as the Kuruman Spur where we found dinner (Absolutley EXCELLENT service and food, as well as management)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuruman
0.7 mi away
The Hedge Guesthouse
The Hedge Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Kuruman
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
#1 of 2 in Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Klipwerf Guest House
Klipwerf Guest House
#6 of 13 in Kuruman
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Linge Guesthouse
#8 of 13 in Kuruman
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Amaziah Guesthouse
#9 of 13 in Kuruman
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kuruman Inn
Kuruman Inn
#2 of 15 in Kuruman
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cunningham Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunningham Cottage

Property: Cunningham Cottage
Address: 24 Cunningham Street, Kuruman 8460, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kuruman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kuruman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cunningham Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CUNNINGHAM COTTAGE WELCOMES YOU! Your hosts, Gert and Bernice Kotze trust that your stay with us will be so enjoyable and comfortable that we will see you again in future. The main stone cottage (hence the name)is residence to the Kotze's and their two Labradors,Bella and Lucca. It also houses the reception/lounge area, as you enter the property. The heart of the cottage boasts a lovely conference room, comfortable for twenty delegates with power points, a screen, flipchart and free wi-fi. It also has a big dining room that opens up to the garden with French doors. Here is an honesty fridge with wine, malt and soft drinks for the enjoyment of our guests. The property has a lovely garden for guests to unwind and enjoy. It has an abundance of water with the overflow of the Eye (the miracle fountain that provides the town with water ) that forms a rivulet and two cement canals that run through it. A splash pool on deck, outside sitting and dining area are a welcome treat after a day's weary travel or hard work. The property is fenced and an automatic entrance and exit gate makes it a safe haven and secure parking for guests on the property. Cunningham cottage is an evolving concern with warm hospitality the major objective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cunningham Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing