We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cunningham Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cunningham Cottage
Ranked #1 of 12 Kuruman B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

One of the most comfortable and tasteful B&B in the countryside. Breakfast was 5 star. Another plus was that we had inter leading rooms with the children. The owner manager is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This hard-to-find B&B, due to missing road signs in a dubiously looking neighborhood, is easily worth the wrong road turns. The pleasant, open garden with its own irrigation channel, the spacious and comfortable sitting and dining area, and friendly service in an otherwise chaotic village makes this an oasis in the Highveld plateau. Beautifully appointed rooms guarantee a very comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We loved every moment that we spent at Cunningham Cottages. Bernice has decorated the cottages with love and passion and a great eye for detail.She even tracked down corn cakes for me because she knew that I an gluten intolerant.
If you are in Kuruman stay here - you will be thoroughly spoilt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveM704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Such a special place wonderful and very friendly owners.

The rooms were lovely, a cosy veranda to sit outside of your room in the early morning, a beautiful and very special garden and terras. The decorations in- and outside were so attractive, beautiful and tasteful.

Breakfast was delicious, we were so happy to have found such a lovely bed and breakfast after a long drive from Joburg and we felt so much at home

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limburg353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

After a long 12 hour drive, we received a very friendly welcome from the owners Bernice & Gert. We were shown to our room which was uniquely and exquistively decorated. Felt like a little piece of home and not just a place to stay at. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. Each room had its own balcony adding to your privacy. We received a lovely hot breakfast, with also the option of cereals, yogurts, muffins, fresh fruit, teas, fruit juice and coffee. You can see that the owners really have your best interest at heart and are there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. This is definitely a place to stay at if you are passing through Kuruman.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

With about an hour's notice we booked our overnight stay. We were warmly welcomed and showed to our room. The interior decor is definitely far above the general B&B, very tasteful with a lot of attention to detail. The tranquil garden and deck added to a very relaxing rest after a long drive. The hearty and stylish served breakfast set us up for the rest of the trip. This was very good value at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Nicely surprised by the tastefully decorated rooms and added touches.
Very comfy bed, great shower and relaxing large corner bath.
Decanter of port in each room is a very homely.
Bernice & her husband were very helpful.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LdeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuruman
1.2 mi away
Klipwerf Guest House
Klipwerf Guest House
#5 of 12 in Kuruman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
63.5 mi away
Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
#1 of 2 in Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amaziah Guesthouse
Amaziah Guesthouse
#8 of 12 in Kuruman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Linge Guesthouse
#7 of 12 in Kuruman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kuruman Inn
Kuruman Inn
#6 of 10 in Kuruman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cunningham Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunningham Cottage

Property: Cunningham Cottage
Address: 24 Cunningham Street, Kuruman 8460, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kuruman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kuruman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cunningham Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cunningham Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing