We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to feel like 2nd class Citizens”
Review of Bowes House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowes House
Ranked #1 of 2 Mosterton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at Bowes House in August, all started well but did not last long.I feel that the B&B Service given is now tired and worn out.
Despite old revues being good we did not see any good service on our trip unfortunately we stayed for too many days.

We were made to feel awkward every day asking on a daily basis for the basics like butter, milk and cutlery on the table. Some people may like Rhubarb for breakfast every morning but I like to have a change every other day and after 4 mornings enough is enough.

I would also expect that during the 4 Days stay the towels would get changed at least once and the room tidied, this did not happen.

I would expect better from cleanliness as the dining room had cat hairs on the table, the carpet was soiled by animals and every chair smelt of animals.

We were ignored when other visitors turned up for one night and also received a non polite note asking us to turn off lights because one night we arrived back at 10:00 pm!!

We stay at Organic B&B several times a year and I can honestly say that this for Attitude and lack of Service comes top of the list.

Your choice but think carefully before spending your money at Bowes house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at Bowes House, I was most surprised to read your review as you had given no indication of not being happy whilst you were with us. We do have pets and usually these are kept out of the guest sitting/dining room, on this occasion as your daughter was so fond of them I allowed them to come in so I am very sorry if there was pet hair on the table. I was most apologetic at the time about forgetting various items on the table but as I explained I had just got back from our family summer holiday and was not fully back in the swing of it all. We don't clean/tidy rooms or change towels on stays of less than 6 days but would have changed towels happily if you had asked. In general we consider the rooms to be the guests own private space whilst in residence. I take on board all your comments and we will endeavour to improve our standards in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

We received a very warm welcome from Lisa, and had a fantastic bedroom, with biggest bath we have seen in a long time, and views over the valleys that were wonderful. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the morning with freshly picked raspberries and yoghurt, and kippers, which were very moreish.
We wished we could have stayed longer, and this is an ideal place to stay to enjoy Beaminster, eating at Wild Garlic, and visiting Mapperton House and Gardens, which our hostess recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for douible room with large ensuite bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our five days at Bowes House were wonderful. Lisa pays scrupulous attention to the finest details, but also manages to be relaxed and welcoming. The organic breakfasts were delicious, with home made yoghurt and preserves; bacon and sausages from their own pigs (the latter also home made); and eggs collected from the hens in the field beyond the gate. The room - the Blue Room - was pretty and extremely comfortable, with a large bathroom. The beautiful views from our window were accross the sweeping valley between Mosterton and Winyard's Gap and the delightful garden was a perfect place to enjoy our welcoming pot of leaf tea and home-made cake. The walks from the house are both interesting and beautiful, such as an eleven mile ridge walk around Beaminster, which ended back at Bowes House with that glorious tea. Plenty of good eating places are nearby providing evening meals too. Near to the Jurassic coast and many sites of historic interest, this was the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aelred4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We were made very welcome, and Lisa took the time to give us some local knowledge, with suggestions of places to see and happily loaned us maps.

Very enjoyable stay with large comfortable room for three nights, but could well have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This is our second visit to Bowes House situated on the edge of Mosterton Village and we have found it a very comfortable and quiet place to stay. The two main bedrooms (both en suite) are comfortable and spacious with lovely views across the countryside. Breakfast is delicious with local produce. The only drawback is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom, but we were offered a drink when we came in late afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

What a wonderful B&B! We were delighted with the spacious, beautifully decorated Blue Room, the comfy bed, delicious breakfast and great location. However what made our stay extra special was Lisa and her family's ability to make us feel completely at home. Hard to imagine a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardhywel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

What a lucky find. Lisa, Jeremy and their boys are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they made us feel welcome and at home straight away. Our bedroom was huge, beautifully furnished and the ensuite was to die for - some of the old books were very tempting too! Breakfast was a feast with home made jams, yoghurt and fresh eggs and we were offered mutliple cups of tea and coffee whenever we appeared.

The location is quite quiet - unless someone upsets the geese, that is, right at the end of a narrow lane. The country surrounds you and the beauty of this part of Dorset is well worth a visit. We will definitely be back some time if only to see if Lisa finished the knitting!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoxwoodLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bowes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowes House

Address: Bowes House Bowes Lane | Mosterton, Beaminster, Mosterton DT8 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Mosterton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mosterton
Price Range: £64 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run B and B in quiet location with stunning views in an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Twin and double room with ensuite showers and bathrooms. Organic/ local and homemade produce for breakfast. Sitting room with TV etc and large garden. Lovely walking country. Coast 20 mins. Close to Devon and Somerset borders. Great for exploring the West Country, Jurassic coast, West Bay, the home of Broadchurch, wonderful local food and pubs, superb walking on many long distance trails. Visit Lyme Regis to hunt for fossils, Weymouth - the home of the Olympic sailing, Monkey world, The tank museum, Fleet Air arm museum, the homes of Thomas Hardye in Dorchester, Athelhampton house. Go karting at Clay Hill, learn to shoot at The Tunnel, walk with Donkeys or Llamas! 5 minutes Crewkerne station with free pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bowes House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowes House Mosterton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing