We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Uppingham B&B and Inns
1 review
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Recently stayed in the crown uppingham. What can I say? The place was fantastic. Clean rooms, excellent customer service, especially from Simon, he was very attentive and polite. Nice to see someone go the extra mile. The breakfast was fantastic in the morning. Would highly recommend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonhallem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
9
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Friendly pub atmospheres, excellent beer, room at the top (probably part of the old attic) with exposed beams, lovely bedding and en-suite. Had a long week and slept solid til 10am which (apologies to the very nice landlady) meant I missed breakfast previously booked for approx 8am grrrr.

Room Tip: I would certainly head for the top floor room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

my sister arranged a birthday surprise for me, we went to the theatre prior to going to the Crown Inn, my sister had advised them we would be late check in. the person who was supposedly greeting us, kept saying we were lucky as she was about to go to bed, and she hadn't looked at the computer today so didn't know she had anyone coming, she supposedly runs this business! the room was cramped, the breakfast was greasy I had a large full English which consisted of one extra egg and one extra piece of bacon as compared to the small full English, breadful place, would not recommend it all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stohrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Uppingham hotels

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I understand it recently changed management and having stayed before it is now awful. It is a pub that does B&B but with this in mind I could recommend it to anyone. Room 7 is sold as a double room but is tiny. It is possible to walk around the bed, just, but this is with half of one of the wardrobe doors being fixed so as to allow room for a table. The bed has ends and as a consequence proved too short for my 6ft frame. Outlook from the window was a brick wall approx. 10ft away. Breakfast consisted of poor quality poorly ingredients, cooked equally poorly. This is the last review I will be writing on the Crown as I will never be staying there again. Only gets away with charging what it does because Uppingham lacks a budget hotel; but my choice next time will be to pay more and at least enjoy some quality.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here then ask for a top floor room (stair access only) as those on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Good to tell got new tenants rooms up graded with new soft furnishings to high standards great to be able to have breakfast from 7am with local fresh products would will be coming back keep up the great work done so far sorry have put bad swimming pool when you don't have onr

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison- B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I popped in for a drink in this lovely venue, a real gem. Real ales were brilliant Darren said but I walked to the ladies and there was a stench of urine, perhaps some extractors are needed!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gillian1107rut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tass99onhols
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Bedroom was warm and cosy with plenty of tea / coffee etc. with a teapot great..! Tea plates, with knife, fresh biscuits, wrapped mints,and bottled water. Toiletries, sewing kit,and sealed eye make- up remover pads,nail file and ear buds pouches. Nice touch, thank you! On our arrival Beth shown us where to park and to our room, promptly. The bed is awful though !!!! It's Too low and woke you up every time you moved on it because creaked. The room was clean and fresh as was the rest of the building.
The food was tasty and good value, breakfast was cooked perfectly and then served with a smile.
The evening meals we enjoyed on both nights of our stay, same quality as breakfast, the young guy at the bar who took our order on Sat. night and served us our meal with a smile, he was very pleasant and helpful. 10/10 to him and the chef. We were left to come and go as we pleased.

Room Tip: Our room was warm and cosy, room 4 ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uppingham
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Garden Hotel, Uppingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel
1.2 mi away
Marquess of Exeter Hotel
Marquess of Exeter Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: 19 High Street East, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Uppingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Uppingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Uppingham, Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing