We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Uppingham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kazblue
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The house was perfect for the 6 of us. Very well equipped kitchen and the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time! Walk in shower was fab and it was a shame I never got to try the roll top bath. Location is excellent with all amenities available in the town, great pubs and restaurants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Corner House, and found everything so satisfactory, it is always good to have feedback.
It was a pleasure having you to stay, you will just have to book again so you can enjoy the Roll-top bath and Uppingham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Many thanks for your descriptive and glowing review. We are so pleased that you all had a good time and the Corner House lived up to your expectations.
Looking forward to you coming to stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Explorati...
1 review
“Clean and tidy and plenty of space”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Ideally located for fisherman and plenty to look at uppingham the rental has everything you could wish for

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Really pleased that you found The Corner House Ideally located for fishing and you had everything you could wish for.
Yes Uppingham has plenty to offfer.
With thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueDTetbu...
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eclectic and a bit quirky. Close to town.”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house had everything we needed. It was within easy walking distance to the town and a 15 minute drive to Rutland Water. The house lacked a bit of TLC. The kettle leaked badly and we could not work the TV in the master bedroom and the sticking doors in the kitchen dresser drove me insane.

Booking was very easy and Simon and Laura were very efficient.

Many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Many thanks Sue for your review, e mail and Guest comment card, we are pleased that overall you had a lovely stay at the Corner House.
Yes the 3 sliding doors in the Victorian dresser do have character and an order of opening, we do waxed them to hopefully ease any problems, as they are part of the feel and fabric of the Victorian House we are loathed to change them.
Sorry about the kettle, now been changed, as I mentioned in my e mail the TV in the master bedroom does need the FreeView box to be turned on, perhaps we should make that clearer.
As we love the house we do try to put as much TLC into the house as possible, we are pleased that the booking was easy and many thanks for Efficiency praise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Corner House is ideally located in Uppingham and really gorgeous. Clean, spacious, a very nice landlord. We'll surely be back (soon).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Many thanks for a great review, so pleased that you & family enjoyed the Corner House and the Rutland area. Hopefully we will see you again soon? It was a pleasure having you as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideally located home from home”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Superbly situated Victorian town house with lovely period features. This house is practical and has everything you need for a break away whilst managing to feel very homely. Spacious and well equipped. Recently refurbished bathroom with beautiful stand alone bath and a powerful shower.
The house is right in the centre of Uppingham and a stone's throw from Rutland Water so we managed to not have to get in a car for our whole trip. I would recommend walking to Wing Hall and hiring bikes there to go on to cycle around Rutland Water- a great day out. Uppingham itself is lovely with lots of nice places to eat and drink.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thanks for such a great review, so pleased that you may come back and stay again in the future!
You and your friends were lovely, interesting guests to have staying in our holiday let & we really appreciated the respect you gave our Victorian house. It is also gratifying to know you found it spacious and well equipped, and a homely place to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thanks for such a great review, so pleased that you may come back and stay again in the future! Great guests to have staying in our holiday let & we really appreciated the respect you gave our Victorian house. It is also gratifying to know you found it spacious and well equipped, and a warm homely place to stay."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing