We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

A lunchtime stop here was well worth it. Sitting in the garden with it's fantastic views of Rutland water is wonderful, especially with a jug of Pimms. We had triple decker sandwiches which were very nice with a side of big chunky chips. A great place to relax on a beautiful day.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Janieb292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in a comfortable double room - with a balcony overlooking the lake (covered in tree droppings which should have been swept as we could not help walking back into the room and staining the already stained carpet. the quality of the furnishing were a bit tired and the cushion cover on the bed had some awful stains on. The towels were of mixed quality some good and some not. Could have been much better given that we paid over a hundred pounds a night.
The food was good - wedding Reception
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dramaqueen1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice hotel in scenic setting plenty off parking ,friendly staff ,nice rooms bit outdated but pleasant would recommend for a quiet retreat .Will be defiantly go back great walks around the lake and great views from the room over looking the lake .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked three nights for a leisure break and had a very enjoyable time. The immediate setting and its close surrounds are very pleasing, and a wedding photographers dream. If you feel the need to move about then there are activities linked to the lake as well as pleasant visits to nearby Stamford, Oakham, and many small villages. There is a good sized car park such that there should be no difficulty in finding a space at any time during your stay, a major plus when compared to many other hotels.

As you might expect, there are options re rooms and cost - we chose one of the better rooms and if your stay is for leisure, pleasure and rest then the additional cost is probably worth it.

The hotel personnel include a good variety of individuals, which is welcome, and they are friendly even when they are not engaged on duties requiring customer interaction. Although the manner of one of the waiters can seem abrupt we soon felt assured that it is just that, a mannerism, and not an indication that he dislikes customers! Food standards, preparation, presentation, and room ambience were all good whether consumed in the conservatory overlooking the lake, or in the restaurant within the old building with its wooden beams and exposed brickwork and stone, or in the comfortable lounge areas for bar meals. Restaurant prices are not low but individually are OK for what is on offer and served. However, what is missing from a customer perspective is a combined price for two or three courses to cap the overall spend. Drinks, of wine or lager or soft drinks or coffee (including Irish coffees), were very competitively priced.

There are many significant positives re choosing to stay at Normanton Park. The lesser negatives we found included the pricing structure of evening restaurant meals (but you do not have to have them!), waiting staff preference for seating customers at adjacent tables rather than making more use of the total space available, some minor housekeeping issues that could easily be overcome by simple effective systems, and an overall set up that is so relaxed that it fails on some obvious basics, e.g. putting up the umbrellas in the garden before customers ask for them (and thereby advertising what is on offer), having the turnkey readily available to operate the umbrellas, putting some simple information cards (especially for non-residents) on the garden tables re, for example, noting table numbers before going to order and stating where to order, checking and replacing failed light bulbs (two in our room!), telling customers where breakfast is being served (and it sometimes changes because of a function), and poorly stocked leaflet information on local attractions.

Lack of attention to simple basics can be irritating to customers who have not had time to fully relax to the same level as prevails at Normanton Park. A booster injection of professional but sympathetic management could benefit both the fortunes of the establishment and the experiences of customers.

We left after three days feeling pleasantly relaxed as we rejoined the battle on the local roads that, bizarrely, seem to unduly attract motorists on a mission. Perhaps they need to spend three days.... at Normanton Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Quite simply........Excellent.
Attending my son's wedding on Saturday 14th June was a absolutely wonderful experience.
We arrived on the Friday and booked into a fantastic room overlooking the reservoir.
The duty manager 'Wayne' and his staff were very welcoming and nothing was ever to much trouble for them. As for the wedding day, well here goes. Excellent food cooked to perfection. The food arrived on time and was served by pleasant and attentive staff. The day was a success on all levels and i would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding or short stay holiday.
I would like to say a BIG THANKYOU to you all for such a great experience.

Room Tip: Go for the Lake view room with french windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithlilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it a very peaceful setting with very helpful staff. We ate there on the 1st night and found the food to be very good. My husband had fillet steak which he said was excellent and I had calves liver which although not to everyone's taste, I found to be the best I'd had and I try this everywhere where it's on the menu. We would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went here with a groupon voucher this week and were quite disappointed. We had afternoon tea and it was very average. The cakes tasted shop bought and were not very nice. The scone was quite nice but came with a very small amount of jam and clotted cream. The sandwiches were just plain cheese, ham, beef and tuna. I would have been very disappointed if i had paid full price. However the service was good and the location amazing. We will definitely return on a summers day to enjoy the gorgeous views of Rutland water, although just for a drink.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kirsty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normanton
2.6 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
902 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
4.8 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Normanton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Normanton Park Hotel

Address: Normanton LE15 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Normanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Price Range: £69 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Normanton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is situated in the picturesque county of Rutland, Leicestershire. Standing majestically next to the shores of Rutland Water, only 8 miles from the market town of Oakham, it offers easy access from the A1 and M1. This is the perfect venue for your leisure break, all your functions, meetings and events. The hotel is close to business centres and local attractions including the Great Hall of Oakham Castle, Rockingham Racetrack, Burghley House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Normanton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakham
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing