We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Reviewed 25 August 2014

On the 23rd of August, we booked a room for one night. The time on arrival was 3 pm to book in, when we arrived we booked ourselves in and was told our room was called Clipsham., we thought brilliant and made our way to the room only to find out that the door was ajar, we entered thinking everything was ok but we was amazed to find that our room hadn't been cleaned, there was un cleaned cups, bottles, wet and used towels and dirty bed sheets. My partner went straight to the receptionist to find out what is going on, the reply was that she was sorry and the cleaning staff are still doing the rounds and that our room would be ready in a small period of time, an hour later we was still waiting around which was such an inconvenience. would I go again? No, not to Normanton park hotel but to another, as the scenery was quite something.
Considering the hotel is a Best Western the breakfast service needs to be improved as we was waiting around for the toast after we asked twice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi292014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed just one night on 23rd August. We had a very large room with a beautiful lake view from the French doors which opened on to a "pretend" balcony but you could sit in the room and feel you were outside. The room was large with a 4 poster bed but we were quoted a much lower price than the tarrif suggests. The bathroom was a decent size with a bath and shower and well equipped with towels and toiletries. An added bonus was a very nice snack meal prepared for us by the Manager himself (the kitchen was closed) and brought to our room and yes, Mr Manager, we did think you had fine culinary skills and were very grateful to you. The reception staff were professional, friendly and very helpful. The location on the edge of the lake was great and we do plan to return for a longer break. We would recommend the hotel to you without reservation.

Room Tip: Try the Teigh Suite upstairs. Very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank walden47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We only stayed one night as the hotel was very busy so think you need to book well in advance. We were lucky with a cancelation. Location great it is right on the lake, lovely breakfast, comfy rooms with all mod cons. The shower was great a real power shower and nice and hot. We did the cycle track the following day which is right outside their back gate.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back overlooking the lake, very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAllsopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great venue for a wedding, lovely rooms and great views. Limited rooms so book early! Breakfast ok, but overall a nice stay. I'd recommend booked a named room rather than the numbered ones as they are much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank beccy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a groupon deal for luch and a glass of wine. We both had a glass of merlot, normally £4.95 a glass, which was nice. I had smoked haddock fish cakes £11.95 and my partner had the special beef burger, £12.50 both were very substantial, especially the burger. My fish cakes were so crispy on the outside but lovely and fluffy on the inside. My partners burger was home made and we were both so full we couldn't manage a pudding, hopefully next time.
People sitting outside were ordering sandwiches which looked amazing, and were priced around £6, next time we are walking / cycling the Rutland water circuit we will definitely call in for one.
Will recommend and would love to return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheilz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location, on arrival greeted by friendly staff. Unfortunately our room had a nasty stain in the door way and was not very clean so we asked to be moved. Found a pub in the next village so did not eat in the hotel and after reading other reviews glad we chose the pub. Breakfast was very good but staff unfriendly and did not understand simple requests.

Room Tip: Had a court yard room originally the stable block as we had our dog with us which did not have the a...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 10Hayley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Leonard E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normanton
2.6 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
890 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Normanton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Normanton Park Hotel

Address: Normanton LE15 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Normanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Price Range: £71 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Normanton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is situated in the picturesque county of Rutland, Leicestershire. Standing majestically next to the shores of Rutland Water, only 8 miles from the market town of Oakham, it offers easy access from the A1 and M1. This is the perfect venue for your leisure break, all your functions, meetings and events. The hotel is close to business centres and local attractions including the Great Hall of Oakham Castle, Rockingham Racetrack, Burghley House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Normanton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakham
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing