We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”

Jackson Stops Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stretton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a family run country inn , providing excellent food and friendly relaxed service in comfortable surroundings using fresh local produce wherever possible, from lighter bites to full a la carte. Michelin recommended. Children's menu always available, Dog friendly in bar area.
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our group visited the Inn on a Saturday evening to celebrate the writers forthcoming 60th birthday. We arrived on time, and our welcome was efficient and friendly. Our drinks order was taken, and brought quickly, and we ordered from the menu. About 15 minutes later as our first drinks were nearly finished, we were shown to our table, and our starters were served. We were asked if we wanted wine with our meal (we didn't) but before we could say that we did want another round of drinks from the bar, the waiter disappeared. Two of us had starters, and these were excellent. When our main courses arrived, we asked the waitress for another round of drinks, which order was acknowledged, but sadly these were some 20 minutes in arriving. Three out of the four main courses ranged from good to excellent, but my own steak was medium as opposed to rare as requested, but the main issue was that it was extremely tough. It was the worst and most expensive steak I'd had for a long time. I did not bring this to the attention of the management at the time, partly as it was difficult to attract attention, and partly because I put it down to just bad luck. However, another diner was overheard to say that her steak was tough also. I resolved to email the resuarant later, just to point out the situation, however there is no email contact available on the website. We all had deserts, which were excellent.

We would probably have had four rounds of drinks if the staff had been on hand to summons to take our orders, but the service wasn't slick enough by some distance, so we only had two rounds, and left almost as thirsty as we arrived, and on the whole disappointed with the experience, and £150 lighter in pocket for the two couples.

Some of the food was exquisite, but there are lessons to be learned for the management from our experience. Our lesson is, sadly, that we will take some convincing before we visit again as average is not good enough for the amount expended, with fierce competition within 2 miles.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Southlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPRlincs, Owner at Jackson Stops Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
Firstly, we are sorry you didn't get a quick enough response to your drinks request. We are a very busy restaurant, Saturdays being the busiest of the week, as most restaurants. We do ask every table about their food and if it was alright, if you had mentioned your steak was tough we could have easily changed your order, if we do not know we can not act on it. A fillet steak is only £24.95 for 10oz and cheaper than a lot of restaurants in the area. If we are made aware of a celebration we always put a special indoor firework candle in the dessert.
Summoning staff is a rather offensive way of asking for some service, we do always try to be aware of our customers needs and are sorry you felt ignored. At £150 for 4, two & three course meals plus drinks we feel £37.50 per person with fillet steaks, starters & desserts plus drinks, our prices are correct in today's market place.
We acknowledge and appreciate the 75% positive remarks about your evening.
If you would like a cheaper evening, we do offer on a Monday to Friday a 5oz Fillet steak or 6oz Sirloin steak - Garni for £14.95, with a complimentary glass of wine, should you wish to try us again,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 265 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Been here, many times and never had a bad meal, in fact some of the best food i have eaten out !! had sunday lunch last week and have to say it was superb, i am a chef my self and i am so often disappointed,every course was faultless just really great food , well done guys ..lorraine borderville guest house stamford

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CasaLoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I booked a table for a Saturday evening which was a birthday meal celebration. I have been to the Jackson Stops before so knew generally what to expect and I live locally so know what the competition delivers. I felt the starters were seriously overpriced , my husbands asparagus dish was nearly £8.00 but sadly we both felt it was not worth it.There was a fly buzzing round our table throughout the meal which the waitress did comment on but no action was taken and to be honest it spoilt our evening. The main courses were pleasant but not outstanding. We enjoyed the meal but the bill with wine came to nearly £100.00 .I do not feel that the meal we had was worth the amount we paid, I have paid similar amounts locally for a much better meal and left feeling very disappointed. There is so much quality competition locally ,they seriously need to up their game to keep repeat customers..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPRlincs, Owner at Jackson Stops Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry your husband did not enjoy his first course, we have lots of very favourable comments about this starter, as its is all produced locally, bringing local eggs & British local asparagus to the plate.
With reference to the fly, please may we point out that this is a rural location and from time to time we do have the odd fly; As you will appreciate it is not appropriate to spray fly killer over tables whilst people are eating and swatting a fly is an impossible task during an evening service.
We were upset to learn you had not informed us of your celebration, as if we had known a candle would have been appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We went to this pub twice for a meal while we were on holiday at Stretton Lakes. Fabulous food, very friendly staff, really nice atmosphere. We will definitely be back very soon.

Thank AllyBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I booked for lunch here, having read good reviews. We were seated for lunch in the small dining area which, sadly, for what could be an intimate space, lacks ambience and looked and felt tired. The lunch menu, though reasonably priced and varied, lacked originality and also seemed dated. Portion size was inconsistent; my roast chicken supreme was a hefty plateful, whilst my husband's "pasta of the day" would have served as a generous starter. Fortunately, he was able to eat the chicken that defeated me. The quality of the food was adequate rather than inspiring.

Service could best be described as "flaky": no cutlery with which to eat our main course; the waitress asking for our desert choices before providing the menu; slightly "off" humour. Some serious training needed in this department.

The Jackson Stops sits within an area well-populated with pub/restaurant eateries and for a similar cost, much better food, ambience and service can be found at the Olive Branch (just down the road at Clipsham), the Red Lion at Stathern or the Wheel at Branston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPRlincs, Owner at Jackson Stops Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We feel this review is from a trade professional and very bias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jackson Stops Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Stops Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing