We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Terrible experience”
Review of The Old Bell Hotel

The Old Bell Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bell Hotel
Reviewed 30 August 2011

For the price, the rooms are not of a standard i would expect, more hostel room. The windows are single glazed and adding the noise from the bar guests outside, its loud until you call the bar and tell them to tell the people be shut up. shower was leaking all over the floor, room cold, bedding terrible, walls paper thin. We could hear a conversation like it was in the room. only stayed there as it was close to eveny we attended. will never stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank TroublePunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towin, Manager at The Old Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

The Old Bell Hotel was completely refurbished in November 2011, with all of the guest rooms being converted into mini-suites comprising a living room and separate bedroom with ensuite bathroom facilities - ideal for families or for longer stays. All of the issues that are mentioned in this and other reviews have now been resolved, and we look forward to welcoming guests back to our newly renovated property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

After a visit at the Arthur Findlay college we booked this hotel for my family just for one night to get some rest for the way home to the Netherlands. Booked by the WWW 3 months in advance.
At arrival the we were welcomed by a very friendly young man who showed us the way to our room. It was surprisingly big for us 4!! Not all new but all the necessary things were there.
Breakfast at sunday at 8.00 AM was special. We (Dutch) are not used to a real English breakfast. We ate a little and at the time we were checking out we got a very nice expierience!!!! Breakfast wasn't charged because we ate so little!!!

Being Dutch(LOL) you understand we will visit The Old Bell again if we are near of course.
Conclusion: Very satisfied!

Greetings from Fam van der Kraats Twello Netherlands

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanderKraats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

i came to travel from stansted. really small and over priced. my friends managed to stay closer to the airport, after visiting them i felt silly. they paid less for so much more. the locals pub had very limited food, i felt lost. managed to get to the airport, no shuttle service, taxis was late and tryed to over charge me, i needed to check in online but no service available, was therefore charged at airport extra 40 pounds. I am coming back to stansted this week again, and remebered my nightmare. i will never go the this bell hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chennia_IndiaBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Although the landlord could not do enough to help with lifts into town and the airport the place is very tired and dirty, I also believe the landlord is leaving at the end of the month so god knows what will happen then.

We never ate there as they now only do bar meals so ate in town and we left to early for breakfast so cannot comment on the food. The hotel / pub badly needs updating as one of our rooms had no heating so we had to ask for an electric fire to which the first one did not even work.

I wouldn't stay there again unless there was a huge improvment

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank kft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I stayed here with friends for a single night before departing from Stansted the next day. The hotel is ideally situated for Stansted airport.

The rooms themselves are separated from the main pub/restaurant building in a courtyard style next to the car park. As a result, they were set back from the road and extremely quiet and pleasant to sleep in.

The rooms are basic, with comfortable beds and clean bedding. There was a TV, tea and coffee and a hairdryer. Despite being quite outdated, the general condition of the room was excellent. The bathroom had a powerful hot shower (over bathtub) and good ventilation. There were no towels in the room - but I am confident they would have been provided if we had asked.

The people were fantastic - we were invited into the pub for drinks, food and a pub quiz. The owners arranged for our airport transfer in the early hours of the morning, facilitated car parking whilst we were out of the country and also picked us up on our return.

A great price for what we got and somewhere I would definitely consider for flying from Stansted again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnjohnjohnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

For the last three years my partner has stayed here, before flying to or from Standsted. My partner and I stayed twice once before and once after our holiday. The owners were really friendly, Keith dropped us at airport and was waiting for us to pick us up at about 0030 in good humour and being the nice Essex guy he is. Dinner and breakfast were great, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is comfy, clean but tired but it does not pretend that it is a first class hotel and the prices reflect this and are very reasonable. It is not on the flightpath, and car parking is cheap, covered by cameras, well lit and on site. so it is a really good place to stay for a early flight or a late night arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weary_travelerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My wife and I and four friends stayed here one Saturday night. The rooms are tired (typical of what I used to expect from British B & Bs 30/40 years ago) although the beds were comfortable and clean. I could hear the person above every time she move and one friend was disturbed through a long night by the sexual activity in the room below her. On Sunday the breakfast was not good. I opted for full English minus beans and wished that I had also had minus the tinned tomatoes, ‘fried’ bread soaked in much used fat, and fat saturated hash brown. One friend had only egg and bacon and had made a good choice. The worst aspect of this place was that they took our credit card details when we reserved, and we discovered them in a manually maintained reservations book left open and unattended at reception when we arrived. Any one could have accessed our details including the security code.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandTuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted Mountfitchet
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,925 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,280 reviews
4.7 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
554 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chimneys Guest House
Chimneys Guest House
#2 of 7 in Stansted Mountfitchet
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Hotel

Address: The Old Bell Pines Hill, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bell Hotel is a charming 15th Century Tudor Inn located in the picturesque Essex village of Stansted Mountfitchet - only a 10 minute drive from London Stansted Airport.The hotel accommodation, bar and dining room were completely renovated in November 2011, with all rooms having been converted into stylish mini-suites - perfect for family use or extended stays. A comtemporary bar menu is provided seven days a week, with traditional Sunday lunch available at the weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bell London
The Old Bell Hotel Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing