We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I relied one these other reviews and was sorely disappointed”
Review of The Old Bell Hotel

The Old Bell Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bell Hotel
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“I relied one these other reviews and was sorely disappointed”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My wife and I and four friends stayed here one Saturday night. The rooms are tired (typical of what I used to expect from British B & Bs 30/40 years ago) although the beds were comfortable and clean. I could hear the person above every time she move and one friend was disturbed through a long night by the sexual activity in the room below her. On Sunday the breakfast was not good. I opted for full English minus beans and wished that I had also had minus the tinned tomatoes, ‘fried’ bread soaked in much used fat, and fat saturated hash brown. One friend had only egg and bacon and had made a good choice. The worst aspect of this place was that they took our credit card details when we reserved, and we discovered them in a manually maintained reservations book left open and unattended at reception when we arrived. Any one could have accessed our details including the security code.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandTuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
7
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Had this hotel recommended by a taxi driver following a disasterous stay at another local place. Couldn't believe how reasonable their rates were so was a bit dubious before we stayed. Keith, Cat and the rest of the staff were absolutely brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a comfortable stay in a large room with en-suite and had a scrummy breakfast the next morning. We parked our car free-of-charge for 16 days, Keith drove us to Stansted airport for our flight and collected us promptly upon our return, all this was included in the price...amazing! Couldn't fault our stay at all. Would highly recommend this hotel for any traveller wishing to park and fly at an exceptionally reasonable rate. The rooms need some updating which Keith freely admits, but what the rooms lack in luxury is more than compensated by friendly and helpful owners and staff and refurbishment is in the future plans for this great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentLassKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Worried about traffic noise but unfounded as the rooms are very quiet although maybe in need of a little refurbishment. Room clean and bed very comfortable with ensuite bathroom. The owners, Mandy and Keith, are extremely friendly and helpful. Keith drove us to Stansted and promptly collected us a couple of hours later as we were caught up in the volcanic ash issue. We did not use the restaurant but were advised by other residentsthat the food is very good. We would definitely book this hotel again prior to flying from Stansted.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed here with large mixed group going to stansted airport for weekend trip, checked in very freindly and we had breakfast in the morning (great) toured the village in the afternoon (lovely area and freindly) went back to the hotel had a few drinks and watched the live football on 1 of 3 flat screens, great local atmosphere , went back to the rooms to freshen up and had the evening meal (top chef) menu was so mixed and plenty of choice even had spanish dishes on there .
I would reconmend this to all ages, they even have events and evening entertainment on @ the weekend and during the week they have deals on the food side.
Keith and mandy were very helpful and gave us all (17) a courtesy lift to and from the airport .

THANKYOU TO ALL OF YOU @ THE OLD BELL HOTEL
See ya all again soon ..x

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebor0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I ate here on Sunday with my daughter and the food was fabulous. The service was friendly and quick, with special attention to my little girl's request! The chef is obviously a cut well above the average pub-food provider, and the price was very reasonable for what we got. The coffee was lovely too.

I would highly reccomend this restaurant to anyone looking for a place to have a relaxing lunch or dinner, hold an event, or just stop for coffee, it's a gem. There's also plenty of parking and a separate front bar so if you are bringing children you aren't disturbed by the drinking crowd, but if you came with friends for an evening out without the kids you could slip through for a drink after your meal as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kincsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We found this place by accident and were knocked out by the friendliness of everyone we met there. Nothing was too much trouble, and everything anyone could want was supplied. Big bathroom with a bath and shower, comfortable bed, kettle and TV, wi-fi in the bar...
...and food there, too.
Just about to book another short break, must try to remember that a single portion of food feeds two!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlesey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We booed this hotel as we were going to a wedding near by & this hotel was the cheapest & nearest. When we 1st saw the hotel I was a bit worried, from the road it looks very shabby but once you turn into the car park it is a lot better, the whole exterior could do with a good spruce up though. No one was on reception but we easily found someone in the bar to check us in. The rooms were surprisingly big, a bit dated but clean & the bed was very comfy. I rang during the day to ask what time the restaurant was open as we wanted to eat that evening before going out & I was told 7pm for the restaurant & 6.30 for bar food but when we asked for a menu we were told that they weren't serving food as they had a private function on, this was a bit annoying as I had rang to check 1st & there is not much else nearby to eat. We returned back after the wedding at about 12.30am & didn't think we'd be able to get a drink, however the private party was in full swing & as we were guests we were able to drink too which for us was very good! They had a late bar & in the end think we got to bed at 3am! This was good for us but if you had wanted to go to bed I would of imagined it would of been very noisy, however, this was probably a one off so don't let that put you off. We didn't make breakfast due to the late night so can't comment on that. Again at check out we couldn't find anyone but eventually someone turned up. None of the problems bothered us & we had a great stay & if it was updated a bit I think it would be even better.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiz1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted Mountfitchet
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Hotel

Property: The Old Bell Hotel
Address: The Old Bell Pines Hill, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bell Hotel is a charming 15th Century Tudor Inn located in the picturesque Essex village of Stansted Mountfitchet - only a 10 minute drive from London Stansted Airport.The hotel accommodation, bar and dining room were completely renovated in November 2011, with all rooms having been converted into stylish mini-suites - perfect for family use or extended stays. A comtemporary bar menu is provided seven days a week, with traditional Sunday lunch available at the weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bell London
The Old Bell Hotel Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing