We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and price for Stansted”
Review of The Old Bell Hotel

The Old Bell Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bell Hotel
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I stayed here with friends for a single night before departing from Stansted the next day. The hotel is ideally situated for Stansted airport.

The rooms themselves are separated from the main pub/restaurant building in a courtyard style next to the car park. As a result, they were set back from the road and extremely quiet and pleasant to sleep in.

The rooms are basic, with comfortable beds and clean bedding. There was a TV, tea and coffee and a hairdryer. Despite being quite outdated, the general condition of the room was excellent. The bathroom had a powerful hot shower (over bathtub) and good ventilation. There were no towels in the room - but I am confident they would have been provided if we had asked.

The people were fantastic - we were invited into the pub for drinks, food and a pub quiz. The owners arranged for our airport transfer in the early hours of the morning, facilitated car parking whilst we were out of the country and also picked us up on our return.

A great price for what we got and somewhere I would definitely consider for flying from Stansted again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnjohnjohnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

For the last three years my partner has stayed here, before flying to or from Standsted. My partner and I stayed twice once before and once after our holiday. The owners were really friendly, Keith dropped us at airport and was waiting for us to pick us up at about 0030 in good humour and being the nice Essex guy he is. Dinner and breakfast were great, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is comfy, clean but tired but it does not pretend that it is a first class hotel and the prices reflect this and are very reasonable. It is not on the flightpath, and car parking is cheap, covered by cameras, well lit and on site. so it is a really good place to stay for a early flight or a late night arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weary_travelerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My wife and I and four friends stayed here one Saturday night. The rooms are tired (typical of what I used to expect from British B & Bs 30/40 years ago) although the beds were comfortable and clean. I could hear the person above every time she move and one friend was disturbed through a long night by the sexual activity in the room below her. On Sunday the breakfast was not good. I opted for full English minus beans and wished that I had also had minus the tinned tomatoes, ‘fried’ bread soaked in much used fat, and fat saturated hash brown. One friend had only egg and bacon and had made a good choice. The worst aspect of this place was that they took our credit card details when we reserved, and we discovered them in a manually maintained reservations book left open and unattended at reception when we arrived. Any one could have accessed our details including the security code.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandTuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Had this hotel recommended by a taxi driver following a disasterous stay at another local place. Couldn't believe how reasonable their rates were so was a bit dubious before we stayed. Keith, Cat and the rest of the staff were absolutely brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a comfortable stay in a large room with en-suite and had a scrummy breakfast the next morning. We parked our car free-of-charge for 16 days, Keith drove us to Stansted airport for our flight and collected us promptly upon our return, all this was included in the price...amazing! Couldn't fault our stay at all. Would highly recommend this hotel for any traveller wishing to park and fly at an exceptionally reasonable rate. The rooms need some updating which Keith freely admits, but what the rooms lack in luxury is more than compensated by friendly and helpful owners and staff and refurbishment is in the future plans for this great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentLassKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Worried about traffic noise but unfounded as the rooms are very quiet although maybe in need of a little refurbishment. Room clean and bed very comfortable with ensuite bathroom. The owners, Mandy and Keith, are extremely friendly and helpful. Keith drove us to Stansted and promptly collected us a couple of hours later as we were caught up in the volcanic ash issue. We did not use the restaurant but were advised by other residentsthat the food is very good. We would definitely book this hotel again prior to flying from Stansted.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed here with large mixed group going to stansted airport for weekend trip, checked in very freindly and we had breakfast in the morning (great) toured the village in the afternoon (lovely area and freindly) went back to the hotel had a few drinks and watched the live football on 1 of 3 flat screens, great local atmosphere , went back to the rooms to freshen up and had the evening meal (top chef) menu was so mixed and plenty of choice even had spanish dishes on there .
I would reconmend this to all ages, they even have events and evening entertainment on @ the weekend and during the week they have deals on the food side.
Keith and mandy were very helpful and gave us all (17) a courtesy lift to and from the airport .

THANKYOU TO ALL OF YOU @ THE OLD BELL HOTEL
See ya all again soon ..x

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trebor0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I ate here on Sunday with my daughter and the food was fabulous. The service was friendly and quick, with special attention to my little girl's request! The chef is obviously a cut well above the average pub-food provider, and the price was very reasonable for what we got. The coffee was lovely too.

I would highly reccomend this restaurant to anyone looking for a place to have a relaxing lunch or dinner, hold an event, or just stop for coffee, it's a gem. There's also plenty of parking and a separate front bar so if you are bringing children you aren't disturbed by the drinking crowd, but if you came with friends for an evening out without the kids you could slip through for a drink after your meal as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kincsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted Mountfitchet
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,836 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
299 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,066 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Hotel

Address: The Old Bell Pines Hill, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bell Hotel is a charming 15th Century Tudor Inn located in the picturesque Essex village of Stansted Mountfitchet - only a 10 minute drive from London Stansted Airport.The hotel accommodation, bar and dining room were completely renovated in November 2011, with all rooms having been converted into stylish mini-suites - perfect for family use or extended stays. A comtemporary bar menu is provided seven days a week, with traditional Sunday lunch available at the weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bell London
The Old Bell Hotel Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing