We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to visit with the children”

Mountfitchet Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit with the children”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went for a visit here about a year ago. It is a bit deceiving as it says a castle, and in English terms a castle is a grand brick building. This is a medieval type of castle, it was still good to visit, but not what some might be expecting. I liked the re-enactment homes of how people lived then. It was good to have the animals around but I thought some were over fed. The museum was also good to visit as it has lots of interesting bits from the past.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FamilyBSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    119
    24
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, kids will love it!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Took our (almost) five year old along a couple of weeks ago. Great welcome from the staff. Fed deer when we got in. So much to have a look at. Lots of hand washing facilities. We looked around the medieval village and then realised there was an entire other area with the Great Hall to look at. Medieval life was a wee bit different (obviously) so be aware of some of the exhibits if you have young children, our little man thinks on things and some things bothered him. It is all set out so you don't have to rub shoulders with other people all the time. We had a nice lunch there which was tasty and very reasonable. The toilets were clean. The Toy Shop on the hill was great fun. So much stuff in one area, we got to feel nostalgic. We didn't go in the haunted part of the house but have been told it is good fun. Leon loved the digging for fossils bit just outside the house. All in all a really good day and the souvenirs shop is great, it has some old second hand toys which Leon thought was great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible histories are good, but skip the toy museum”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The whole site is a little over priced for what it is but the Norman Motte and Bailey is pretty good to wander around. The tame (rescue) animals eating from your hand are great for kids. The people behind the reconstruction seem to have watched a few too many episodes of horrible histories as there is an obsession with gallows, stocks, chopping blocks etc. Either that or the original norman village had a lot of criminals in it. Anyway the gory stuff (and the recreation of a privy) is a hit with kids.
The toy museum is essentially a few rooms over filled with junk .. I would not bother with that bit if I were you.
Overall Its a good afternoon out in sunny weather.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank barnesey_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the castle on the day we flew off on holiday, the whole visit lasted only a couple of hours and we didn't rush around.
The castle is very interesting and our 11 year old son loved it. The toy museum was good and the haunted house was good fun too. A good way to spend a couple of hours and the pub across the road does some lovely grub too :)

Helpful?
Thank JayWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Animals, mediaeval castle & toy museum - fab!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

One of our favourite family days out in the country! Has something for everyone: deer, goats, sheep and peacocks roam free feeding from your hand amongst the superbly recreated mediaeval village huts and castle. All kinds of swords, armour and interactive exhibits all set out in fantastic grounds. The food is top notch and well priced and the gift shop has plenty to engage children. An added bonus is the Dinosaur walk and toy museum which is way more interesting than it sounds, featuring Star Wars, Doctor Who, Action Man, robots and thousands of other items from different eras - it's huge!. To finish off there is a the haunted mansion which was good fun for an extra quid. A very hands on day out, love it!

Helpful?
Thank SlyWrathchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountfitchet Castle also viewed

 

Been to Mountfitchet Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing