We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountfitchet Castle

Mountfitchet Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

I found this to be a very poor excuse for a castle attraction, the name alone promised more! Very expensive for a very average outdoor museum, amateurish.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanstedGoldie1967, Owner at Mountfitchet Castle, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
I think most people reading your post will be both amazed and astounded but such negative comments. It is clear the comments left bear no relevance to the actual attraction and clearly have to guide to help future visitor , a shame trip advisor don't police this site better so that real reviews that are constructive and thoughtful can be left instead of ill thought out comments such as yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    97
    23
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day! Kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We visited with our 8year old and 14year old, they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Lots to see and a kids challenge to find stamps is great fun for them. It was a great day for us adults too. Would definitely recommend!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Carly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very surprised .. Great attraction.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I visited here last week with my son and nephew, 2yrs and 4 yrs. the castle is on my doorstep and never thought to go until now. We primarily visited as the dinosaur walk was the main interest for my nephew. What a great day out we had, the castle was good, the house and house of horror were brilliant. The dinosaur walk was a hit too! The cafe was ok, and would suggest children's meals to be offered. Will be going back for Halloween ...

Helpful?
1 Thank Onions18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

A good afternoon with our 5 year old Grandson . Lots to see helmets to try on . Towers to climb . Gift shop Pleasant cafe . Plenty of history .

Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We visited on 17/08/2014 as we had seen advertised a ' living history' weekend. But what a huge disappointment ! About £40 for the 4 of us to get in, ( they don't do disabled consesions ) . The people doing the living history didn't seem to want to explain what they were doing. We had a man who did interact with the kids who showed them the archery , but that was it !! They didn't seem happy to be there and after spending time there neither was I !! The haunted house was a very poor joke, the dinosaur park was laughable and the toy museum was to small. You can't stop and look at things when you have buggies behind you. It needs to have more space or don't allow pushchairs in. Really wouldn't recommend anyone visiting this place

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Janie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanstedGoldie1967, Owner at Mountfitchet Castle, responded to this review, 3 June 2015
not sure i agree with your comments , we try very hard to work at the castle and museum being a wonderful day out and i think that shows in the other comments left on this site, please call me and speak to me if you feel you didn't have a good day im always willing to listen to comments if valid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountfitchet Castle also viewed

 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 

Been to Mountfitchet Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing