We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebrations for Tups and Mark!”
Review of Linden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linden House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We are VERY lucky to have this lovely small Boutique Hotel 5 miles down the road.....We had a wonderful evening with the whole family Last Saturday 19th October, and the Staff were very attentive especially Kamil who looked after us beautifully from start to finish.......this sort of service is the icing on the Cake!....will be back pronto...... and highly recommend the Food and Bedrooms too...great buzzy atmosphere too boot!!.....Thank

Room Tip: Have only seen the Rooms, not stayed in them, but my son did and all was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tups P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were flying from Stansted and decided to extend our holiday. It actually made all the difference as we had none of the usual rush to get to the airport. We had a very good evening meal, the service was a little slow but we were not in a hurry. Our room was delightful, beautifully decorated, comfortable and very high on our list great value at £90. The taxi to the airport the next morning took all of 15 mins....couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeHse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I had dinner here with my family for sunday lunch, we had booked a table but were not seated for 45 minutes ( the resturant was half empty). The meun was very disappointing with no vegertation starter or any dish on set menu, the waiter did offer to make another dish but the food that came was disappointing, I will say one thing the chocolate mouse was out of this world. Overall the food was'nt great nor was the service but the resturant looks lovely but I feel over priced

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Burton33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We ate here as part of a group of 9 for a celebratory lunch. The food was outstanding and certainly a cut above anything else locally, the service was slow but as we do not get together often so this was not an issue until one of the main courses was not brought out with the others and there was a gap of over 5 minutes and some sharp words before it was rectified. To be fair to the staff they accepted the failing, did not quibble about the suggested recompense for this and thereafter the service improved substantially. The deserts menu was to die for and they have an option of a taster portion of every one of the deserts for sharing for double the price of a single desert, much to the interest of the children this includes a crème soda which is carbonated at the table. This is the best desert I have had in this country bar none and is worth going for this alone. I will put the service down to a “blip” and it was well recovered so don’t let this put you off.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nick2010186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFos11, General Manager at Linden House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Many thanks for your review. I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and the quirky dessert.

We do apologise for the less than perfect service you experienced on Saturday. Our customers generally enjoy exemplary levels of service but unfortunately on this occasion, an unexpectedly busy lunch and staff shortages resulted in a slow service.

We sincerely hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed one night, in room 3 , the huge roll top bath was just the ticket after along drive though bank holiday traffic. They don't normally do room service, but I asked, & they did, very helpful , particularly because I was knackered & traveling with a baby in tow. My stress levels were through the roof trying to find the place through, & I did get a little arsey on the phone when I couldn't get some clear directions, confusion over the fact there are two pubs nearby with the same name, but all was forgotten on arrival. After running a huge bath ( great free bubbles & shampoo etc), I had a g & t in hand, was floating, literally, in the huge bath, watching corrie...all my stresses a distance memory! Lots of lovely fluffy towels, & dressing gowns. Lots of luxury freebies, great tea, hot choc, free water & even fresh milk in the nearby fridge. Exceeded my expectation totally. I have paid four times the amount of this place in central London for practically the same luxury touches.

Food was amazing too, worth the moolar. I can recommend the potted scrimps & steak. They even put together a risotto for the baba! Thank you.

I must also say how helpful all the staff are here. From booking the hotel with Chris, the chap couldn't do enough to help me as I had a complicated weekend to plan prior to flying from stanstead. This guy knows his stuff, & ever found me a hotel to leave my car for the week I was abroad, as they don't have parking here. Just a shame I could have stayed 2 nights here, & left my car somewhere too.

The staff helped me with me luggage from the car, & the chef even made a special visit a breakfast, all staff very helpful. Breakfast was lovely, waitress couldn't do enough to help me & my messy baby!

Would I stop again, yes 100%! Other hotels need to look, admire & learn to the attention to detail at this place. It should be standard practice , but so often isn't in this industry.....total value for money too, really considering the other faulty tower experiences I have paid for in the past! Particularly the night after...see next review from me, complete opposite experience!

My only one negative was the busy, noisy road! Not a lot can be down about that, particularly, as it was a hot night, & I wanted the window open.

Well done Linden house, 5 gold stars here! Don't change a thing guys....you are sexy & you know it!!!

Room Tip: 3⃣ Was huge & had the massive bath! 🎉But next to the road 😱. But still prefect, & surprisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFos11, Owner at Linden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Emma B

Thanks so much for the glowing review. The entire team works really hard to exceed our guests' expectations and it's so rewarding when we get such great feedback. We sincerely hope to see you again soon.

Slightly confused about the two pubs nearby with the same name ... as far as I know, the nearest Linden House is in central London!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have reviewed this hotel before, it keeps getting better. I booked a standard room for 2 nights, my birthday. The room was upgraded to a superior room upon arrival, the room I booked was great, this was better. The staff are genuinely excellent and really do care, nothing is too much trouble, my partner lost a valuable bracelet and was quite upset, she reported it to a member of staff, the bracelet was found and returned. The food is excellent, chateaubriand for to, beautiful and value for money, the breakfasts are fantastic. A 5 minute walk to a mainline railway station, Liverpool street 45 minutes away, £3.00 parking all day. Stanstead Mountfitchet is lovely. All in all, the best place to stay when visiting London. (IMHO)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilingalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A delight sitting on the terrace - a warm evening - nice bottle of LPR - GREAT !!!...
slowish service BUT we were outside - so ill give em that one !!!

Excellent food... apart from the smallest steak in the world !!! The boss said her "Ray" was amazing - she is not easily pleased !!!

I dont feel like i can jump up and down - run around singing its praises,.. and im not sure why because it was good - very good !!! BUT NOT "anything to write home about" - so this will be a short review..

Food excellent - although my fillet steak was the smallest in the world !!!
Service very good - BUT a little slow
GREAT price !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lord_Dawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted Mountfitchet
3 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,986 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Avalon Stansted Lodge
#1 of 2 in Elsenham
92 reviews
2 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Address: 1 - 3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range: £88 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden House is a stylish renovated 19th-century boutique bedrooms guest house, which is a 10-minute drive from Stansted Airport. Stansted Mountfitchet railway station is a 5-minute walk and has services to London Liverpool Street, Stratford, Cambridge and Stansted Airport. All rooms are individually designed and include a king size bed, iPod docking station, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary in-room refreshments and free Wi-Fi internet access throughout. Central London, Stratford and Cambridge are just 40 minutes away by train and the hotel is 5 minutes' drive from the M11. Please note that we don't have parking facilities however public pay and display car park can be found across the road from the hotel in 2 minutes walk. Also, please be advised that due to the age of the building our rooms are not air-conditioned. For your comfort, electric fans are provided in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing