We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Chrimble Cocktail”
Review of Linden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linden House
Certificate of Excellence
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pre Chrimble Cocktail”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Having some pre Christmas cocktails at Linden House is becoming a tradition for my wife & I and our best friends. We managed to get the same table we had last year and looked over the cocktail menu. To our disappointment they didn't have any Christmas cocktails but we were happy to go along with some recommendations from our waiter, Kamil. 3/4 were good but it shows good customer service when Kamil offered to replace one of the drinks that one of our party wasn't keen on. It's the small things like this that make Linden House great and the couple of cocktails turned into a meal and we enjoyed some lovely food and great service. Kamil knew his stuff and was very helpful and accommodating. Linden House seems to attract good waiting staff and we strongly recommend a visit here for cocktails, breakfast. lunch or dinner. It's not the cheapest place around, but you've got to treat yourself sometimes haven't you?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgfgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    54
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
35
106
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The linden house is described as a guest house but I have never stayed at a guest house like it. We arrived to be greeted with such warm hospitality and a beautiful room. We weren't eating there but having seen the restaurant I would have loved to have. Breakfast was fantastic too with a lovely buffet plus choice of cooked and personable staff. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahjane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Our party of nine adults and two young children attended a family Sunday lunch here. We found the food to be excellent and of good proportions.

However, although we were given the menus in the bar beforehand and we were shown to our table, we did have to wait a further 10 minutes or so before the maitre d' took our order, even though the restaurant wasn't overly busy when were seated. We had two young children (2 year olds) with us and they were starting to get slightly restless because they were hungry and we had to attract the attention of a waiter to order the childrens food first before the maitre d' appeared to take the adults orders. Although we weren't in a hurry, having two restless and hungry children was slightly unsettling. Would we return. Yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I came and stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend, first impressions were amazing, loved the style and decor of the hotel and the staff were very attentive.
We ate in the restaurant and had the Chateaubriand, it was absolutely amazing, the best meal I've had in a restaurant, well worth the money spent.
We stayed in a Classic room and again this was lovely, decorated really well and to a high standard, cleanliness was impeccable and all the amenities you would want....including an I Pod dock which I loved! The Bathroom was very luxurious, with robes supplied and the best shower i have ever taken, it was absolutely huge!! And then comes the best bit.... the bed!! Oh my god, i didn't want to leave it once i'd got in, the pillows were like sleeping on marshmallows... best nights sleep ever.
I would defiantly recommend the hotel for an overnight stay or just eat in the restaurant, I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palm2palm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Had a very relaxing "ladies that lunch" yesterday - restaurant ticked all the boxes for us. The staff were attentive - food excellent and although it was a Monday - it was fairly busy so had a pleasant ambience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valena18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time at linden house, the food was majestic and the staff were approachable and helpful with everything they had to deal with. The rooms were also very comfortable and I had one of the best nights sleep in a long time. Will definitely be suggesting here to my friends.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had decided this year to take our staff to Linden House for our Christmas Meal. The setting for this was superb and I must comment that the staff and service was superb. In addition several of our staff stayed overnight and commented that the attention to detail within the rooms was excellent.
I am a great believer in service and good food, and Linden House ticked all of the boxes. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted Mountfitchet
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
5.1 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Property: Linden House
Address: 1 - 3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden House is a stylish renovated 19th-century boutique bedrooms guest house, which is a 10-minute drive from Stansted Airport. Stansted Mountfitchet railway station is a 5-minute walk and has services to London Liverpool Street, Stratford, Cambridge and Stansted Airport. All rooms are individually designed and include a king size bed, iPod docking station, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary in-room refreshments and free Wi-Fi internet access throughout. Central London, Stratford and Cambridge are just 40 minutes away by train and the hotel is 5 minutes' drive from the M11. Please note that we don't have parking facilities however public pay and display car park can be found across the road from the hotel in 2 minutes walk. Also, please be advised that due to the age of the building our rooms are not air-conditioned. For your comfort, electric fans are provided in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing