We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Call that a pillow?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Call that a pillow?”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First impressions were very good, hotel clean, staff welcoming, my granddaughter loved the wine tower angel. We were only there for a few hours as had early flight but hoped to get some sleep but this was not as comfortable as I hoped because the "pillows" were barely cushion size. Astounded that a hotel of this calibre does not provide proper pillows, every hotel I have stayed in, even cheap and cheerful, have always had normal sized pillows. Breakfast was included in our deal - grab and go as we had to leave so early - but very disappointed this consisted of just some apples and cereal bars, some rolls would have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for proper pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy5722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Patsy5722,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at the hotel. I’m pleased to read you found our hotel clean and staff welcoming. I do regret you weren’t satisfied with the pillows as they are indeed smaller than usual. We do have in plan to replace them in the near future.

I am sorry you didn’t have the time to enjoy breakfast since you had an early flight. Grab & Run is a complimentary takeaway option for all our guests that leave early in the morning that offers just some tea and coffee, fresh fruits and energy bars. You had an option to order breakfast in the room for just additional GBP 3.00 tray if you desired something more.

I know we didn’t manage to meet all your expectations but I hope you will decide to return to the hotel if you’ travel through Stansted.

With warmest wishes,
Katja Vidic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,614
    1,641
    574
    202
    128
See reviews for
684
1,600
364
1,000
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stanstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Positive Hotel is very recommended. Restaurant and wine bar are fabulous. Service is second to none. Negative Been promised car would stay at hotel but found out at arrival Car park is not on side as promised. Car received on arrival a week later in very bad and dirty condition.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mikey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear S D,

Thank you for taking your to write this review. I delighted to know you’ve enjoyed your stay and had positive experience in our bar and restaurant. Your words about the service are much appreciated.

I do want to apologise again in regards to your car park arrangements. As promised someone will be in touch with you to discuss the issue further.

We do hope your car experience won’t turn you away from staying at the hotel in the future.

With warmest wishes,
Katja Vidic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay and park deal at the hotel which was a really good deal. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spotless and good sized. We booked a runway view room which was great for watching the planes landing.
The bar angels were great to watch whilst relaxing and the food in the Italian restaurant was very good (though the maître d was a little surly!). Of course the best thing about the hotel is the fact that it is literally a 2 min walk via an under
cover walkway!
Would recommend this hotel for a bit of luxury before you jet of on holidays!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmumNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear travelmumNuneaton,

Thank you very much for this nice review. We are delighted to hear you’ve enjoyed in your runway view room, where you could see the planes but not hear them. I’m pleased you had a lovely dinner experience in our Italian Filini restaurant and overall had a great start of your holiday at our hotel.

I would like to thank you again for your comments and recommendations. Hope to see you again soon.

With warmest wishes,
Katja Vidic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Radisson Blu Hotel at Stansted scores very high as an airport hotel. It’s right next to Stansted’s terminal building and the parking lots of the car hire companies. Hardly any walking to and from either is involved. The hotel is architecturally interesting and even a bit quirky with its Angel’s Wine Tower, where, according to the website blurb, ‘when a bottle is ordered it is removed from the tower by the Angels, who perform impressive acrobatic feats while hovering in midair’. Not, however, (alas) for the pint of Stella I ordered at the bar. My wife and I stayed one night as we had an early morning flight. Ours was one of the standard rooms, which come in ‘three eye-catching colour palettes’. Our room, the ‘Urban’ model, showcased ‘warm reds and rich woods’. It was tasteful, but the cropped photograph on the wall of a headless man assaulting a woman in a yellow dress was disturbing. On closer inspection (I was tired; it had been a long drive) the couple were probably tango dancers. There were more arty pictures in the Filini restaurant, black and white stills from Italian films, and colour photos, close-ups mostly, of food and its production. We had plenty of time to enjoy them as the service was very slow. Four different waiters appeared at our table after long intervals, serving really rather indifferent food. Meanwhile, in the background, a sound system blared some misguided person’s idea of music. We slept well. The room was very comfortable. We were not disturbed by aircraft noise. Breakfast in the Filini, a help yourself buffe´, was excellent. We were in good time for our flight. It’s an airport hotel, very convenient, but don’t expect fine dining.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear David H,

Thank you for taking your time and writing this comprehensive review. It is nice to read that you’ve enjoyed in different aspects of the hotel from the building’s architecture to pictures in the Filini restaurant. Let me tell you those pictures were all taken in Italy. Not long ago we actually hosted a guest who recognized a Vespa on one of the pictures as hers. What a small world isn’t it?

All your nice comments and recommendations are much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel if you ever return to the area.

With warmest wishes,
Katja Vidic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful perfect hotel. Gutted we weren't staying longer as it's just lovely.
We stayed here the night before we flew to Venice.
The room was comfy and very clean.
Really don't have anything negative to say!! One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Tora A,

Thank you so much for this amazing review. The pleasure was entirely on our side. We are delighted that the hotel exceeded your expectations and can’t wait to welcome you again soon.

With warmest wishes,
Katja Vidic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svärta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here to catch an early morning flight out of the adjacent London Stansted airport. This was a mere 5 minutes walk away (all but 50 meters under cover). Despite this proximity, we heard absolutely no aircraft noise from our room.

The room was interesting and modern, very clean with a huge double bed and comfortable recliner for TV viewing. There was good (and free) WiFi in the room, accessible throughout the hotel. No queues at reception during either check in or checkout.

We sampled the Italian restaurant on the ground floor, where the food was very good and the wine list matched it well. The restaurant gave a perfect view of the Hotels most distinguishing feature : a circa 50 meter high wine store behind the lobby bar, where the bottles are retrieved by the bar staff going up and down using a trapeze harness! One can only assume the staff are either trained gymnasts, or have circus training, as they were all composed and elegant. Great free entertainment!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rouxbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Rouxbarb,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience of recent stay at the hotel. I’m delighted to see you managed to enjoy in many aspects of the hotel from comfortable room, free wifi, Italian Filini restaurant to Angels’ Wine Tower Bar. Our ‘Angels’ are indeed trained dancers or gymnasts and know what they are doing so our guests can relax and enjoy watching their show.

I hope you had nice holiday and will stay with us again soon.

With warmest wishes,
Katja Vidic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thanks to British railways I missed the Ryanair flight back to Rome. I had to stay 2 days at this hotel waiting for the next available flight. The staff is amazing, friendly, way beyond helpful as they managed to print the Ryanair boarding pass. Quiet in spite of the location, nice lobby, great breakfast, nice new rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FridaKahloFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear FridaKahloFan,

Sometimes unexpected things can be just as planned ones, don’t they? I happy to read you’ve enjoyed your stay with us even thou it wasn’t planned. Maybe next time you’ll visit us intentionally and enjoy just as much. We are looking forward to that day.

With warmest wishes,
Katja Vidic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted Mountfitchet
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,432 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.1 mi away
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Avalon Stansted Lodge
#1 of 2 in Elsenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Address: Waltham Close, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Stansted
Stansted Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing