We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 'go to' restaurant ”

Lower Street Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$46
Cuisines: European, French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Elegant dining in the heart of Stansted Mountfitchet, offering modern French and English cuisine prepared using only the freshest produce. Relaxed atmosphere with an open kitchen, regular specials and attentive service.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our 'go to' restaurant ”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is our go to restaurant in Stansted, the food and wine is always good and the owner and staff are always welcoming. The menu seems to be updated regularly and there is a good deal on for lunch (£5 per course).

Helpful?
3 Thank Simeon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    55
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fab Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First time visit and not disappointed, we'll definitely be going back.
Great warm welcome from the host, even with the small unexpected additional guest - a potentially awkward situation that was dealt with admirably.
The ambience and decor are lovely and the food was just fabulous. Plenty to choose from on the menu, great portion sizes, all cooked as ordered and beautifully presented. Super!!
Wines were good value and the choice was varied.
The only reason I'm not giving the Brasserie five stars is that although the service was initially excellent and very attentive, it became patchier as the night went on - we were left waiting for drinks / top ups on a couple of occasions, which was a shame as when we were attended to it was was excellent service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LarriDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pre birthday treat”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was treated to lunch out today for my birthday and I would just like to say the brasserie is a very nice place and the food was amazing. I was a little disappointed with the service and the dress code of the waitress, leggings that u can see through and a vest top too me is not acceptable in a place like this. The staff seemed a little side tracked. Polite but not warming. I was also disappointed with the state of the floor and general cleanliness of the toilet, it needs addressing. Like I said a shame because the food was fabulous. I would go back if things change.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishops stortford
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Lovely to escape from chain restaurants of Stortford to this independently run brasserie. Excellent, knowledgeable service and top quality food. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garryhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant again....”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Tonight was a great night at The Lower Street Brasserie. The food was fantastic, the service excellent and the atmosphere relaxed and convivial. A great way to spend our wedding anniversary with our two children. Thanks guys. you know we'll be back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lower Street Brasserie also viewed

Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 

Been to Lower Street Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing