We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place.well worth a visit”

Lower Street Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$45
Cuisines: European, French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Elegant dining in the heart of Stansted Mountfitchet, offering modern French and English cuisine prepared using only the freshest produce. Relaxed atmosphere with an open kitchen, regular specials and attentive service.
Reviewed 25 October 2018

We used to come into the Brasserie regularly but have recently got out of the habit whilst we tried to lose weight. Tonight, we went into for possibly only the second time this year. I had forgotten how good it was, the food was simply magnificent, the ambiance was great and the staff welcoming. This place is simply great, any restaurant where the chef comes to table to check how the food was is generally a great establishment and this is true in this case. The waiter was very knowledgeable about Gluten Free and able to talk Knowledgeably about the menu. Giles the owner popped in and came over. it was a great evening and we were made to feel special. which was really nice.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick2010186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Family gathering for a birthday celebration for 18 heads. Couldn’t fault this venue, staff were so welcoming and accommodating and the food was excellent and good value. I’ll definitely be returning.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I went out for our 36 year wedding anniversary on a Saturday night and booked a table for 7pm, thinking it would be a good atmosphere and vibe... erm wrong!

The place was dead, that should of been a signal! It went downhill from there, we were pestered from start to finish!
Our order was rushed, I had soup (but was given no spoon, had to wait 10 mins for one after asking) my wife had oil with a few prawns.. yes.. there was a tonne of oil, our steaks where under cooked, we asked for medium well, we got medium rare!!!

And our drinks where wrong, gin instead of vodka and we had to pay £88 for the privilege of awful service, the staff didn’t know what they where doing and the menus we had looked at online where nothing like on the restaurant!

What a total disappointment.. the highlight of our night was going to the bar next door, where service was great and we had the right drinks and a better atmosphere.

This place came highly recommended! Sadly we heard on the night it had changed hands.. change back! We won’t be going back!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank FranPaul1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We went for a family meal and the food was beautiful and the staff were friendly and attentive! Couldn’t fault it! Would highly recommend going here

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Sunday lunch for nine of us having set menu including roast. We all thoroughly enjoyed the meal, all three courses were excellent and great value. The staff were efficient and friendly and the atmosphere in the restaurant was very convivial. We will definitely return. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lower Street Brasserie also viewed

Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Great Waltham, Chelmsford
 

Been to Lower Street Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing