We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Nearby Hotels
Novotel London Stansted Airport(Stansted Mountfitchet)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$164
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$81
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Bishops Stortford)
US$91
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
DeSalis Hotel(Elsenham)
US$123
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Cricketers' Arms(Saffron Walden)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,186)
Filter reviews
2,186 results
Traveller rating
358
819
601
237
171
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
819
601
237
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstansted airportan early flightper personevery half hourbreakfast was includedper adultpetrol stationshuttle servicean overnight stayyogurtstayed one nightcar parkingshort staybudget hotelfollowing morninghiebus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,057 - 1,062 of 2,186 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for one night in early January 2014. Clean, quiet room with silent air con and comfy bed. Only 10 mins from the airport by shuttle bus which was convenient but not sure why they have to demand £3 for the ride. I would have thought the hotel could make the shuttle free and add a bit to the cost of the room - better marketing in my view. Supper was good and not too expensive for an airport hotel. Breakfast ordinary but plenty of it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoupLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am really pleased to see that your recent stay with us met your expectations. The shuttle bus is run by a third party and therefore the cost is not within the hotels control. We do however, pride ourselves on being honest with our guests and try to make every effort to ensure that guests are informed of any additional charges that they may incur prior to their stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

im staying here tonight, the evening started off pleasant with some lovely young ladies behind the bar and restaurant, apparently covering staff and were from ipswich. i think alicia charlie and laura where their names with a helpful lady in a white shirt called alison. im thinking she may be management. i have since come down from my room for a glass of water to find the night porter half cut in charge and some young lady pissed behind the bar serving in a dress which i do not believe to be company uniform. i am not happy to learn the hotel and all its guest are being looked after by this shamball of staff coming back from their xmas party.

2  Thank highflyer2527
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear highflyer2527,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the the night service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. The safety of our guests is of utmost importance and we take all of the reviews we receive very seriously. We appreciate the input of our guests to help us identify areas of improvement. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel really had everything that was needed for an airport hotel. It was comfortable and clean with good size rooms for the price. We found the wifi did not seem to work in the common area early in the morning. Also the breakfast was pretty ordinary, but also ok for the cheap price. They didn't serve cooked breakfast until after 5am, which considering lots of early flights, I think should be available given breakfast is supposed to be included in the price. However, would happily stay here again if I ever needed to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie2195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused from the problems you experienced in the public areas. We are aware of this situation and are working to improve this for our guests in the future.

We offer a free breakfast to all our guests, ensuring that guests are able to get something to eat before they travel. We advertise our breakfast times and what will be on offer however I appreciate your feedback on this matter.

Again, I thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

half an hour walking from the stansted airport ( we did it), 3 pounds single trip shuttle bus to go to the airport ( never see that in other countries!) and finally on the 26th december the bus did not come so taxi for 13 pounds to be paid by us of course, SHAME TO THIS HOTEL!!
on the 24th december, you only have a frozen pizza very expensive and on the 25th no food at all!! of course it was not mentioned anywhere and you discover it when you are in the hotel!
never come to this hotel on the 25th december, no food around except on the petrol station, even mac donalds is closed!
poor mattress also, the room was okay, the common area was really cold only heated by gaz machines, economy economy.....you should stop thinking about the profit and more about the well being of customers please....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvidalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear vvidalon,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review and appreciating our hotel location. We work very hard to ensure our quality and services are superior. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am deeply sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced due to the accommodations and hotel amenities. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this is the best resource for improving guest services. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

All you come to expect from a HIEX - big clean rooms, reasonable breakfast and very efficient check in. Minor grumble is that free wi-if only available in bar ( not room). If you are greeting an early bus transfer to the airport, leave yourself time... our 6.30 bus was overloaded with some passengers being bumped to next bus.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank davida2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for an excellent review. I am pleased to be able to inform you that there is now free WIFI in the rooms.

Sometimes the bus can get busy but the drivers always ensure that everyone makes it to the airport on time for their flight, however, we always advice that our guests allow plenty of time to get to the airport and through security.

We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews