We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night prior to flying from Stansted - possibly one of the worst nights sleep I've had at a hotel. Our room was right at the front of the hotel by the shuttlebus stop.....every 15 minutes the bus would pull up loudly, turn it's engine off, turn the engine on again and drive off loudly - this stopped at 1am but resumed at 4am! If staying here - make sure you ask for a room at the back of the hotel/high up!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stravel250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I am really sorry that you did not get a good nights sleep at the Hotel. Our shuttle bus does indeed operate until late at night and starts again very early in the morning,we have triple glazed windows in place to reduce the noise level but can only apologize if the shuttle service has kept you awake. We hold regular meetings with the shuttle bus operators and your concerns about the noise will be passed on.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great and quiet room (I asked for it when I booked), very comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. Cold breakfast from 4 am and warm from 6am. I haven't tried dinner cos I arrived late.
WIll definately stay there again when flying from Stansted next time!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kasia_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review, I'm glad you found everything you needed for a great stay at the Hotel. Its a shame you did not have time to experience our new Rotisserie restaurant offering. We have a great selection of dishes available that offer fantastic value for money including our spit roast chicken.

I trust we will see you again soon and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very nice hotel, professional and efficient check in if not overly friendly, pleasant lobby with a pool table, on the wall tvs and a bar. You are given a card with all the shuttle times when you check in and having seen the queue for the 5am bus I think you need to get yourself to the lobby in good time. If you bring your own car they charge £8 a night. The airport is a few minutes drive away but be warned they charge you £2 to drop passengers off which is pretty annoying.

Our room was a very clean and well appointed twin room with effective aircon, which you need as you can't open the window. The usual hard as rock pillows but we always take our own so not bothered by them. The comfortable beds were on castors as previously mentioned I imagine to make cleaning easier, but we didn't find this a problem. Bathroom with large shower and blue night light if you need it. Tea and coffee making facilities but no biscuits (just so you know!). Usual liquid soap, no other toiletries. We were not troubled by outside noise. Breakfast times are an impressive 4.00-10.00am, just toast and cereal early on and then they do the full breafast later in the morning, which was pretty good - sausages, beans, scrambled eggs, decent tasting pastries and then a cold section of yoghurts and fruits etc. The coffee wasn't very nice but they do have a Costa machine in the lobby.

We did get a good value price for our room, and all in all we were very happy with our choice and would recommend the Holiday Inn Express as a good place to stay if you are flying out of Stansted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lobby area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank veebee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review, Its great to see that you found every thing you needed during your stay. We offer a shuttle service to and from the Airport terminal for our guests to ensure you get to the terminal on time to catch your flight.
We now have a new Rotisserie restaurant concept that offers great value dishes including our specialty spit roast chicken for our guest to enjoy when dinning with us.

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I trust we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I found this hotel just perfect for my short stay prior to an early flight from Stansted airport. I booked the hotel on their site, where I am a member, and I was allowed to use my VirginAirways points instead of payment.

The cold breakfast prior to 6am was included too, although I could not find anything interesting apart from my hot drink. They only had: several types of hot drinks, several types of juices, milk and varieties of corn flakes, plus jam, bread, ham and cheese.

My room was on the top third floor and I did not hear many people slamming their doors, so I guess it was a rather quiet weekend for them. Lucky me!!!! The bedding was good, although the bed kept moving around as is on rolls!!???? and the bathroom had some toiletries with a note saying that more can be provided upon asking the Reception. Thoughtful!!!!

All is minimalistic, yet functional, with kettle in the room for tea/coffee etc, flat screen TV and unfortunately a phone that could not reach reception to ask why the Alarm was not working!!!!!

Face to face receptionists were great, they seem to care and are properly trained, so I cannot complain really complain about anything. The early morning bus, with people from the nearby Premier Inn was packed though, so the bus driver said to the waiting people that is going to return in 5min from the airport to pick them up, when normally should be a pick up time every 30min when you pay £3 one way. Thank God I was waiting in front of the hotel before the queue was formed, as the queues at the airport security were simply massive for both departing/returning despite them being so organised (apparently have been so for more than one year). So everything needs planning with major delays in mind.

Room Tip: Book via the hotel website if you are a member of other airlines/hotel groups and use your points vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad you found us "just perfect for an early flight". Its great to see that you found everything you needed during your stay ,We now have a new Rotisserie restaurant concept to add to the facility at the Hotel offering our specialty spit roast chicken at a great value for money price for our guests to enjoy when dinning with us.

I trust we will see you again soon, when you are in the area and please make some time on your next visit to try our Rotisserie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked for a one night.
The room was very comfortable.
Had breakfast in the morning,which was included in the price.
Mini bus service the hotel to the coach station.Which is £3.00per person.
Good service around

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review and your recommendation of our Hotel,It's great to see that you found everything you needed during your stay with us. I do trust we will see you again soon.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel really isn't up to scratch as an airport hotel. Noisy all through the night. Poor restaurance that (believe it or not) only serves rotisserie chicken (that is very expensive). Not iron or ironing board in the room and you have to walk down to reception to pick one up because staff won't deliver it to your room. Overcrowded feel to it and nowhere to relax. Rooms are expensive and this is way below a reasonable exception.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Sam P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We checked into the Hotel after arriving back in the UK late at night as we live almost 90 miles away and did not fancy the late drive home. It was very clean in the hotel and in the rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly, check in was straight forward and hassle free. Had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed. The room had a luxury feel to it with the modern furniture, fittings and lighting. It was a shame that our stay was for one night only!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and your recommendation for our Hotel, Its great to see that the team at the Hotel looked after you so well and I trust we will see you again very soon.

Thank you again for you review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted Mountfitchet
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
553 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport

Address: Thremhall Avenue | London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range: £57 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Airport terminal via the hotel transfer bus (small charge applies £3.00 Each way). The hotel is ideally positioned for visits to Newmarket, Cambridge, Bury St.Edmunds, Mildenhall, London Olympic Village, Eurostar Kings Cross and Stratford Terminals. All 254 bedrooms, are equipped with air-conditioning, power shower, tea and coffee making facilities and fully interactive TV system with high speed internet connectivity. The Holiday Inn Express London Stansted Airport offers Meet Smart facilities. Hotel has 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, and can accommodate up to 70 delegates in theatre style. Hotel has an Informal style bar lounge with plasma TV's & Sports Bar,showing all of the latest top sports event plus the Great Room including the Rotisserie Restaurant where breakfast & evening meals are served.The Rotisserie restaurant is a new concept at the Hotel where guests can watch the chickens turn golden brown,this includes free salad bowl with all Rotisserie dishes a great vale offering. The Hotel also has on-site parking for up-to 175 cars & is ideally located near Duxford Imperial War Museum and also close to Cambridge & Newmarket. PLEASE NOTE that an overnight parking charge applies for residents of £8.00. Parking is only available to hotel residents whilst staying in the hotel. Park Stay&Go packages are available.Please note! NO BUS TRANSFER during the following times: 12.00 Midnight to 4.00Am,£3 per person each ways payable on the bus applies, children under 16 travel free.All other times every 30 minutes. A limited service operates through Christmas&New Year. A 24hr taxi service is available from the terminal at the cost of approx. 7.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Hotel Stansted
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing