We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a pre-flight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel isn't perfect but was adequate for a pre-flight stop over. The rooms are looking a little dated but again fine for what we paid. The lady on reception was helpful and polite.

One advantage is its only a minute from the mid stay car park which was helpful for us.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Adamxr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Adamxr1,

Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Stansted.

As you stated we are ideally located for guests using London Stansted Airport, with the mid-stay car park literally yards away from us. We also provide a shuttle bus to and from the airport which is at a cost of £3.00 per adult.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before - I love the staff there and I love the HI brand. But someone higher up than Hotel staff have to immediately update and deal with mold in bathrooms - I was in 308 this time and it was the same bad condition as 303 the other time - see the images. Room was over hot. I just hate to leave any negative review and am only doing so since I asked that this situation be dealt with months earlier.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HannahHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear HannahHughes,

Thank you for taking the time to continue to review our hotel following your stays with us.

The front desk team have had your kind comments passed to them, which were greatly appreciated.

Your comments regarding your bathroom has been passed to the relevant department, where action plans are being put into place.

Thank for your continue loyalty, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Good place if you need a hotel for your flight connection from Stansted. If you are in group it's cheaper to take a taxi which costs 8 GBP taken from the airport instead of the bus transfer which cost 3 GBP pp. Avoid the breakfast which is terrible. The rooms are quite comfortable and clean, so for single night it's best option in Stansted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichalK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear MichalK74,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel following your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Stansted.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to pass on tips to our future guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Firstly only one person at check in and 2 families in front of me waiting. The priority check in is not manned as other staff memebers were on their break. Eventually after 20 mins and the same family were still checking in and i asked the reception lady if there was anyone else and she screwed her face up and said everyone was busy. Eventually another girl arrived and did start checking me in. I asked about the email i sent yesterday why it took so long to answer and again the other girl says because they are so busy and tuts.
If we were not so tired i think at this point we would have left.
As a platinum member i do not like to be treated like i am doing them a favour by staying there and certainly felt this is not the service we should be receiving.
secondly the free internet being a memebr is ridicously slow and kept falling out and you can only have one device on the password and need another password to access my wife's phone. When i asked what the problem was the reception says to come down and get another password. Why i asked and eventually she reluctantly agreed to give it me over the phone. During the course of the evening i had to call down for 5 passwords.
I would ike to say i will never stay at this hotel again with their attitude and lack of customer service and think you should know this as their is other hotel options nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Michael D,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the standard of service you received following your recent stay with us.

This is not the level of service you should expect from us, so again please accept our apologies.

Your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for further investigation.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we do hope that we will welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The service here was poor especially after we discovered they had charged us twice for 1 nights stay, we spoke to the hotel, sent a bank statement to prove it and in the end we had to get the refund via the bank with no apology. Shocking service!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Matter1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are very concerned with the situation that you have described, and would like to request that you contact the hotel directly on the below email address to discuss this matter further.

reservations.hixstansted@kewgreen.co.uk

Kind regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great hotel! Stayed 3 nights. Good standard for holiday inn. Good breakfast, nice variety available to suit all.. Will be visiting again soon, great to vist most places in and around London. Parking fees apply but reasonable.

Room Tip: We stayed on first floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cooke2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Cooke2601,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning back to us soon.

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

First impressions were poor. The whole reception area stank of fried food as the ground floor is all open plan. Everything looked a bit grubby and this impression continued into the room. Dark edges to the carpet in the basic bedroom and a bathroom that looked dirty but was probably just worn out (the 'soap' they supply is basically water, by thee way). Can't open the window.

Free wifi in every room - yeah, right: the wifi did not work anywhere in the hotel - but it was free!

Staff were friendly enough, the pre 6 o'clock breakfast is toast and cereal.but is provided from 4 o'clock.

Close to the airport.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear MuddyBath,

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

All your comments have been passed to the relevant departments, where an action plan has been put into place.

We would like to thank you for your feedback, and hope that you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stansted Mountfitchet
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,925 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
553 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport

Address: Thremhall Avenue | London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range: £58 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Airport terminal via the hotel transfer bus (small charge applies £3.00 Each way). The hotel is ideally positioned for visits to Newmarket, Cambridge, Bury St.Edmunds, Mildenhall, London Olympic Village, Eurostar Kings Cross and Stratford Terminals. All 254 bedrooms, are equipped with air-conditioning, power shower, tea and coffee making facilities and fully interactive TV system with high speed internet connectivity. The Holiday Inn Express London Stansted Airport offers Meet Smart facilities. Hotel has 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, and can accommodate up to 70 delegates in theatre style. Hotel has an Informal style bar lounge with plasma TV's & Sports Bar,showing all of the latest top sports event plus the Great Room including the Rotisserie Restaurant where breakfast & evening meals are served.The Rotisserie restaurant is a new concept at the Hotel where guests can watch the chickens turn golden brown,this includes free salad bowl with all Rotisserie dishes a great vale offering. The Hotel also has on-site parking for up-to 175 cars & is ideally located near Duxford Imperial War Museum and also close to Cambridge & Newmarket. PLEASE NOTE that an overnight parking charge applies for residents of £8.00. Parking is only available to hotel residents whilst staying in the hotel. Park Stay&Go packages are available.Please note! NO BUS TRANSFER during the following times: 12.00 Midnight to 4.00Am,£3 per person each ways payable on the bus applies, children under 16 travel free.All other times every 30 minutes. A limited service operates through Christmas&New Year. A 24hr taxi service is available from the terminal at the cost of approx. 7.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Hotel Stansted
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing