We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, relaxed, welcome to Kurdish/Turkish village life”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilvan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomad Village Home Stays
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic, relaxed, welcome to Kurdish/Turkish village life”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This homestay gives you a fantastic authentic experience of village life in Turkey. I've been travelling to Turkey for over 20 years and to my knowledge this is the only homestay organisation in the southeast. You get a fabulous welcome, a chance to see village life up close and to participate in daily chores (milking sheep, cooking bread) as well as a chance to chill and enjoy the scenery and gentle pace of life. Oh, and lashings of great food. Not to be missed!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 5 days traveling through the southeastern part of Turkey and as part of our tour we spent 2 nights in the home stay in Yuvacali village. The family was very welcoming and we really enjoyed learning about their village, culture and experiencing their way of life.
Food in the home stay was great, we got to sleep under the open skies and really felt welcome for the two days we spent there.
All the other aspects of out tour were also great. Alison organised everything for us on a very short notice. I am glad we had a chance to travel through southeastern Anatolia, it is a very unique region with interesting and diverse history and culture.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrosAbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The best moments of four weeks travel in Turkey. I stayed longer than initially planned – 5 days -, so good it felt to be with the generous and gentle Salva Family. Yuvacali is an ideal base to discover much of the southeast and you will receive plenty of precious information. Fatih is an outstanding guide! I would definitively come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had a great experience of village life in Turkey. The hosts were extremely kind. Our stay was very laid back, got to learn about the village project, the culture and some history, had amazing home made meals and even helped out making our own flatbread. Had plenty of tea in their garden (which had various fruit trees) and their porch while chatting with other guests there exchanging thoughts and experiences.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taufiq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed with the family for 2 nights in May 2013. Halil, Pero, Fatih and Aylin were very welcoming and made us feel a part of the family. We really enjoyed learning more about Kurdish culture and village life and appreciated everyone's patience with our attempts at speaking Kurdish. And the food was phenomenal, the best we've had in Turkey! We would highly recommend this experience to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaP555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My 8 year old son and I just returned from Yuvacali and had a wonderful time. The families there were amazingly warm and genuine. Pero our host mom was fantastic and worked like crazy to make our stay perfect. The food was all homemade and most of it was grown right there. We spent time in Urfa, Nemrud and Harran and Omer did a great job shuttling us around. I would definitely go back and hope to sometime soon.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our short two night stay at Yuvacali have left a big impression! Our host family were so welcoming and made us feel very at home- despite our lack of Turkish or Kurdish. It was amazing to have the opportunity to witness everyday village life. The setting was so peaceful and calming that we could hardly bear the noisy city that we travelled onwards to. It is definitely our most unique and heartwarming experience of our many Turkish adventures.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJones82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nomad Village Home Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Village Home Stays

Property: Nomad Village Home Stays
Address: Yuvacali Koyu, Hilvan 63900, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Sanliurfa Province > Hilvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hilvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with a Kurdish family, sleep under the stars as the locals do, join in with milking the sheep, rolling out huge rounds of unleavened bread for breakfast,and making cheese. See a way of life unchanged since biblical times, mix with the locals, and experience authentic Turkey with not a t-shirt nor another tourist in sight. Accommodation is basic and facilities are shared, as you join a family in their home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nomad Village Home Stays Turkey/Hilvan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing