We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nomad Tourists: changing landscapes, changing lives”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilvan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomad Village Home Stays
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Thank you to the wonderful team at Nomad Tours for our marvellous journey into South East Turkey. There we stayed with a Kurdish family who opened up their home and village to share a small part of their lives with us. It's only in looking back that we can fully appreciate the thought and effort and work that went into creating our stay at Yuvacali and our stunning tour through the ancient landscape of Mesopotamia.

Without actually staying at the village for some time we could never have appreciated the complexities and challenges that our host family, and others like them, face in navigating their way into the future. While they continue to uphold some of their traditional lifestyle and values, that we got to experience first hand, they are also questioning some of the old ways in attempting to provide new opportunities and choices for their children. And the work of Nomad Tours is instrumental in making that happen.

During our stay we became aware of the educational barriers faced by members of our host family and other Kurdish people in Turkey. As a liberal educator I am incensed by any limits placed on people's freedoms, particularly the freedoms accorded by a good education. So the work of Nomad Tours in supporting their local preschool and primary school is a powerful contribution to changing the lives of so many families (as is the tree planting project that is slowly changing the face of the village). We are pleased to have been a small part of that in supporting their homestay concept.

Out on the road we had so many wonderful experiences and we can only begin to imagine the social and cultural knowledge and local experience that went into creating every day and every special part of each day: the luxury of a driver and 'the best tour guide in the world', the roads taken and not taken, the places we stayed, the people we met, the meals, (including kalburga dolmasi - thank you again. It was a work of art), the drinks, the treats, the unforgettable sites and sights. There are so many particular memories: the beehive house in Harran, and more particularly the stories of the Arab people who live there; the passing glory of Hasankyef and the ancient caves that live on underwater; the nomad family and their amazing tent and the powerful women who wear their tattoos and carry their Kurdish history with pride; the caravanserai and chai and deep, dark Turkish coffee and the old men who gamble their afternoons away and sing their poetry, the 'pop up cafe' where we squatted on traditional wooden stools on the side of the road to eat delicious doner kebaps, the ferry trip across the Euphrates, and the walk to Mount Nemrut that took us to the stone kingdom at the top of the world.

So thank you again Nomad Tours for the passion and love you invested in making our journey across that ancient landscape so memorable; but more so for your ongoing work whereby every homestay visitor and Nomad tourist plays a part in changing the lives of the village families and their children and are themselves changed as we were.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jafra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

This homestay gives you a fantastic authentic experience of village life in Turkey. I've been travelling to Turkey for over 20 years and to my knowledge this is the only homestay organisation in the southeast. You get a fabulous welcome, a chance to see village life up close and to participate in daily chores (milking sheep, cooking bread) as well as a chance to chill and enjoy the scenery and gentle pace of life. Oh, and lashings of great food. Not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 5 days traveling through the southeastern part of Turkey and as part of our tour we spent 2 nights in the home stay in Yuvacali village. The family was very welcoming and we really enjoyed learning about their village, culture and experiencing their way of life.
Food in the home stay was great, we got to sleep under the open skies and really felt welcome for the two days we spent there.
All the other aspects of out tour were also great. Alison organised everything for us on a very short notice. I am glad we had a chance to travel through southeastern Anatolia, it is a very unique region with interesting and diverse history and culture.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrosAbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The best moments of four weeks travel in Turkey. I stayed longer than initially planned – 5 days -, so good it felt to be with the generous and gentle Salva Family. Yuvacali is an ideal base to discover much of the southeast and you will receive plenty of precious information. Fatih is an outstanding guide! I would definitively come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikolaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had a great experience of village life in Turkey. The hosts were extremely kind. Our stay was very laid back, got to learn about the village project, the culture and some history, had amazing home made meals and even helped out making our own flatbread. Had plenty of tea in their garden (which had various fruit trees) and their porch while chatting with other guests there exchanging thoughts and experiences.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taufiq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed with the family for 2 nights in May 2013. Halil, Pero, Fatih and Aylin were very welcoming and made us feel a part of the family. We really enjoyed learning more about Kurdish culture and village life and appreciated everyone's patience with our attempts at speaking Kurdish. And the food was phenomenal, the best we've had in Turkey! We would highly recommend this experience to anyone.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndreaP555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My 8 year old son and I just returned from Yuvacali and had a wonderful time. The families there were amazingly warm and genuine. Pero our host mom was fantastic and worked like crazy to make our stay perfect. The food was all homemade and most of it was grown right there. We spent time in Urfa, Nemrud and Harran and Omer did a great job shuttling us around. I would definitely go back and hope to sometime soon.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nomad Village Home Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Village Home Stays

Address: Yuvacali Koyu, Hilvan 63900, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Sanliurfa Province > Hilvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hilvan
Price Range: £7 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with a Kurdish family, sleep under the stars as the locals do, join in with milking the sheep, rolling out huge rounds of unleavened bread for breakfast,and making cheese. See a way of life unchanged since biblical times, mix with the locals, and experience authentic Turkey with not a t-shirt nor another tourist in sight. Accommodation is basic and facilities are shared, as you join a family in their home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nomad Village Home Stays Turkey/Hilvan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing