We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ightham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Studio at Double Dance
Ranked #1 of 1 Ightham B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little haven”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We recently went for one night to visit nearby Knole House, Igtham Mote and Chartwell House. The location was perfect. The studio is bigger than it looks in the photos and everything in it is of the highest standard. Real luxury sheets, towels, everything is of high quality. Superb choice for breakfast. Although next to road, I was surprised how we were not disturbed by it. A real haven; beautiful. Definitely go!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PercyKent, Owner at The Studio at Double Dance, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic comments. I am always delighted when someone has enjoyed their stay. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The world
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at Double Dance regularly for 2 to 3 nights a week between September 13 and January 14 while working in the area. It's a delightful location with lots of good eateries nearby. The accommodation is very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with pretty much everything you could ask for in a self catering studio. We soon felt that it was our second home! Penny, the owner, is extremely helpful and it's excellent value for money.

Room Tip: There's only one room but watch your head - some of the ceilings are quite low!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PercyKent, Owner at The Studio at Double Dance, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your many stays. Thank you for being such delightful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Last time we stayed at Double Dance we were two and I was seven months pregnant (there's a review on here). This time we were three, with our little 15 month old boy Liam and I have to say out of all the 'stopover' accommodation we stayed in on this latest road trip from France, this was by far the most relaxing.

As ever, Penny had left us a veritable banquet of goodies in the fridge and the kitchen was a real help with preparing baby meals etc, as was the roomy layout with lounge area and dining area. I had to admit, I did have to put a few nick nacks out of reach, just in case!

We'd brought our own travel cot and (rather unconventionally) we set it up in the bathroom (which is a warm and cosy room in itself), so we could eat and watch TV without disturbing little one. The set up worked a treat and everyone got a very good night's sleep. I know last time I reviewed Double Dance I mentioned the road noise, so this time it's only fair to say I slept well without ear plugs (maybe because there is less commuter/school traffic Saturday morning?).

Our only regret is not having stayed two or three nights!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PercyKent, Owner at The Studio at Double Dance, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
It was lovely to have your repeat visit and I'm just delighted you had a good night's sleep. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Dogmaels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was recommended to us by a friend who knows the area, the studio is self contained and tucked away in the garden, so you have your own space. Very clean and comfortable, it does have some height issues, especially the kitchen, but not a problem for me although my 6' 1" husband used it as an excuse to let me get breakfast.
Penny leaves a wide range of breakfast supplies, cakes and treats for you, all topped up every day. Towels etc are also replaced daily and the washing up is done for you so just like staying in a regular b and b.
The area is delightful and very close to lots of nice places, we visted Hever Castle, Ightham Moat and Leeds Castle, we were only there for 4 days or we would have done more. It is also not far from Chatham Dockyard which we have visited before and loved.
Doubledance is a lovely place to stay, the gardens are lovely and you have you own quiet little corner, in the morning the squirrels dance on the lawn in the autumn mist.
If I had one quibble it would be a lack of a large mirror on the wall, there are several round shaving types and one in the bathroom that was too high for me but not one I could see to do my hair in.
All in all a great place and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PercyKent, Owner at The Studio at Double Dance, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I'm thrilled you enjoyed both your stay and the lovely area in which Double Dance is situated.
Since your visit the Studio has been refurbished and there is now both a large mirrored wall in the bathroom and a full length mirror in the main room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The studio is a great find. Located in a beautiful area of Kent it offers a most comfortable experience. The accommodation is light, bright & spacious. There is a well equipped kitchen, dining area, sitting area, sleeping area & shower room. It is perfectly decorated & very clean. The kitchen & fridge are well stocked with breakfast provisions, tea, coffee & cakes. The owner is very helpful and offered us a warm welcome. It is a great base to explore the local area. Look out of the windows & watch squirrels & foxes in the garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMBCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PercyKent, Owner at The Studio at Double Dance, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently stayed at Double Dance and we were very impressed. The accommodation was comfortable and well-equipped and the food that Penny provided was very tasty. It is such a pretty area of the country and there is so much to see within a half an hour drive. We ate at the pub in Ightam and the food was very good. Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixiechick1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PercyKent, Owner at The Studio at Double Dance, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you! Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The Studio at Double Dance - perfect for that 'home from home' B&B feel, whilst having your own independent little pad to yourselves. Penny knows just how to be a great host, helpful whilst not being at all intrusive. We only stayed two nights, but the highlight was coming back each day and opening the fridge to see what wonderful hand-made goodies had been left for our breakfast!

If you know Kent, you'll know that even the smallest country roads are often busy with cars, so if you're a light sleeper take ear plugs, as the little conversion over the garage where you stay is next to the A227 at the rear of the property.

Would definitely stay here again as it perfectly suits our needs as I am often in the area for work and it's nice to just chill out in the evenings and cook or bring back a takeaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PercyKent, Owner at The Studio at Double Dance, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. For future visitors, may I clarify the position on the road, the A227 which passes Double Dance. The Studio is not on the edge of the road; not only is it set back approximately 10 - 15 m (30 feet) with a heavy screen of vegetation, but most importantly it is also elevated approximately 10 - 15 m (30 feet) above the road. You cannot see the road from the Studio (nor can the Studio be seen from the road) and the only opening window onto the road side, is the bathroom. All other (double glazed) windows look out both over countryside and our 9 acres of garden and paddocks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ightham
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sevenoaks / Maidstone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
10.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Studio at Double Dance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Studio at Double Dance

Property: The Studio at Double Dance
Address: Double Dance Tonbridge Road, Ightham, Sevenoaks TN15 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Sevenoaks > Ightham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ightham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Studio at Double Dance 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Studio at Double Dance is the perfect bed and breakfast property from which to explore historic and scenic Kent. Located in the picturesque village of Ightham, near Sevenoaks, this stylish newly refurbished self-contained annexe is superbly equipped with everything that visitors need for a relaxing holiday. The delightfully spacious double-bedded room also includes a fully-fitted kitchenette, seating and dining areas. Overlooking the Kent Downs, the Studio enjoys its own garden. Ightham village and its quintessential English pub and mediaeval church, is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Studio At Double Dance Ightham, UK - Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing