We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Enigmatic as its Name”
Review of Ightham Mote

Ightham Mote
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ightham
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“As Enigmatic as its Name”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Extensions to additions to changes in ownership all made this building quite fascinating. The background talk is essential before starting off on an adventure into architecture. Although child friendly it isn't the most interesting for little ones and the gardens with their water features mean that children need to be seen and heard . The walk from the entrance to the house is fairly steep so the less energetic need to take their time.There are plenty of walks and we were disappointed that we ran out of time. Definitely a place to allow 3 hours or more to explore

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikeandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    198
    18
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
deal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must see place”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Very interesting buildings and lovely gardens. An all round brilliant place

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank susannorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION AND HISTORIC BUILDING”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Ightham Mote is situated in the beautiful Kent Countryside. The story behind the main house is fabulous and the architecture and grounds are beautiful. This was the first (and probably only time) I will ever see a Grade 1 listed doghouse. The estate provides a wonderful backdrop for walks or simply sit and picnic on the manicured lawns - another National Trust gem.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ROADTRIP1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

What a pleasant surprise we had. lthough we had read about this beautiful old manor actually seeing took our breath away. It was beautiful. Far exceeded our expectations as we walked down towards it.
A beautiful moated manor in amazing grounds. Beautiful gardens in a wonderful setting. The Manor itseldf is steeped in history & very well preserved. The guides were helpful, knowledgeable, friendly but unintrusive.
This is a MUST for a future visit.
Free to national Trust mambers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This place is best visited outside of school holidays and the weekends as it does get very busy. However it is a very pleasant place on a nice summers day. The cafe is okay.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ightham Mote also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Hever, Sevenoaks District
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Ightham Mote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing