We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Ightham Mote

Ightham Mote
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I so loved this place. We arrived not knowing what to expect and were quickly taken in by the beautiful mote. We put our names down for a guided tour of the gardens and had a wonderful wander around the extended grounds with a wonderful guide. We stayed longer than we expected but were able to get a lunch in the tearooms there. We spent the afternoon wandering around the interior of the mote learning about the refurbishment and the previous owners occupiers. Wonderful piece of history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brillo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    204
    20
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon out”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Choose a lovely day and you won't be disappointed. Plenty of parking, small coffee shop and gift shop. Lovely to walk around the gardens and then around the house. Has a vegetable garden, lake and a mote around the house. It's a national heritage , so quite expensive for what it is but great for a card holder.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shopaholic700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
346 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was 10 years since we last visited this wonderful house when the rebuilding was in full swing, so that time the viewing was a bit restricted. However, this time all was open and as we went from room to room, we were greeted without fail in each room by the NT volunteers. They all, without prompting, offered to tell us details of the room that we were in, which added to the enjoyment of the visit.

The gardens are smallish, but there are extensive other grounds to explore, with the offer of the loan of a blanket and deck chairs for a picnic. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iceman123EastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Staff are so knowledgeable & passionate”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I went here in June with my boyfriend; we're new National Trust members and are slowly working our way around all the NT places in the South East! Ightham Mote was beautiful with lovely gardens; we really enjoyed wandering around the grounds, and exploring inside the house. The best part however was Diane, a National Trust member of staff/volunteer, who was incredibly knowledgeable, taking the time to explain everything and patiently answering questions. We'll be back - thank you!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RubyM8L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
224 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent moated historic house - do not miss it”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The is a beautiful and very old historic house surrounded by its own moat and I don't see how anyone cannot enjoy it. There are also lovely grounds and some gardens for a walk or to sit and enjoy the peacefulness.

Don't miss it - this is a must. We have been twice now and this latest visit was just as good as the first time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ightham Mote also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Hever, Sevenoaks District
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Ightham Mote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing