We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe
Ranked #1 of 6 Ayampe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I'm not too sure I can add much more to the 5 star reviews. All I can say is that they are correct. The family that actively runs this place is incredible. As soon as I walked in, they made me feel so welcomed and special. You cannot fake this genuine kind of warmth day after day either, and there are too many reviews on tripadvisor that confirm they are the real thing. The beds are super comfortable, I had 4 pillows!, the shower is fantastic, great AC if you need it, a very safe environment, easy to meet other travelers (Keith, Marilyn and other staff facilitate this), great breakfast and a FANTASTIC salad bar. Also, they organized a birding guide for me who was very knowledgeable (he doesn't speak English but that was great for me - got to hammer him with my bad Spanish). And if you want to learn to surf, this is apparently the place to do it. I really, really did not want to leave this piece of heaven. I will certainly go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARILYN K, General Manager at La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad to know you enjoyed your stay. It's also so nice to hear that your birdwatching tour was a memorable one!
Until next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
83
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

If what you want is to UNWIND, RELAX, and DISCONNECT... this is where you wanna be. I stayed a week and never ever tired of their bkfst & their salad bar. All the bare necesities for a relaxing, low key, low cost vacation are right here... and if not you can get it within walking distance. It was great. You arrive a stranger and leave as family. Can't thank you enough Marilyn for fighting with my airline to get my lost suitcase delivered to the hotel doorstep!!!! I think I actually never heard a "no" from you in the whole week we were there.. if she doesnt have it she'll get it to you!!!! Not one bad thing to say... except that the week went by TOO FAST!!! Thanks for an awesome experience!!!

Room Tip: If you want a TV, in your room make sure you specify, not all of them have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WNDYPEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARILYN K, General Manager at La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for your great words... and for sharing your experience at La Buena Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Marilyn and Keith (the owner/managers) of La Buena Vida make everyone feel at home. Ayampe is by itself one of the nicest beaches in Ecuador, and La Buena Vida provides great rooms, views, and a comfortable restaurant. Just introduced a salad bar in the afternoon, and on my second visit back in the area I've been there for lunch every day. If you're a surfer or want to learn, Keith is the man to talk to. He's experienced surfer and instructor and you'll likely meet other serious surfers too.

Room Tip: Schedule a massage, and definitely make the salad lunch part of your day. Call or reserve well ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARILYN K, General Manager at La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you Michael... this is what keeps us working hard! Knowing that everything you experienced at la Buena Vida was great to you! Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed three nights at this gorgeous place and couldn't say one bad thing about it. The food was delicious, the service before and while we were there was great, the rooms were clean, air conditioned and spacious (lovely design too) and it was in a beautiful location, Ayampe! We can't wait to head back there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PipDenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARILYN K, General Manager at La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you! We can'twait to have you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I decided on a whim to get married in Las Tunas, Ecuador, not expecting we'd actually follow through. My husband had been to Ecuador a couple years before and met Marilyn and Keith, owners of La Buena Vida. He contacted Marilyn to see if she knew someone who could help us plan the wedding and she said she was up for the job! We couldn't have been more thrilled! Marilyn worked with us for many months arranging everything for us. She blocked of her entire hotel to accommodate our guests from the states or found rooms at other hotels once she ran out of room, planned the decorations, food, cake, alcohol, transportation, hair, makeup and anything else you can think of!! She was more than willing to have the wedding and reception at her hotel but we ended up finding some other venues. Really any of the options in that area are beautiful. Needless to say, everything turned out so beautiful- a wedding anyone should be jealous of!!

Beyond the wedding, the hotel itself was wonderful! It's definitely the place to be if your used to the amenities of the states. Plus there's a kitchen to cook breakfast, lunch and sometimes dinner. Not to mention that they have fresh squeezed juice every morning- try the passion fruit if the have it!! Sushi night is fantastic and is done once a week. A spa and surf lessons are available. The beach is a short walk as are many other fantastic restaurants. We had several guests travel around Ecuador after staying at La Buena Vida and told us that you simply can't beat it!

Other things that are nearby is a great coffee shop, pizza, yoga...really anything you can think of. If you're interested in leaving ayampe for a day, the bus comes right by La Buena Vida and is relatively easy to utilize.

By the time you have to leave, you'll probably be thinking that you never want to leave! If so, Keith and Marilyn also do some real estate on the side- talk about people who do it all!

Room Tip: Al, of Marilyn and Keith's rooms are great but there are several options. You can get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoraVanDyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARILYN K, General Manager at La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion! We were honored to plan your wedding and host your guests. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I came to Ecuador not knowing what I would expect. Marilyn and Keith went out of their way to may my group feel very comfortable. We had such a great time that i'm returning back in 3 months and I will recommend this great place to all my friends:) The location is great and the facility is beautiful maintain. Keep the great work up guys. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hads18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Buena Vida E, Owner at La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you so much for the great words! It will be nice to see you again in 3 months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Buena Vida was our first "home" in Ecuador and our hosts made sure it was a good entry. Marilyn & Keith were very accommodating, generous with their local knowledge and worked very hard to ensure our stay with them was top-notch. Their kids are simply beautiful & delightful. We sampled different meals in town and it is no lie that their breakfasts are the best! Their house staff was very attentive and the rooms were always clean. Keith and his surf instructor at that time, Roberto Lynch, tried to make the best of my surf lessons in an off-season (November) and their coaching has been instrumental. Their surf packages (with video analysis, fitness classes and massage) are a good deal and I would recommend it during the peak season. Do not pass up on a massage with Andrea!

Note that Ayampe is a small town off the main road and the locals like their fiestas -- it gets loud -- so come prepared to be one with your surroundings. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Turn on the fan, close windows and bring earplugs/white noise to cut down the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Buena Vida E, General Manager at La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your great feedback! We work our hardest to make everyone feel at home and we are happy to know that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayampe
10.7 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tsafiki Hosteria
Tsafiki Hosteria
#1 of 2 in Las Tunas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finca Punta Ayampe
Finca Punta Ayampe
#1 of 11 in Ayampe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Spondylus Lodge Hotel
Spondylus Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Ayampe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Los Orishas
Hostal Los Orishas
#2 of 6 in Ayampe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe

Property: La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe
Address: KM 86 Ruta Del Spondylus, Ayampe 00001, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Ayampe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ayampe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Buena Vida is a family owned Boutique Hotel & Surf School in the beautiful town of Ayampe. With spacious rooms and private bathrooms. Very comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses will make your stay pleasant. The owners manage the property giving you the best and friendliest service possible. La Buena Vida offers American breakfasts, wraps, snacks and smoothies all day. The cafeteria is open from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm. Laundry facilities on site. Massages and Reiki therapies are available. Surf board rentals & lessons with instructors with more than 25 years experience are also available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows La Buena Vida Hotel Ayampe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing