We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a great stay - would visit again”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Murrayfield

Murrayfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Murrayfield Cottage
St Abbs harbour St Abbs from Coldingham Sands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Murrayfield Cottage
St Abbs harbour
St Abbs from Coldingham Sands
St Abbs harbour
Sitting room
Sitting room showing dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
En suite bathroom
En suite from master bedroom
Master bedroom
Shower room
Double bedoom upstairs
Single bedroom upstairs
Single bedroom upstairs
View from upstairs to start of coastal path
Garden
Garden looking to sea
Creel path from St Abbs to Coldingham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St Abbs, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IANB_BTN
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Had a great stay - would visit again”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely cottage. Having previously owned a similar property in the village - it was exciting to see Murrayfield. Nicely furnished and all well presented. I did get stuck, only for a few minutes with the lock - soon opened the door. And please note this is indeed an old fishermans cottage - so the stairs are narrow - use the handrails and you will be fine. We had a lovely stay - just wished we could have stayed a bit longer. Great walks, a great harbour and plenty of fishing! Thank you for making us so welcome. We all had a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very warm, modern and cosy whilst keeping to the original cottage style
Liked least: The stairs - just use the railings.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Glad you had a good holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“we enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is very nice, in an excellent position.
I realise when you go on holiday you should not spend your time watching tv which is just as well as it took till Wednesday to master it.
We added a potato masher to the kitchen tools.
The bedroom door lock was a bit dodgy.
This sounds as if I am a moaner I am not and both my wife and I had lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The weather was excellent.
Liked least: No dislikes.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean R
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little harbour village.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Well placed cottage for access to the harbour and beach.
Only two of us in the cottage and facilities were adequate. I think with five things would be cramped.
Equipment all worked but the decor and cleanliness needed upgrade.
Friendly neighbours who even fetched washing in when it rained!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Sorry that the cottage did not live up to your expectations but this is a traditional cottage and the description and photos do show clearly the nature and style of accommodation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael P
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pretty little fisherman's cottage”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cosy cottage in a great location for both the St Abbs harbour and coldingham beach. Great for walks and bird watching. Friendly locals and lovely lady in the post office.

The cottage was quite well equipt with most things you needed. It could have been cleaned a lot better than it was, as there was food under the table and unemptied bin from previous visit and quite dusty. But over all very pleasant. They could do with wifi though!

There isn't a great deal to do in the village, no pub or evening entertainment. So be prepared to travel back out quite a bit until you find some where. It's nice for kids, but they can become a bit bored if there for a whole week.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryC101
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scottish holiday”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were all very pleased with the holiday booking all was as described in the original website information. The accommodation was like home from home and was very comfortable and relaxed. We were within easy reach of the harbour at St Abb's and could walk out in the evenings if we wanted to eat out although everything was there to self cater. We would be more than happy to recommend this place to others and hope to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
So glad you enjoyed your holiday and I hope the diving was good
Regards heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penelopep...
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
“brillant stay great cottage in special place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

myself and 2 sisters spent a wonderful week in the cottage confortable an spacious every thing you need for summer or winter. great walks down to harbour,and beyond or take a very pleasent stroll in the evening to the next bay for an evening drink and watch the waves roll in. the neighbours were so friendly and helpful we all loved this special cottage a brillant find for anyone.and a real treat eat the local fish so so good.its every thing you could want in a weeks break thank you heather penny and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its location
Liked least: needs a sharp knife
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ES1414
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“ideal seaside cottage”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A charming fisherman's cottage, in peaceful location, with real fire for chilly nights. Our 8 year old loved the single room, with combed ceiling and extensive library of videos. Plenty of toys/games for younger guests and challenging jigsaws for older ones!
Ideal location for walking down the Cliff Path to Coldingham Sands, or to the harbour.
Helpful and friendly service in the village shop, where we ordered newspapers for our stay.
Delicious bacon rolls made to order in St Abbs Old School Cafe and an interesting display in St Abbs Visitor Centre, both a 5 minute walk away.
We look forward to returning in July/August, when the village putting green is open.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing