We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice, but owner sends out unpleasant emails when you give him a less than perfect review...”
Review of Hotel Mounea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mounea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marquay
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great choice, but owner sends out unpleasant emails when you give him a less than perfect review...”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I decided to post this review as I have stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend some weeks ago. I really believe in crowdsourced recommendations and so every time I review some place, I am trying to stay respectful and honest. So is also my review of this place:

Very good rooms, plenty of facilities to spend free time, nice breakfast and gorgeous views from the room. Though if your French is not up to scratch, you will have difficulties communicating with the staff. Also, they are not around the reception all the time and there is no bell to ring or any way to call the receptionist, just wait around or come back later, but no big deal.

If you are looking to stay in Sarlat, this place is also very near by, but the road is narrow and a bit winding, so it will take you longer than you maybe imagine when somebody says it's 7 km away.


Just a side note: When I wrote this review on Booking.com, the owner got back to me with "I don't know what you are talking about ?!" email referring to the points of improvement I suggested. I did not feel that was very professional of him, but okay. I am personally not going to return there, but for others, I do believe this is a strong candidate, if you are considering a place in the beautiful French countryside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Livja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    44
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
100
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a fantastic time at Mounea. The hotel is beautifully located in Marquay, a small village in the Dordogne, with several lovely hiking trails nearby (also good for running). Very quiet and quaint, yet easy access to many tourist attractions.
The owners are wonderful. Also good for kids with pool table, table tennis, petanque and swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeisjeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
browndogSF
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This small inn was a great find. Near Sarlat but in the charming town of Marquay, swimming pool, views, beautiful gardens, wonderful hosts, new bathrooms, large and very clean rooms, breakfast... just perfect and unbeatable for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browndogSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, well kept hotel in the Perigord, hotel Mounea is it.
If you want your kids entertained (ping pong, pool, darts, petanque) while you enjoy the view, hotel Mounea is it.
The owners are very helpful and care about the quality of your stay in their establishment. Furthermore they know the area quite well and will , if you allow them, give you great tips on excursions...
The hotel is located in a small hilltop village about 10 kms outside Sarlat.
Breakfast is more than adequate. The food was well presented and the selection was broad enough to please anyone. The best breakfast we had during our 7-day trip in Perigord and Dordogne.
We look forward to our next stay. Our son is already asking to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHJ255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan (Italy)
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I've just come back from my summer holiday in France and I want to say thank you very much to the owners of Hotel Mounea at Marquay (France, Périgord).
The hotel is very well kept, with a wonderful view from the terrace over the swimmig pool. You can relax after a day spent visiting a lot of places of interest in the surrounding.
Marquay is a village very quiet and the room in Hotel Mounea was very comfortable, so I slept very well. Also the owners help you in everything, so it seems to be at home.
Thank a lot again, I really hope to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The young couple who run this Hotel deserve all the success that they are working hard to achieve. Its location, in a small hilltop village is lovely and our bedroom had beautiful views across the outdoor pool and the surrounding countryside. So, the decor in the bedroom/bathroom was not 4-star, but we found it very comfortable and it served our needs well.
The Continental Breakfast was well presented and more than adequate and always accompanied by a sincere greeting by the owners.
Our afternoon sunbathing, after a few hours sightseeing, was always made better by being able to have a drink by the pool, accompanied on one occasion with personalised beer mats!!
We would have love to return to this Hotel, when visiting the Dordogne in the years to come.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niort, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

stayed 3 nights which was 4 nights too long the welcome was good and then we were shown our room which was in an appalling state of decor, the walls were all wallpapered in blown vynyl but applied very poorly and almost all the joints were peeling off, there was also damage to the paper and stains . The bathroom had a bath with a shower hose so it was a case one person holding the shower head whilst the other bent down to wash, the wallpaper was mouldy

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chas049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marquay
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mounea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mounea

Property: Hotel Mounea
Address: La bourg, 24620 Marquay, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Marquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mounea 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the special frame of a small village typical of the black Perigord located in the middle of the mythical triangle SARLAT,EYZIES,LASCAUX.Brigitte receive you in his calm hotel ** giving a panoramic view on the campaingn of Black Perigord.14 Confortable rooms, very aquiped with television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mounea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing