We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Were hosts, now friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mounea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mounea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marquay
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Were hosts, now friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel run by Joel and Brigitte a few times over the years.They have always made us feel more than welcome in their lovely, cosy hotel, surrounded by stunning views of the Perigord Noir countryside.
The hotel itself is always spotlessly clean, the swimming pool is a decent size in which to cool off after a day's sightseeing and the well-kept gardens are a perfect setting in which to enjoy an evening drink.
The village of Marquay itself is extremely central to many attractions in this beautiful area and has a couple of good restaurants and a handy little grocery store.
Would most definately recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visionabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    43
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights after reading positive reviews.
We had an upstairs room overlooking the pool and countryside - comfortable and pleasant. It's a lovely little village - very picturesque and a short drive from a number of attractions including Sarlat, Les Eyzies, Chateau de Commarque and Château de Puymartin.
We requested "demi-pension" (there is a bar in the village serving some food but chips and salad with everything - after that a drive to somewhere else) so we had breakfast at the hotel but the evening meal at the local restaurant. This was great for us - the waitress told us what they were intending to give us and we ate it - although we did make a substitution as my wife isn't keen on goat cheese. We paid for apéritifs and drinks in the restaurant (about 3€ each) at the end of our stay and the food went on our hotel bill.
The weather was fine when we visited and we made full use of the pool and the sunbeds. We ate our breakfast (and on a couple of occasions, picnics) in the garden under the trees.
Obviously the rooms can get warm at these times not having fans/air-con.
Our main memory is how friendly and welcoming Joel and his wife Bridget are - Joel was very patient and helped me with my French.
We have never had such a friendly hotel owner and he treated us as friends rather than guests.
It was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mialet, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant visit to marquay and this hotel was a great find. Very clean and comfortable. The hosts were very kind and there was a good breakfast at an additional cost.
The room was comfortable and bathroom newly fitted. Would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

A wonderful find very close to Sarlat, in a picturesque setting. Very friendly and helpful hosts, rooms immaculate, lovely rural views, breakfast substantial. A pleasant, inexpensive option away from the tourist hordes. Well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and little girl stayed at Hotel Mounea for three nights. We had a lovely stay here. The room was absolutely spotless, cleaned everyday and had a beautiful view of the French countryside. The weather wasn't great whilst we were there which was a shame as it would have been wonderful to use the swimming pool and relax in the lovely grounds. Our little girl really enjoyed using the ping pong table and playground area. We had breakfast every day which was quite simple but lovely and fresh, various breads and cakes, orange juice, coffee etc.
There is only one restaurant in the tiny village of Marquay so you do need a car to make the most of some of the wonderful restaurants in the area. Sarlat is around a 15 minute drive away. If you want somewhere to chill out and enjoy the French countryside this hotel is the place to stay. The owners are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely return if we are ever in this region of France.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeedsLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We took a detour from our family home in France to go to Sarlat and booked to stay a night in Hotel Mounea. It was really very cheap for a family of four and we were very pleasantly surprised when we got there. It was a stunning spot, so peaceful with beautiful gardens and a very clean pool. The rooms are comfortable and functional and the bathrooms were spotless. It was a little drive from Sarlat and we were there on a Sunday night so food for us fussy eaters was a challenge but there are restaurants within walking distance. There was plenty for the kids to do, table tennis, pool, pool table etc and the room open up on to a lovely balcony with stunning views. We kept the door open at night and were stunned by the beautiful night sky. I wish we had had the chance to stay a little longer, I would highly recommend this beautiful spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I decided to post this review as I have stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend some weeks ago. I really believe in crowdsourced recommendations and so every time I review some place, I am trying to stay respectful and honest. So is also my review of this place:

Very good rooms, plenty of facilities to spend free time, nice breakfast and gorgeous views from the room. Though if your French is not up to scratch, you will have difficulties communicating with the staff. Also, they are not around the reception all the time and there is no bell to ring or any way to call the receptionist, just wait around or come back later, but no big deal.

If you are looking to stay in Sarlat, this place is also very near by, but the road is narrow and a bit winding, so it will take you longer than you maybe imagine when somebody says it's 7 km away.


Just a side note: When I wrote this review on Booking.com, the owner got back to me with "I don't know what you are talking about ?!" email referring to the points of improvement I suggested. I did not feel that was very professional of him, but okay. I am personally not going to return there, but for others, I do believe this is a strong candidate, if you are considering a place in the beautiful French countryside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Livja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marquay
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
5.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#15 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mounea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mounea

Property: Hotel Mounea
Address: La bourg, 24620 Marquay, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Marquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mounea 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the special frame of a small village typical of the black Perigord located in the middle of the mythical triangle SARLAT,EYZIES,LASCAUX.Brigitte receive you in his calm hotel ** giving a panoramic view on the campaingn of Black Perigord.14 Confortable rooms, very aquiped with television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mounea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing