We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
245
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarie laurewonderful hostseach morningdordogne valleyfabulous cookfrancesarlatlodging
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2011

It would be difficult to overstate the unique treasure and quiet beauty of Maison de Marquay. We had the pleasure of staying here twice (the first time for four nights, and the second time for three) during our two weeks in France.
Marie Laure and Gerard have created a truly magical environment in the Dordogne region. To begin, we were welcomed with a sparkling wine and little treats. The accommodations were pristine; from a design perspective: serene, modern with spot on touches on French history, most welcoming and hospitable.
Breakfast supersedes any pre-conceived ideas of typical "bed and breakfast" fare. We were offered coffee or tea, cereals, homemade yogurt, toast, fresh made jams, seasonal fruit, homemade kiwi juice, an assortment of breads and croissants, and eggs with a choice of bacon.
We took our first dinner at the Maison, and initially wanted to try out other local cafes, etc. After trying a couple other places, we requested to have our remaining meals at Maison. Gerard is a visionary chef and Marie Laure was quick to help us chose the correct wine to complement duck pate, quail, the most delicate salmon, confit, whispery slices of veal, shrimp ravioli, and decadent desserts.
As soft music wafted from the living area, we ended our evenings either with a stroll around the village, or simply sitting and enjoying the garden.
The rooms were comfortable and beautifully appointed. If it's helpful to know a few specifics: full bathroom in rooms, wonderful smelling soaps, fresh linens daily, hair dryers and internet connection provided upon request.
It is in a prime location to access Sarlat, Domme, Rocamadour, Beynac and many other destinations.
Marie Laure and Gerard are genuine, generous, and we left feeling as if we had experienced a very great secret. We hope to return to France one day, and, should we have the opportunity, we have already discussed how much we would love to revisit the Maison.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARQUAY24, Propriétaire at Maison de Marquay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor site. We have been very happy to participate to the succes of your stay in France. A french proverb say : " Never two without three..." so we are waiting you for the third time.....at home.

Salutations Périgourdines
Marie-Laure et Gérard
Maison de Marquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Maison de Marquay is truly a hidden jewel.

This petit maison d'hotes (small inn) with 5 rooms is centrally located in a small village in the Dordogne approximately 10 minutes from Sarlat . It's location is ideal for visiting all the fabulous sites in the Dordogne e.g. Lascaux and other caves, beautiful villages like Beynac, Domme, Castelnaud, etc. and all the fabulous bastide villages in the valleys of Dordogne abd Lot Rivers. It's also ideal for Dordogne river canoeing, biking and outdoor walking/hiking. The Maison itself is an antique village home which has been beautifully renovated and decorated by it's current owners, Marie-Laure and Gerard Lerchundi. We stayed in one of their larger rooms, which consisted of 2 rooms - a small living room decorated with some antique pieces beautifully mixed with more comtemporary pieces. The bed was very comfortable and the linens of highest quality. Foods was exceptional. Breakfast started with freshly squeezed juice, wonderful fruit, choice of coffee, excellent selection of croissants and breads, home made yogurts, eggs and other breakfast items. Gerad is a gourmet cook. Our dinners were fabulous. Gerard went out of his way of cooking the very best meats, fish and vegetables found in the Dordogne. In our travels, we've eaten in some of the best restaurants around the world, and Gerard's cooking was comparable if not better - whether it be appetizers, main courses or desserts. The wine selection was small but excellent. The table settings were beautiful, with nice china, silverware and simple but lovely white antique tablecloths/napkins.

Everything at Maison de Marquay is professionally and beautifully done. Marie- Laure and Gerard are friendly, helpful, and go out of their way to make their guests comfortable. We highly recommend it to anyone who would like to visit the Dordogne and stay in a small inn, with personalized care and gourmet food.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ExpertTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews