We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, elegant rooms. Gourmet cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison de Marquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison de Marquay
Ranked #1 of 2 Marquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torino di Sangro, Italy
2 reviews
“Spacious, elegant rooms. Gourmet cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have been guests at this woderful house twice. It is with reluctancy that we share our excellent impression about this house: by doing so there is some risk that the next time we call the few rooms are fully booked! Gerard's food is so good that our daugthter (10) didn't want to go for any other restaurant during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurizio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
182
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We made a last-minute decision to stay with Marie-Laure, as one of our party was ill and we could not make the long trip we had planned. This was a fortunate find. The house is pleasantly situated in a tiny village close to Sarlat, so it's a great base for that area where there's lots to see. The rooms are large and well appointed, and Marie-Laure is a real treat as hostess. She has an excellent command of English, and will help with suggestions about what to do.

The real highlight of the stay is the food. We had dinner both nights and they rated as among our best for the whole trip. Everything was fresh and local, and advance reservations are a must. Breakfast is also fabulous.

One small caveat: there was a musty smell in the closet. And the floors are all covered in sisal, which is an excellent floor covering but hard on bare feet, so take some slippers. We'd certainly go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnview26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

We loved every minute of our stay. Can't recommend highly enough. Perfect for an adult retreat. Excellent base for Sarlat and surrounds. Food is as good as you will get and no driving down country lanes afterwards. Sophisticated yet friendly. Fantastic in every way!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karenbAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Marie-Laurie and Gerard are charming and wonderful people. They are very welcoming and made us feel at home. Maison de Marquay is a relaxing, peaceful and lovely home. we hade dinner there and the food was absolutely delicious. Breakfast was excellent with home made food. Thank you Marie-Laurie and Gerard for a fabulous stay.

Mac

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac26uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We knew from looking at their website and the other reviews that we were going to love this place but it still managed to exceed our expectation.
Arriving early evening, after a busy day house hunting in the region, we were met by the delightful Marie Laure who invited us to an aperitif before showing us to our room. What a lovely warm welcome and it gave us time to admire the beautifully styled lounge and dining area, full of gorgeous collections which really make this house a home. After a shower and freshen up we made our way down to the cosy dining room where the fire was roaring. Gerard created a wonderful meal of regional cuisine, using fresh local produce, which was not far off michelin standard. Having over indulged we made our way back to our spacious room for a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep.
Gerard were so helpful and enthusiastic in advising us on routes and things to see, including Rocamadour and Sarlat, which is really close by. We can't recommend this place highly enough for those who like the small 'boutique' hotels of quality, style and personality which aren't overly touristic but are close enough to visit all the sights. Make sure you sample Gerard's cuisine and take time out to get to know this wonderful couple and their beautiful home. We'll definitely be going back! Julia & Chris

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
345 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

In the beautiful old village of Marquay, this place was a bit tricky to find, but the village map e-mailed by the owners in advance was invaluable. You feel like your staying in someone's home, which indeed you are, but the owners are perfect hosts. Very friendly and helpful, but without being too intrusive. They are obviously proud of their house and pay a lot of attention to detail.The room was excellent with an enormous bathroom and no TV (a bonus!!) ..... sorry, can't remember which one it was.

Breakfasts were excellent, French style - no greasy fry-ups here. We had dinner on one evening and it was superb. Couldn't afford to do it every night, but it'd be difficult to find a better meal within easy driving distance, I reckon.

The area has numerous historic attractions: castles, stately homes and, of course, the many famous prehistoric caves. And the wonderful old town of Sarlat is within 20 minutes drive.

We will return, without doubt !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr. Oxford, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were staying near here so only sampled the food rather than the accommodation. A delightfully peaceful setting, we ate dinner in the garden. Delicious food with local seasonal ingredients. A really enjoyable evening in this small family run, friendly establishment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Messrs.deBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marquay
5.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Marquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Marquay

Property: Maison de Marquay
Address: Le Bourg, 24620 Marquay, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Marquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Sarlat, ideally located in the center of Black Périgord, in Sarlat triangle, Eyzies and Lascaux. Brood in the middle of the village of Marquay, house of character, with restaurant, terrace, swimming pool and private garden where you will be able to have your breakfast or to dine. You will be able to also benefit from the living rooms, and the wintergarden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison de Marquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing