We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Barry du Grand Chemin
Ranked #2 of 7 Le Caylar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our second visit as we stayed in June, as well. We were travelling from Dieppe to Marseillan and La Caylar is a good departure point for completing the journey. On both occasions we opted to join the guest table for dinner - a wise decision! The setting is convivial and all the guests we met were nice people and very relaxed; which is largely down to the atmosphere created by Guy and Martine. They are available at all times to help with questions but they are such good hosts. There ability to speak several languages makes it easy to talk with other guests and have fun. Without doubt, the quality of the food - freshly cooked by Guy is outstanding and presented to a high standard. The whole evening is a delightful experience which ends with a few steps to your room, to sink gratefully into bed for a blissful sleep. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 has an area outside which is very pleasant for pre-dinner drinks. Good bathroom fully fitted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis8391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lebarry34, Propriétaire at Le Barry du Grand Chemin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you Denis for your kind comments. We are happy you found our location perfect and loved the atmosphere and dinner.
Thant you for your highly recommendation. We would love to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed three nights and the lovely Belgian couple with the dog Victor, a Bernese Mountain dog, are great amazing hosts !!!! A nice and beautiful stone house witha perfect green garden brings you to a total relaxed atmosphere, and the food........ Well the food deserves a special chapter!!!!!!!!! Simply U n f o r g e t a b l e tasteful french savory recipes coming out from the hands of talented Guy plus the support of lovely Martine, his wife.
C'est parfait!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raul961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stopped over here with friends on our way to a gite further south. It is run by a lovely Belgian(?) couple, Guy and Martine, with help from their Burmese Mountain Dog, Victor! Rooms are nicely private, opening out onto a lovely garden/terrace with lots of interesting sculptures done by Martine's father. They suggested we join them for dinner in the evening for 28 euros and it was an inspired decision, starting with aperitifs on the terrace, and followed by the tastiest meal of our whole trip to my mind! And a cheeseboard to die for. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed one night whilst heading from England to Valencia, having visited the nearby Millau Viaduct. We chose based entirely upon the location, but it turned out to be a delightful stay, brief though it was. Having booked we had an email from Guy and Martine, the owners, asking if we would like to eat in the evening with them and other guests. Saying yes was an inspired choice, and the meal was both delicious and highly sociable, ending with us all traipsing by torchlight up the hill in the village to take in the night sky, Milky Way and all!

The room was pleasant enough, and all open onto a small but secluded garden area with plenty of scope for relaxing with a book and a drink. The private parking is a bonus, and the dining room is a gorgeous space - 17th century with a vaulted stone ceiling.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a little more privacy and a bed with no footboard - well worth the 5E supplement if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Arno1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry3449, Propriétaire at Le Barry du Grand Chemin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sandrafc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry D, Owner at Le Barry du Grand Chemin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres sont identiques et collées les unes aux autres, il est impossible de choisir
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BSA171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry D, Owner at Le Barry du Grand Chemin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Caylar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Rocher
Hotel Du Rocher
#1 of 1 in Le Caylar
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gites du Caylar
Gites du Caylar
#1 of 7 in Le Caylar
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les 4 Templiers
Les 4 Templiers
#2 of 2 in Le Caylar
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Les Capitelles
Les Capitelles
#3 of 7 in Le Caylar
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Ancien hotel du Larzac
#6 of 7 in Le Caylar
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cour du Pommier
La Cour du Pommier
#5 of 7 in Le Caylar
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Barry du Grand Chemin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Barry du Grand Chemin

Address: 88 Faubourg Saint Martin, 34520 Le Caylar, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Le Caylar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Le Caylar
Price Range: £66 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously a farm of which the oldest part, a vaulted room from de 17th century is very well preserved. It's where breakfast and dinner are served. You'll enjoy a restful and pleasant stay in this typical house, where restfulness and authenticity will seduce you. The five rooms, all of them at the ground level are accessible through the garden. In the garden you can laze away in the shadow of the gallery or in the sun, enjoy a good moment of relaxation and rest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Barry du Grand Chemin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing