We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive, modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Salento Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Salento Real
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Salento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Attractive, modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Salento Real is a very nice, modern hotel with small but well equipped rooms and an attractive covered courtyard between the rooms. It is built in the traditional local style with most of the rooms facing into the courtyard. However, this means that the rooms are rather gloomy, unless the windows and doors are left open,but then they lose their privacy. A few rooms at the front have views over the town, but they cost more. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main street in Salento.
We found it cool in the dining area and the courtyard because it is open to the fresh air.
The breakfast was okay and the staff were friendly. There is free wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    132
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
92
201
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Nice layout and friendly staff. Good breakfast though they get busy at seven with everyone going out for hikes. I was pleased I got a room at the back because of the dogs at night, the hens and the general bustle at reception from six onwards would have led to sleep problems. I got a 50% discount on Expedia which made the room good value. Good hot showers

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is very well situated in a side street a short walk from the central square. Rooms are clean and well kept and the staff are very friendly. Hot water is by solar roof panels however, contrary to other guests comments, I found there to be plenty of hot water even if it takes a bit of time to come down from the storage tanks. A good value hotel worth its price, however I have deducted a star due to an issue with the 16% tax they charge on the bill. I asked for my bill to be made up the evening before departure and there were several ‘excuses’ why they could not do this. In the morning I had to pay without getting an invoice or receipt. Very poor book keeping. By the way the 16% tax is not refundable at the airport as it should not be charged in the first place. That being said I would still use it if I were to return to Salento.

Room Tip: Solar water heating means its better to shower in the evenings, as the sun does not shine at night i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I only stayed 2 nights here while visting the cafe region and the Cocora valley.

This place is quite new (opened new-year 2013) and has nicely decorated rooms above a covered patio.

Liliana and Joanna are wonderful guests and make you feel at home.

You can eat in the restaurant adjacent to the lobby, try the local trout, which is quite tasty.

The hotel is located a few blocks away from the main square, far away enough to avoid the noise of the many bars from the square and calle real.

Probably one of the best places of Salento.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BelTiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights last week and we loved it! The hotel is such a beautiful building with its courtyard and art everywhere. We had room 306 which was lovely, spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The staff is so sweet and do everything to make your stay as nice as possible. The location is perfect, quiet, though in front of a primary school, and yes, children tend to get a bit noisy at break times, so no big deal at all. You walk in 2,5 minutes to the main street where the main action is, close yet far enough to have a good night's rest. We had an absolutely unforgettable tour with Luis, the Fog Walkers Guide with his office right next to the hotel reception desk. Don't miss this, you will not regret it. Luis is really the best, and if your Spanish is not so perfect, no problem, Luis' English is very good.

Room Tip: I would recommend room 306 because of the windows towards the staircase so you have plenty light, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeesD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The staff is wonderful. Joanna and Liliana were especially accommodating to every need.
Room was compact but comfortable and clean. Shower was great--hot water and good pressure. Breakfast was above average with more choices than other places I stayed in Colombia. My only complaint is the noise from outside the hotel. They could use better soundproofing. Saturday night was especially noisy. Another quibble is poor lighting in the room. We asked for an extra lamp and got one. The bathroom light is above the toilet not the mirror. Obviously not designed by a woman.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sannettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I just spent 5 nights here on our second visit to Salento and I have to say it is a great place to stay. The location is excellent being very central. The staff are very friendly and polite, many of whom speak English which is very helpful for us linguistically challenged traveler's.
Our flight from Bogota was to arrive after 11.00pm and so I inquired about the hotel pick up service and I am glad we did. I received prompt and courteous emails from Diana regarding the pick up and I am sure this would apply to any queries that you might have.
Jorge was there to greet us and provided a very comfortable ride to the hotel and great conversation. I can highly recommend it.
We had a very nice room with a balcony window. The rooms are large and looked to be throughout the hotel and the bathrooms are a treat, very modern decor with a huge shower and piping hot solar heated water. Everything very clean. The bed was so comfortable.
The breakfast is also not to be missed.....everything being so fresh. The fruit plate, juice and eggs. One of the joy's of eating in Colombia is the freshness of the ingredients most of which are sourced locally. The coffee is also very good.
The internet access was consistent and good.
I really hope we get the opportunity to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel EL Mirador Del Cocora
0.1 mi away
Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento
0.1 mi away
BetaHotel
BetaHotel
#3 of 6 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#5 of 6 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coffee Tree Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Casa Borbon
Casa Borbon
#3 of 38 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salento Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salento Real

Property: Hotel Salento Real
Address: Calle 3 # 4-31, Salento 631020, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Quindio Department > Salento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Salento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salento Real 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to book a hotel in Salento ? Don't miss out on staying in Hotel Salento in the heart of Salento. A Hotel forged in the traditional hospitality of the Quindio department which reflects the genuine love story of a Colombian family with the village of Salento, the Quindio department and the Coffee Plantation Zone Hotel Salento Real opened its doors in Salento to become the starting point for diverse and enthralling experiences not only in the village of Salento but also in Quindio department and the Coffee Plantation Zone. Welcome to Salento, welcome to Hotel Salento Real. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Salento Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing