We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, clean hotel, excellent stay!”
Review of Hotel Salento Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Salento Real
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Salento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, clean hotel, excellent stay!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am a Canadian staying in Salento for the first time and Salento Real was a great choice.The staff was very kind. They offered traditional Colombian meals for breakfast which were excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean with an excellent showers. Took a tour of "baye de cocora" with fog travels, the provides tour agency at the hotel, and it was absolutely amazing! Our tour guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable and great company! Salento Real is a must stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    141
    36
    4
    7
See reviews for
97
210
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Salento is so touristic that there are many hostels and guesthouses in town. But if you'd like to stay in a place that offers something extra than the standard "hostal" then this hotel is a good place to be.

The location couldn't be better: Salento is very small and the hotel is in the centre, yet in a tranquil street. The rooms are comfortable and I loved the fact that this is an environmental conscious hotel. For instance, the water is heated using solar power, and there are recycling bins for different materials by the lobby.

Any tour you need to arrange can be booked with the in-house tour desk.

Salento Real has some of the best breakfast we enjoyed during our stay in Colombia. Everything is prepared fresh when you order it and, apart from delicious coffee, fresh fruit and juices, you may choose a combination of hot dishes. The breakfast menu includes local specialties, such as stuffed arepas, and other international goods (pancakes, cereal, eggs cooked your way, etc). My favorite were the quesadillas with scrambled eggs and, of course, the famous local coffee!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated on a quiet side street off the main street. The hotel is what I suppose you could call a boutique hotel. It's walls are adorned with bright works from local artists. The hotel itself is bright and open. The rooms whilst not spacious are reasonably spaced. The shower was large and excelent. Beds were firm and very comfirtable. My only negative about the rooms would be that they get a little warm and they have no air con or easy way of getting a cooling breeze.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was very good. A nice combination of eggs as you like and tasty local fruit. The best mango I ate in Colombia!
All of the staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Several staff speak reasonable English. All in all a lovely hotel and would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Fantastic hotel, clean, comfy rooms, great shower, great bed! Staff very friendly and helpful, also you can book great tours here to cocora and the coffee plantations, for the price your paying for the hotel, I wasn't expecting the amazing standard I got, oh and the breakfast was also great! Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel Salento Real is lovely. Great place to relax and shower after a day of trekking.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

The shower is top. Spacious. Clean. Good temperature. Huge water pressure. Eco-friendly (solar powered). Best shower we experienced in all of the hotels we stayed in (most of them much more expensive than Hotel Salento Real) while travelling through Colombia and Panama.

The Wifi signal inside the bedroom was also much stronger and more reliable than in most of the other hotels we stayed in.

The hotel is in a great location. Close to Camino Real, the central Plaza and bus office.

It was also very convenient that Fog Walkers, excellent tour guises, were next door.

My only critical note regards the breakfast. The Latin breakfast, especially the bread and cheese, could be marginally better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_on_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, well designed and very good rooms
Great location, close to the principal street in Salento
All the staff was very kind and helpful
Excellent breakfast and great restaurant for the rest of the day
This is definitely a great choice if you want to spend some nights in Salento

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana_Jimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a six stars hotel, No Doubt.

All the pictures shown are 100% real, that is what you are going to find.
We stayed (2 adults, 2 children) in march 2014.

OUTSTANDING: Kindness of the employees is Superb!

Pro:
- Location: Few blocks from central plaza & handcraft stores street.
- Parking: easy parking in the hotel basement, security is great.
- The hotel itself is nice, it is decorated with paintings and handcrafts for sell.
- Breakfast is really good. Dinner was also good.
- WiFi: YES, works very good.
- Rooms: Nice, clean, excellent mattresses-pillows and blankets.
-Bathrooms: Hot water, good cleanliness, classic + modern stuff well decorated.

Con:
- Safety box: to small for keeping iPads/digital cameras. Better to leave them with the management office.

Room Tip: Don´t expect a great "outside" view. Room we atayed had a nice interior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salento
0.1 mi away
Hotel EL Mirador Del Cocora
0.1 mi away
Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento
0.2 mi away
BetaHotel
BetaHotel
#3 of 6 in Salento
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#5 of 6 in Salento
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finca Hotel La Moraleja
Finca Hotel La Moraleja
#1 of 1 in Barcelona
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coffee Tree Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salento Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salento Real

Property: Hotel Salento Real
Address: Calle 3 # 4-31, Salento 631020, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Quindio Department > Salento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Salento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salento Real 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to book a hotel in Salento ? Don't miss out on staying in Hotel Salento in the heart of Salento. A Hotel forged in the traditional hospitality of the Quindio department which reflects the genuine love story of a Colombian family with the village of Salento, the Quindio department and the Coffee Plantation Zone Hotel Salento Real opened its doors in Salento to become the starting point for diverse and enthralling experiences not only in the village of Salento but also in Quindio department and the Coffee Plantation Zone. Welcome to Salento, welcome to Hotel Salento Real. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Salento Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing